We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Ranked #1,105 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's a very basic hotel. Decor is not really good and perhaps some rooms need redecorating. However, you can't beat the location for the price you are paying. This is our 2nd stay here and we'd still stay here next time we are in Paris because of where it is. We have stayed in various hotels in Paris, some were very expensive, some cheap but not very accessible. This is just right for us especially since we do not stay in our rooms most of the time. You can leave your luggage with them if you need to check out and your train / flight is later in the day. Only two stops on Line 5 to Gare du Nord and about 2 minutes from Oberkampf station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anusenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 427 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

You get "buzzed" into the reception, and I have to say this was the most unfriendly of all the receptions we had on this trip to France. The room on the 5th floor looked out on an inner well, and was in need of a refresh. Although it was a reasonable size. Free WIFI in the room though. Breakfast was also the worst. Not a baguette, but a horrible roll, not very fresh, orange juice had that artificial taste, and a plastic croissant.I would suggest that getting breakfast in one of the many fantastic eateries nearby, would be a better bet than the one served up here and probably cheaper. This was the most expensive per night room stayed in and was not the best value. The location is good with two metro stations very close, with a great choice of resturants to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a great value hotel in a brilliant location of Paris. For the price this hotel is great. We spent our time sightseeing and did not spend a lot of time in the hotel. The location is amazing and we observed a lot of Parisians in the local bars.

This is a great hotel for a city break, staff were very friendly and the hotel/ rooms were clean.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Madinah_K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel must have hired and excellent photographer as the pictures do not live up to the actual hotel.

On our arrival day, we were greeted by a receptionist who did not seem very friendly and did not welcome us in any way. She was quite direct and only gave us our room key and sent us on our way.

We went to the room which was 26 on second floor. The room was horrible. It was small, very outdated with 1970's curtains. There was one chair and one dressing table. There was no tea/coffee making facilities and no fridge. There certainly wasnt any fruit or water as suggested by the photographs. There was only one power point. There was also only two small pillows provided.

The bathroom was also outdated and the tows were old and stained.

There was no air conditioning and on reading their booklet it said it was available upon request. I went to reception and asked for an air con unit. I was told I should have asked for air con when booking the room. I was given an old fan that was behind reception.

A big problem for us was that the cleaner kept walking into our room without knocking. On the first occasion myself and my partner were in bed and I was awoken by hearing the door open, I could see her peek into the room. There was no apology. She did the same thing the next day. I complained at reception and the receptionist only reply was Oh, and again no apology.

The hotel also says that they have a bar, well they dont, they have a fridge where you can purchase some cans of beer from, they have no other drinks.

My advice is stay away form this hotel. I think for the price it does not offer value for money. I think you can get better service for similar price.

Dont be fooled by their website and pictures, its not true.

Room Tip: Its noisy outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cantthinkofanyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is a good value for money when compared to the cost of Paris hotels.
Located about 5 minutes walk from Republique Metro station and rooms are clean and just comfortable enough. They serve a small breakfast of 2 croissants, jam, butter, fruit juice and coffee so if you are looking for a good breakfast of have special dietary needs you will have to look elsewhere. There are several nice restaurants situated close to this hotel so you have a good choice when it comes to food. After all you cannot expect a very high standard from a budget hotel in Paris considering the price of hotel rooms.
So in general this hotel is 'just ok' for the money you pay as all we expect is a clean and comfortable room to sleep after hard day's travel.
Just one caution, if you are visiting first time to Paris and not familiar with the road network it is always advisable to catch a taxi from the Nord Station as it will only cost you less than 10 Euros and fully worth it considering the trouble in walking and finding your way with a luggage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud_Wijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really loved this hotel. It was clean, service was great. Location wise very close to metro station, and if you are new to paris, you should know Paris has excellent Metro Rail Network, and staying close to any metro station is very big plus. For under 100$ per day, this hotel is great in Paris. We loved Paris and I am definitely going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tas2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#498 of 1,803 in Paris
581 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Mary's Republique
Hotel Mary's Republique
#1,265 of 1,803 in Paris
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
#556 of 1,803 in Paris
418 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#295 of 1,803 in Paris
754 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Saint Martin Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord et de l'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord et de l'Est

Address: 49 rue de Malte, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,105 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $101 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Nord et de l'Est 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel du Nord et de l'Est Paris !In our older building dating from the end of the 19th century, you'll find comfort, tranquillity and quality service...For the past three generations, this family-run hotel's management has maintained a "home-like" spirit.Located in the heart of the right bank between the Opera and the Bastille, you're just a few minutes' walk from Place de la Republique, Saint Martin Canal, major department stores, as well as the Marais and Place des Vosges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Nord et de l'Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing