We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Nearby Hotels
$309
$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$182
Official Site
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)(Great Value!)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$261
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain(Paris)
$232
$192
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$157
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$199
$182
Official Site
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$465
$401
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$239
$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$421
$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveler rating
239
358
110
36
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
358
110
36
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationl estgare decomfort rooman ironnice bathroomconvenient locationpriced hotelnice staysmall roomminute walkcity breaklots of restaurantsdouble bedvisited parisyour luggagewi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 779 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location of this Hotel is really convenient, right across from Gare de l'Est station. There is a small supermarket next door but the location is a little 'downtown'.

The staff were very helpful with enabling us to get around and helping us use the WiFi, although we had absolutely no signal up in our room which was a problem. Had I been able to access it, I might have seen how nice the rooms look on the website and therefore how ours did not match up to it.

It's obviously in need of a refurb and feels like you are in a 70's time warp, however everything worked although it did feel a little grubby. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel provided a good resting place for our trip to Paris.

The only letdown was the state of the room, however we didn't spend a huge amount of time in it, if we had then I might have been more inclined to try and speak to them about it. I would definitely consider staying again, although do make sure you have receipts and confirmations as I believe there has been some confusion regarding payment.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and I would hope and imagine that the rooms are much nicer. We had 6th floor up in the roof and whilst tall people might struggle, it was pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear emzyc,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We have taken account of your comment about the wifi issue. Actually, the room you had is not renovated yet but still confortable as you said.

We look forward welcoming you again at the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français for your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on a short 4 night trip to Paris.

We had no complaints about the hotel in any way. It did exactly what it said on the tin for a relatively modest priced tourist hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly and our room was comfortable albeit rather small, but again, what do you expect for a hotel at this price!

Would stay there again and recommend it to others.
We never ate in the hotel but the restaurants in and around the Gare du Nord are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianL940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear BrianL940,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would not go back to this hotel. However, the hotel is fine really.
It is just to my standards that for the money we paid for 4 days we got the smallest room I have been. Unfortunately I cannot write here how much it was.

Next to the room it was the maintenance room which made 'click' noises all the time. I did not like that.

Again, the hotel is not bad but for that money it does not worth it. I could have stayed in a 1 star hotel and I would have the same things! The breakfast is a pip off. Don't do it! and the worse: the whole hotel smells VINEGAR! Come on guys, buy some product to clean the mirrors or whatever you clean but do not use vinegar, everywhere from the hall to the room (meanly the lift) smells vinegar! It is awful. The good is that the staff are very friendly and they all speak English.

The hotel is clean and good located for tubes, but a bit far from Paris attractions, however the metro is very good.

To the hotel: PLEASE BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT THAT DOES NOT SMELL VINEGAR! IT IS AN AWFUL SMELL INSIDE THE HOTEL AND ROOM

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcprocbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear marcprocbr,

Thank you to share your experience about your stay in Paris.

We are sorry that our hotel did not meet all your requirements. We understand that for some people our rooms seems to be quite small.

However if you have already been in a 1 star hotel you could see that there is a big difference between a 1 and 3 stars hotel. Our services, accommodations and staff members meet the level of a 3 stars hotel and we get an accreditation from the Ministry of tourism.

Actually, we are using vinegar because is a very effective and ecological way to clean bathrooms and mirrors. But we are taking account of your opinion to make our services better.

We look forward welcoming you again at the Hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français for your next trip to Paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Handy hotel for business trip to Paris. Close to Gare de l'Est and Gare de Nord. Modern, clean, very comfy bed, small room. Good strong shower, free toiletries , free wifi, tv , tea, coffee drinks. Would recommend or business travel. Reception most helpful with recommendations of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Think there is an older half and newer half of the building, get the newer half
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We are really glad to see that our staff were helpful by giving you good advices.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the Hotel Libertel Gare de l'Est Français and do remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l'Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

As we booked our tickets with the Eurostar, it has also offered good hotel deals. We stayed there for 3 nights having payed extra for a "comfort room". As stated in description, the room was 11 sq.m. and we realized how small it is when we entered the room. On the other hand, it was newly refurbished and very clean. We could also control the heating and watch TV (a couple of English channels). Moreover, the hotel was 1 min walk from the nearest Metro station and in a walking distance from two train stations. Even though we had to check out by 12pm, we still had the whole day ahead before taking a return train to London. Fortunately, the hotel staff offered us to leave our luggage in the storage room for free, so we could pick it up later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darita_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIBERTELGDN, Directeur général at Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Darita_K,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.

We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the hotel.

We are sorry that the room you had booked did not satisfy your requierements. However, we have bigger rooms up to 3 adults.

We look forward welcoming you again soon to the hotel Libertel Gare de l’Est Français for your next trip in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Gare de l’Est Français

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews