We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small gem, ideal location”
Review of Hotel Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elixir
Ranked #651 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I chose this hotel based on location. It is reasonably priced in comparison of what you would pay for the same location in other hotels. We did not have use public transportation except once. Everything is so conveniently located: museums, parks, sightseeing, tours are in walking distance. The staff is awesome. 24 hours on duty. Victoria, Andrei and Virginie were really helpful in any questions we had from using amenities of the hotel to getting to places we wanted. We wish we could stay longer....

Room Tip: There are more updated, modern rooms and the old rooms. We were traveling as family and occupied 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 526 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the convenience to the Louvre, Metro, shopping, and neighborhood atmosphere in Central Paris. Hotel staff is on duty 24 hr a day. Nice bar with good beers, optional 12 Euro breakfast daily. There were 3 of us traveling and the only room for 3 was the suite with an enormous bathtub, and egg chair, big TV, and a firm, comfortable bed. Plenty of space for three people. We found the hotel to be very clean and it does have an elevator. Staff pleasant and helpful. A number of neighborhood restaurants within walking distance. Seine is just a block from hotel on Rue Rivoli where major shopping/stores are located. Doesn't get much better than this!! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

It is on a small, quiet street, but very close to the Louvre and other tourist attractions. The Chatelet Metro station is right around the corner too. The room was very small, but enough for a couple with little luggage. The bed was firm, but it was good for my back. The staff was welcoming and nice.
My main disappointing was the breakfast. It was good, and sufficient, it just wasn't ... diverse. For the center of Paris, I expected a little more.
But overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iulian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is close to everything in Paris, right in he Center, close to metro and RER so easy access from Charles De Gaule airport. The staff is friendly, English and Russian spoken.
Rooms are not very large so not too suitable when you have lots of big luggage (unless you go for the suites) but it is very quiet, clean and again perfectly situated. The breakfast in the basement is in a beautiful stone cellar with arches and is fairly good for the price , mostly continental. The lady at breakfast does not speak anything but French and her service is just adequate , but that's ok.
Quality of the coffee could be improved, maybe using a pure arabica and espresso machine would be nice. But overall it is a very good place with nice people at reception, always willing to help. A boutique hotel typically French. Lots of good restaurants around within walking distance .

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors have been renovated and although a bit more expensive are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

There is little I can add to what has been said about the hotel and its great location. Of course by Paris standards, the room was on the small size but it was clean and comfortable. Our room (103) had a separate room for just the toilet and another room with a door on it for the shower/tub and sink. The only "odd" thing was the adjustable glass shower "curtain" that didn't cover the entire tub. If you weren't careful, the bathroom floor and bath mat could get pretty wet, but after 6 days, we finally got the hang of it.

Staff was helpful. The refrigerator in the room didn't work and couldn't be replaced while we were there but since we didn't plan on using it, it was not a problem. I'd also skip the hotel breakfast and make a left turn out the front door to a wonderful little place right on the corner for really great croissants etc.

Next time I come back to Paris, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is fantastic for the cost and location we just had a bit of trouble with the front desk staff one booked a taxi for my daughter and I, then cancelled it when he saw my husband leave with a tour guide leaving my daughter and I without a taxi and we had to run to the main road to grab one to get to where we needed to be, bit of a miscommunication maybe but he was very rude about it. Then on the day of check out we stored our luggage and when we came back to hotel at the end of the day to collect the front desk clerk said she had accidently overcharged us 180 euro and couldn't refund for a week until the manager returned from leave, she was very upset and we really didn't mind but it was just a bit of a funny stay. The hotel tho is beautiful in an amazing location so close to the Louvre, Notre Dame and the Seine. The room was large beautifully fitted out and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duc696chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Central and fantastic position.
Glassdoors between bathroom and room (no privacy)
Noise from other rooms.


  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#147 of 1,804 in Paris
1,579 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,103 of 1,804 in Paris
268 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,125 of 1,804 in Paris
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#507 of 1,804 in Paris
700 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#799 of 1,804 in Paris
220 reviews
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#472 of 1,804 in Paris
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elixir

Address: 7 rue Jean Lantier | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Louvre Rivoli)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#414 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent hotel with central location, open 24 hours. 30 bedrooms in the heart of paris in a quite street near from everything, refurbished in 2009 and 2nd semester 2013.Every room has air conditioning, double glass, TV with satellite including CNN & BBC, minibar, safe for a laptop up to 15 inch, telephone, free WiFi, Ipod alarm clock player, iron & board, hair dryer, bathtub or large shower, kettle with tea and coffee facility, ecologic welcome products, quality hanger.Our entry has a ramp access, our lift, breakfast room and one room are able to welcome any hand wheelchair.We do speak french, english, spanish & russian. A computer is available 24 hours at the lobby. Services available : airport shuttle, restaurant table, baby sitting, laundry. A baby cot, nat, baby chair and boiling baby bottle are available (free services).Do not hesitate to contact us for any information. During the day, Victoria, Virginie or Laurent will be pleased to guide you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotwire, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louvre Rivoli Hotel
Louvre Rivoli Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing