We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A mistake” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Ranked #1,190 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ended up here though not being properly organized, and i would not recommend anyone stay. Stayed 2 nights. It is fairly basic accommodation and the website photos are fair. Our first Campanile stay and the chain came recommended, this one perhaps not to the same standards as the others.

The main problem was the bedding was damp, most likely due to it not being dried properly and the room had a noticeable dampness smell. Whether 2 issues were linked i don't know.

The property needs to be refurbished.

Just not what was expected. For central Paris the cost was not cheap but equally not expensive, Next time if in doubt about where to stay i will take a hotel in the suburbs and uses the metro to commute.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricc099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    28
    19
    6
See reviews for
32
40
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

rooms are small like hotel of this category in Paris but the staff is very nice.
Very good location for transportation especially RER A.
Nation is a safe area and many restaurants are opened late.
We will come back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This Campanile is old, run down and badly in need of a general renovation. Cant' say any better than "rooms and bathrooms are probably clean but so decrepit they don't look it"!

The rooms are extremely small, there is barely any space to move (and you can easily touch the "ceiling" just by raising your arm!) and no space at all to unpack clothes except, in a corner, a couple of hangers that have known better days —and your stuff that doesn't need hanging or cannot be hung will have to stay inside the luggage!

The bathroom is very cavernous (no making up in there for the ladies!) and terribly small as well (we had room 302), and the shower is of the same sort: no space to move, no space to wash one's body and the ceiling is right above your head too... Don't lift any arm, even barely above your head, or you'll hit it! The darkness in the shower is compounded by the flimsy, dark red curtain that does not do much to block water, but does block whatever light there is very effectively. The towels, though, are OK.

The elevator is not for claustrophobes: I had never been in such a small contraption ever before. We had one very small (airplane cabin-sized) suitcase and one weekend bag, they did fit with me in the cabin but there was no space left for my wife —and none of us is overweight!

Needless to say, we were not inclined to test the breakfast as we have family nearby and know a couple of excellent boulangeries on the way...

The staff was... well, just OK. When we checked in, the guy at the reception wanted to see the VISA card with which I had made the reservation by internet —which I refused to show, just out of principle, but I wonder if this is common practice for Paris hotels... It certainly isn't in the rest of France, and it isn't for the other hotel we usually stay at not far from that Campanile.

In conclusion, this hotel is way below standard Campanile par. We stayed there because we came to visit family so we had to be geographically close and our usual hotel nearby was full. I trusted the Campanile name, but this one is not to be recommended. They need to close it down and overhaul it completely, and make the rooms larger by sacrificing one or two one each floor.

Keep in mind also that the street below is noisy, even with ear plugs, and that the bells of the nearby church will duly wake you up for mass Saturday and Sunday mornings! Get a room on the back if you want a slightly less noisy environment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This hotel was a good choice for a budget stay in Paris for a few nights. Service was friendly and the hotel was in a good location, near to a metro station. There were lots of supermarkets, cafes and restaurants nearby to enjoy.
The room itself was on the top floor and quite big. It was fun getting our suitcases in the tiny lift! The room was very basic and quite cold, so we needed to use the heater provided. The bathroom was basic, but clean. We had everything we needed and it was in a great location to see all the sights of Paris easily. Don't expect luxury however!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This isn't the most glamorous hotel in Paris, but for €89 a night you can't go wrong. The rooms are clean, simple and comfortable, they offer a decent buffet breakfast for €9, free wifi, and the hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is great as well, several little shops and restaurants around the hotel and less than a 5 min walk to Place de la Nation where there is the metro that has several lines (about 20 min to the centre) and plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank listem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

The room I stayed in (109) was a comfortable, clean, small single room with a twin
bed. Since I stayed on the first level, I had to haul my suitcase up a narrow spiral
staircase (no elevator to get to that room), but this wasn't too bad. The bathroom
was spacious and clean though it had a slight odor. The staff were
friendly, knowledgeable and spoke fluent English (which was great when I ran
out of suitable French phrases :-). They helped me call Roissy to find out what
terminal my return flight to the States was leaving from since it was not noted on
my eticket printout. The hotel is located on Rue de Rendezvous, conveniently
close to both the Picpus and the Nation metros, and near some great patisseries,
restaurants and a supermarket. There were several bank machines on
the street and a 24-hour grocers (which was great when I got the munchies
after midnight). There was a TV in the room, though I never actually turned it on.
I thought breakfast was a bit steep at seven Euros, so I bought freshly baked
croissants, etc. down the street and didn't really eat at the hotel. The street was
nice and quiet, and I really enjoyed my stay at the Campanile. Thought it was a
pretty good budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iluvsummr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Kyriad Hotel Paris Bercy Village
Timhotel Nation
#1,129 of 1,812 in Paris
3.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Hotel Le Cantal
#1,127 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Zazie Hotel
Zazie Hotel
#795 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
Grand Hotel du Bel Air
#1,346 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Agate Hotel
Agate Hotel
#1,208 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation

Property: Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation
Address: 54 rue du Rendez Vous, 75012 Paris, France (Formerly Campanile Paris 12 - Nation)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#120 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Human scale hotel fully renovated in 2015 Situated in eastern Paris, the Kyriad Hotel Paris 12 Nation is located between the Gare de Lyon railway station, Bercy Arena and the Parc Floral de Vincennes botanical garden. From the hotel, take the RER A express train or metro lines 1, 2, 6 or 9 from Nation metro station to go directly to La Défense, the Champs Elysées, Disneyland Paris, the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre museum, Montmartre or the Porte de Versailles. A number of amenities are available close at hand (including a post office, a dry cleaner's and grocery stores), along with a variety of restaurants. Rooms have en suite facilities, high quality bedding, free WiFi and hot drink-making facilities, including a Nespresso machine. Parking is available at a discounted rate in the Vinci car park at the end of the Rue du Rendez-vous ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kyriad Paris 12 - Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Xii - Nation Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing