We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the main attraction”
Review of Hotel Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elixir
Ranked #683 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location is the main attraction”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location, but rooms and service could be better.

We stayed in the top suite which was spacious enough for our bags, but was a little dark with not much lighting available. The bathroom looked modern and clean, but downside was the handheld shower in the bath which made it extremely difficult to shower without making a mess with water on the floor.

Reasonably priced for Paris. Found it was much cheaper to book directly with the website.

Staff were a little rude and not your usual hospitable hotel staff that we are used to.

Room Tip: Stay in one of their better rooms/suites. It's worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    220
    79
    27
    21
See reviews for
117
168
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We went by care and parked in parking nearby hotel de ville. The hotel is in the heart of the centre of Paris. We love to walk and lots of restaurants, bars and shops are in walking distance. The room is very clean and has enough space for two people. It is modern decorated. Because it is located in a small road, it is very quit! Staff is friendly and helpfull. We will come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelzvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel from the outside and the lobby is pleasant and welcoming, however once you step out of the lobby into the badly lit stairwell or the lift it smells. The carpets are old and worn and it smells like stale smoke. I was hopeful the room would be better. Unfortunately not. The bedroom was not one that had been included within the photographs and description of the hotel. It was small and the furniture was tatty. The carpet again was worn and it smelt. Luckily we had large french doors that we could open to air the room. The bathroom was clean but dated. It looked like some had tried to improve it by simply adding a shower that glowed red and a smart sink. However, look up to the ceiling and the lights were stuck up with cellotape! We thought we would grin and bear it as the location is good and we were only staying for one night. There were only two pillows on the double bed which weren't particularly plump so on our way out we asked reception if we could have some more. we were told the hotel was full and there were no spare pillows. Really....You get a better service and standard of room at the Premiere Inn and at a fraction of the cost.

In conclusion, the only good thing about this hotel is the location. Maybe the other rooms are better but ours was a complete disappointment and we would not return. If we had been staying longer than one night I would have got my money back and found an alternative, nicer hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night this week. The room was very nice, the location is really great and the hotel itself is on a quiet street. Andrei was really helpful and happy to speak to me in English rather than have me struggle through my French. The price was a little on the high side, but I suppose that is the location.

Room Tip: My room faced the street which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the historical center of Paris in few minutes of walking from Cite and Louvre. But in the same time it is on a little quiet street so there are no crazy noisy crowds. Hotel services are good, staff's very friendly, my room was always clean. The only problem is bad sound proof, but I hope it will be solved by following renovation, because I certainly will consider this hotel for my next stay in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hejerdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay was May 3rd to May 9th, 2013. Our very first time to Paris, and we do not speak
French. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is centrally located, close to the
Chatelet metro station, close to buses, within minutes walking to the Louvre, the Seine.
Located on a side street, the house is quiet.
Our room rate included breakfast, which was good. Although the room was small, it was sufficient.
The bed was comfortable, and there was enough storage space.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montereymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in a standard room, which was OK in size for Paris. The Rooms and hallways are not new, but the room was clean and nice. The staff where all (as far as we noticed) able to speak english and from what we understood also other languages. Next time we return to Paris we will try to book the same hotel.

The location is as the title says excellent. Close to Chatelet and the RER B from Both Charles de Gaulle (and Orly). The Louvre, Pompidou, etc etc are within walking distance and if you don´t feel like walking Chatelet is a good connection point for going anywhere in Paris.

Room Tip: We had 103, towards a small street with little trafikk. The door was slamming a bit, a piece of pape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_K500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#153 of 1,802 in Paris
1,542 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#726 of 1,802 in Paris
207 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#374 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,114 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,004 of 1,802 in Paris
346 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elixir

Property: Hotel Elixir
Address: 7 rue Jean Lantier | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Louvre Rivoli)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#415 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel with central location, open 24 hours. 30 bedrooms in the heart of paris in a quite street near from everything, refurbished in 2009 and 2nd semester 2013.Every room has air conditioning, double glass, TV with satellite including CNN & BBC, minibar, safe for a laptop up to 15 inch, telephone, free WiFi, Ipod alarm clock player, iron & board, hair dryer, bathtub or large shower, kettle with tea and coffee facility, ecologic welcome products, quality hanger.Our entry has a ramp access, our lift, breakfast room and one room are able to welcome any hand wheelchair.We do speak french, english, spanish & russian. A computer is available 24 hours at the lobby. Services available : airport shuttle, restaurant table, baby sitting, laundry. A baby cot, nat, baby chair and boiling baby bottle are available (free services).Do not hesitate to contact us for any information. During the day, Victoria, Virginie or Laurent will be pleased to guide you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Rivoli Hotel
Louvre Rivoli Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing