We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great value...”
Review of Alba Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alba Opera Hotel
Ranked #946 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, great value...”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I booked this hotel through myparis.co.uk and we got an extremely good price for 5 nights in this hotel. It is in an excellent location, close to many metro stations and in walking distance to the sacre couer and also the moulin rouge - the pigalle area isn't as dodgy as we had anticipated, we felt safe walking through there at 1am. The metro is by far the best way to get around, cheap and very efficient. The room was quite small but it had everything we needed, especially the safe and tv! The staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, and were there to recommend places to eat nearby. The rooms were cleaned every day, and breakfast was also great, very filling! All in all, I couldn't fault this hotel, and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JodieHatley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    115
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
62
118
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The hotel was very good except the owner seemed reluctant to allocate me a double bed, despite having checked with me in French, that this is what I was asking for. Not sure if this was homophobia in action as my partner and I ended up in two singles pushed together.

Everything else was fine though, lovely staff, nice rooms, I'd just have liked to be able to cuddle up in bed on my birthday!

Oh and the free wifi didn't work with my iPad or iPhone :(

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Fantastic location with 4 metro stations walking distance to the hotel. The staff were beyond lovely and really wanted us to make the most of our short break. They helped us make restaurant reservations and directed us to the best streets to shop and have lunch. Breakfast was typically french with croissants and baguettes with assorted jams- and they do a delicious hot chocolate

Decor is dated and there aren't really any "mod cons" but they do offer free wi fi. We loved it's charm and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I booked this hotel because it was basically one of the last available on the weekend I was in Paris, due to the Bank Holiday weekend. I am so glad I found this as it was Perfect, and I would recommend anyone to stay there, as I will be there again! The location is perfect, very close walking to Moulin Rouge, Sacre Cour, Pigalle station and beautiful cafes/restaurants.
When we arrived the lady on reception was lovely, and was expecting us, offered to show us where we are and any assistance we needed (such as room service, laundry, basically anything we wanted she could get us).
My partner and I had a room with a small kitchen, bathroom and dbl bedroom with a balcony overlooking the street which was very cute. The room was very clean, all that you could fault is that the carpet was old, but who cares?!
We paid 125 Euro per night including breakfast which consisted of a baguette, choc croissant, croissant, tea and juice. Very nice!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We went to Paris for 3 nights and stayed at Alba Opera Hotel. We were surprised of the big rooms and the service offered. The hotel is easy to reach from the Pigale station. The staff is helpful and helped us with guidance how to get to certain parts of Paris.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiserDimitrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We have just spent 5 nights here. We read the reviews, so were prepared for the worn carpets and tired decor. But love the atmosphere. For a city hotel, very quiet (except the bin collections at about 6 on Friday mornings)! No clock available.

Kitchenette wasn't quite what we expected, the microwave is very high on the wall. You pay 3 Euros for kitchen pack (2 plates, mugs, tumblers and wine glasses + basic cutlery) No pans - but we didn't ask. You'll need to take your own coffee/tea etc, as none is provided. It was nice to have the extra room to sit in if one wakes earlier than the other (and drink tea of course). Ended up eating out (tres cher!!) at lovely nearby restaurants, but at least we had the choice.

The beds were comfortable - no duvets here. Loved the lift, but as we were only on first floor,didn't use it. Bath lovely, with over the taps shower which was extremely powerful, if a little leaky. Yes, you can hear others up and down stairs, but not boom, boom, boom of loud music!!

We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on the dining room - but McCafe is nearby (towards Cadet metro station) and has offer of pastry + drink for 1.80 euros, which has to be a record.

Would recommend the Auberge du Clou just around the corner (turn right out of the hotel road and right onto Rue de Martyrs and it's at the top facing you. About 5 mins walk). Lovely food, very friendly atmosphere.

The Fuxia on R.de Martyrs is also good Italian. All food and drink in Paris is pricey, so be prepared. Outside the Louvre, a large beer and mint tea was 14 Euros!!!

Transport is easy - nearby you have several metro stations, which are easier to navigate than the buses, and more frequent. Do go to the Latin Quarter, and sit outside the coffee shop in front of the Sorbonne - it's lovely surrounded by all sorts of different people, not just tourists. And the Jardin des Plantes has lovely places to sit (and it's free). The Eiffel Tower will often be a long wait (sometimes hours), so start early.

Have a good holiday!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TauntonHeadGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed there for a week. We both liked the place very much: not the facilities, but the atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff. And the elevator, of course :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taksofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Montholon
#747 of 1,801 in Paris
72 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#468 of 1,801 in Paris
653 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
Hotel Sacha by HappyCulture
#369 of 1,801 in Paris
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Residence Cosy's Cadet
Residence Cosy's Cadet
#799 of 1,801 in Paris
384 reviews
Hotel Windsor Opera
#699 of 1,801 in Paris
447 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#727 of 1,801 in Paris
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Opera Hotel

Property: Alba Opera Hotel
Address: 34 T rue de la Tour D Auvergne | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#500 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alba Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing