We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elixir
Ranked #695 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Stavanger
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in a standard room, which was OK in size for Paris. The Rooms and hallways are not new, but the room was clean and nice. The staff where all (as far as we noticed) able to speak english and from what we understood also other languages. Next time we return to Paris we will try to book the same hotel.

The location is as the title says excellent. Close to Chatelet and the RER B from Both Charles de Gaulle (and Orly). The Louvre, Pompidou, etc etc are within walking distance and if you don´t feel like walking Chatelet is a good connection point for going anywhere in Paris.

Room Tip: We had 103, towards a small street with little trafikk. The door was slamming a bit, a piece of pape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_K500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    224
    79
    27
    21
See reviews for
117
169
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is conveniently about 5 minutes from the Eurostar station, 5 min walk from the Louvre and only 2 min from the nearest metro station (which we needed, since it was pouring for the time we stayed there!). We had a double superior room, which was smaller than I thought, but still rather comfortable with lovely modern decor and decent-sized bathroom. The bathroom had a big walk-in shower with huge shower head, which we loved, except there were no hooks in the bathroom anywhere - but that was by-the-by. We didnt have a balcony, but we had a huge window and window seat with a view of the street. Staff was quite friendly and helpful and we loved the location. The only thing I wished for was at least a kettle for tea and coffee in our room. Would definitely recommend this hotel though. Comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuraan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Its our first trip to Paris, was given a second floor Superior Double room upon arrival which only had a back alley view. The room seems rather new, was quite clean with lots of storage space as the hotel had wooden built-in cabinets facing the bed. The bed was very comfortable with only one pillow for each person. Shampoo, soap were provided. The toilet/shower area was quite big but as the shower was located just beside the sink and toilet bowl without a door or shower curtain, water from the shower tend to make the sink and toilet area very wet and slippery.

Certain staff like Laurent were very helpful while others were rather indifference to good service. We had to borrow a electric kettle from reception as there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Most attractions were within walking distance and the surrounding area was busy but quite safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Got this direct from the hotel website at just EUR105, a day before I was travelling up to Paris. Was just in for a spot of shopping and stayed only 1 night but it was a safe, comfortable and very convenient haven in the bustling 1st Arrondisement of Paris. It's right out of Chatelet metro. I thought I got lost when I exited from a different exit but seems like this hotel is right by at least 2 of the Chatelet metro exits (one on Place du Chatelet, the other is Rue di Rivoli I think, you see BNP Paribas on your left and Benjamin Café on your right when exiting).

The single room I booked was clean enough, small, but definitely adequate for a short stay and what I loved was the relatively large bathroom and shower. Power shower with overhead rainshower too.
Only gripe I had was that there should be hooks in the bathroom but...none! Also none in the hotel lobby toilet, which I find strange and inconvenient.

The bed was also surprisingly comfortable even though I just had a single pillow but I had such a sweet sleep right after I got home from an evening of shopping and long dinner. Really crashed out till a good morning on it.

It is walking distance to the Louvre, Avenue de l'Opera, most of the major sights and whilst I was not in Paris to see those exactly, I got to take some in whilst walking to the shops on Rue Faubourg St Honore which is about a 20minute stroll away. Galerie Lafayette is 5 stops away from the very well-connected Chatelet station.

Staff were also friendly and helpful at the desk. Which wasn't the case in my last visits to Paris at other hotels.

Breakfast which I got at additional EUR12 was good too. Self-serve and there was more than plenty. The croissants and raisin danishes were soooo good. Glad I fuelled up in the morning on it in their charming little basement cellar breakfast room befor hitting the shops for the day.

Overall, a lovely comfortable and no-frills I would stay this place again next time I'm in Paris, hopefully for a longer time. Put on the bathroom hooks though, pls! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphneghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We did not know this hotel, we picked it out of Trip Advisor, and we were very pleasantly surprsed. Very clean, quite well equipped, enough light in the rooms (most Parisian hotels are saving on electricity) modern bathrooms. Staff very, very helpfull ( I should mention Virginia in particular), reasonably priced compared to much less attractive hotels. Rooms small, but anyone coming to a Parisian hotel should not be surprised. Excellent location, with easy access to public transportation, within walking distance to many attractions. Breakfast was included, though more variety would have been appreciated. All in ll, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street, no noise problem as street very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very decent hotel with an excellent location. Walking distance to most Paris sights. Good communications nearby. We had booked a 3-bed room which was ok but a bit dated. The hotel was very clean and friendly and helpful staff in the reception. Nice restaurants nearby and walking distance to Le Marais where loads of bars and restaurants are available. We opted for the breakfast at the hotel and it was very basic - so there is room for improvement. The breakfast lady could also have been more accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice horel, excellent location. Right by big metro 'chatelet' and within walking distance of most sites.
Still quite expensive, but cheaper than the other hotels nearby!
Didnt have the breakfast, lots of cafes and boulangeries nearby to feast in.
Comfortable simple room, very helpful and friendly staff.
Recommended if looking for hotels in this area

Helpful?
1 Thank BH83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#152 of 1,801 in Paris
1,548 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#451 of 1,801 in Paris
677 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,115 of 1,801 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#672 of 1,801 in Paris
213 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,050 of 1,801 in Paris
349 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elixir

Property: Hotel Elixir
Address: 7 rue Jean Lantier | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Louvre Rivoli)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#415 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel with central location, open 24 hours. 30 bedrooms in the heart of paris in a quite street near from everything, refurbished in 2009 and 2nd semester 2013.Every room has air conditioning, double glass, TV with satellite including CNN & BBC, minibar, safe for a laptop up to 15 inch, telephone, free WiFi, Ipod alarm clock player, iron & board, hair dryer, bathtub or large shower, kettle with tea and coffee facility, ecologic welcome products, quality hanger.Our entry has a ramp access, our lift, breakfast room and one room are able to welcome any hand wheelchair.We do speak french, english, spanish & russian. A computer is available 24 hours at the lobby. Services available : airport shuttle, restaurant table, baby sitting, laundry. A baby cot, nat, baby chair and boiling baby bottle are available (free services).Do not hesitate to contact us for any information. During the day, Victoria, Virginie or Laurent will be pleased to guide you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Rivoli Hotel
Louvre Rivoli Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing