We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why weren't we told...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Ranked #464 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Londonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 745 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We travelled to Paris in November 2012 and stayed in the Libertel Gare L'Est Francais, we only stopped in the hotel for 1 night as we got the early morning train across on day 1 and a late evening train back on day 2.

The hotel is ideally situated to enable you to explore Paris, we arrived in to Gare Du Nord about 11am and took the short walk to the hotel, upon arrival our room was not ready (as we expected it wouldn't be but we just wanted to drop our luggage and go) and the hotel reception got our cases into the storage promptly and off we went!

Like I said the hotel is ideally situated and we jumped straight on to the Metro at Gare de L'Est a minutes walk away and we were off.

We were quickly checked in to our room on our return about 11pm which was no problem to the hotel staff and told our room was on the 5th floor, we got to our room and it was not the biggest of rooms, there was just about enough room for the double bed and to squeeze round it, the bathroom again was small but adequate although having a shower proved interesting as I am not the smallest person!

We checked out of the hotel following breakfast which whilst expensive, set us up for the day and saved us having to go and find somewhere to eat. We again left our luggage in the storage whilst we explored for the day, collecting on return to go to the train station for the journey home.

I would not have liked to stay for any longer than we did but for the requirements we had for the room it did the job, somewhere cheap with a great location. I would use again if we were travelling on a similar itinery for its convenience although for a longer stay would want a slightly bigger room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tank_17_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Tank_17_17,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Libertel Gare de l'Est Français for your next trip in paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare du Nord-Suède

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

And more wonderful if you are coming in by rail early in the day or departing late in the evening. The desk staff will help you secure your luggage for the entirety of your trip. No need to rush back to a hotel by the Eifel tower... It's already thereby the train station.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamastu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Mamastu7,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location of this Hotel is really convenient, right across from Gare de l'Est station. There is a small supermarket next door but the location is a little 'downtown'.

The staff were very helpful with enabling us to get around and helping us use the WiFi, although we had absolutely no signal up in our room which was a problem. Had I been able to access it, I might have seen how nice the rooms look on the website and therefore how ours did not match up to it.

It's obviously in need of a refurb and feels like you are in a 70's time warp, however everything worked although it did feel a little grubby. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel provided a good resting place for our trip to Paris.

The only letdown was the state of the room, however we didn't spend a huge amount of time in it, if we had then I might have been more inclined to try and speak to them about it. I would definitely consider staying again, although do make sure you have receipts and confirmations as I believe there has been some confusion regarding payment.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and I would hope and imagine that the rooms are much nicer. We had 6th floor up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear emzyc,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We have taken account of your comment about the wifi issue. Actually, the room you had is not renovated yet but still confortable as you said.

We look forward welcoming you again at the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français for your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on a short 4 night trip to Paris.

We had no complaints about the hotel in any way. It did exactly what it said on the tin for a relatively modest priced tourist hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly and our room was comfortable albeit rather small, but again, what do you expect for a hotel at this price!

Would stay there again and recommend it to others.
We never ate in the hotel but the restaurants in and around the Gare du Nord are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear BrianL940,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would not go back to this hotel. However, the hotel is fine really.
It is just to my standards that for the money we paid for 4 days we got the smallest room I have been. Unfortunately I cannot write here how much it was.

Next to the room it was the maintenance room which made 'click' noises all the time. I did not like that.

Again, the hotel is not bad but for that money it does not worth it. I could have stayed in a 1 star hotel and I would have the same things! The breakfast is a pip off. Don't do it! and the worse: the whole hotel smells VINEGAR! Come on guys, buy some product to clean the mirrors or whatever you clean but do not use vinegar, everywhere from the hall to the room (meanly the lift) smells vinegar! It is awful. The good is that the staff are very friendly and they all speak English.

The hotel is clean and good located for tubes, but a bit far from Paris attractions, however the metro is very good.

To the hotel: PLEASE BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT THAT DOES NOT SMELL VINEGAR! IT IS AN AWFUL SMELL INSIDE THE HOTEL AND ROOM

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcprocbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear marcprocbr,

Thank you to share your experience about your stay in Paris.

We are sorry that our hotel did not meet all your requirements. We understand that for some people our rooms seems to be quite small.

However if you have already been in a 1 star hotel you could see that there is a big difference between a 1 and 3 stars hotel. Our services, accommodations and staff members meet the level of a 3 stars hotel and we get an accreditation from the Ministry of tourism.

Actually, we are using vinegar because is a very effective and ecological way to clean bathrooms and mirrors. But we are taking account of your opinion to make our services better.

We look forward welcoming you again at the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français for your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Handy hotel for business trip to Paris. Close to Gare de l'Est and Gare de Nord. Modern, clean, very comfy bed, small room. Good strong shower, free toiletries , free wifi, tv , tea, coffee drinks. Would recommend or business travel. Reception most helpful with recommendations of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Think there is an older half and newer half of the building, get the newer half
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We are really glad to see that our staff were helpful by giving you good advices.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Gare de l'Est Français and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l'Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,802 in Paris
749 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Ibis Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
#718 of 1,802 in Paris
993 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Le Marcel
Hotel Le Marcel
#330 of 1,802 in Paris
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Holiday Inn Paris-Gare de L'Est
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Styles Paris Gare de l'Est TGV
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#433 of 1,802 in Paris
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais

Address: 13 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#115 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#457 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $77 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind its very fine facade, Hotel Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais offers 70 rooms. At once traditional, innovative and elegant, it is strategically located near gare du Nord and in front of gare de l'Est, 10 min from the Stade de France, 20 min from the Parc des Expositions in Villepinte, 30 min from Roissy Charles de Gaulle by the RER line B, close to the main boulevards, the large department stores and the Opera Garnier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing