We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmospheric Parisienne hotel”
Review of Alba Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alba Opera Hotel
Ranked #937 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We have just spent 5 nights here. We read the reviews, so were prepared for the worn carpets and tired decor. But love the atmosphere. For a city hotel, very quiet (except the bin collections at about 6 on Friday mornings)! No clock available.

Kitchenette wasn't quite what we expected, the microwave is very high on the wall. You pay 3 Euros for kitchen pack (2 plates, mugs, tumblers and wine glasses + basic cutlery) No pans - but we didn't ask. You'll need to take your own coffee/tea etc, as none is provided. It was nice to have the extra room to sit in if one wakes earlier than the other (and drink tea of course). Ended up eating out (tres cher!!) at lovely nearby restaurants, but at least we had the choice.

The beds were comfortable - no duvets here. Loved the lift, but as we were only on first floor,didn't use it. Bath lovely, with over the taps shower which was extremely powerful, if a little leaky. Yes, you can hear others up and down stairs, but not boom, boom, boom of loud music!!

We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on the dining room - but McCafe is nearby (towards Cadet metro station) and has offer of pastry + drink for 1.80 euros, which has to be a record.

Would recommend the Auberge du Clou just around the corner (turn right out of the hotel road and right onto Rue de Martyrs and it's at the top facing you. About 5 mins walk). Lovely food, very friendly atmosphere.

The Fuxia on R.de Martyrs is also good Italian. All food and drink in Paris is pricey, so be prepared. Outside the Louvre, a large beer and mint tea was 14 Euros!!!

Transport is easy - nearby you have several metro stations, which are easier to navigate than the buses, and more frequent. Do go to the Latin Quarter, and sit outside the coffee shop in front of the Sorbonne - it's lovely surrounded by all sorts of different people, not just tourists. And the Jardin des Plantes has lovely places to sit (and it's free). The Eiffel Tower will often be a long wait (sometimes hours), so start early.

Have a good holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TauntonHeadGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 275 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed there for a week. We both liked the place very much: not the facilities, but the atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff. And the elevator, of course :)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taksofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Well located, although the name "ópera" could mislead you about the site of the hotel; it is a trully Pigalle lodging, but well served of transport and amenities; you can store and cook small meals yourself!
The staff is most friendly and always trying to help.
If you want to visit Paris, be confort, but without spending your precious euros, that´s a place to be!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_Brazilian_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My 16 year old daughter chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the La Cigale. Great little hotel with super friendly and helpful staff. Our room, on the 6th floor was clean light and spacious. The lift, as mentioned in other reviews, is tiny - like from an old film - we liked it!
Breakfast was excellent and the prices for room service are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Small, friendly hotel. Clean-ish rooms, if a little dated. Excellent location between 2 metro lines, nearest is Anvers about 7/8 mins walk. Nice, if basic, breakfast, friendly staff. Rooms not tiny by Parisian standards. Kitchenette with each of the rooms we occupied. One criticism: tiny, tiny lift, and with a large family plus bags there were many journeys up and down. Cant really comment much on the value, its all relative, but overall, for Paris, this wasnt too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I've just got back from spending 3 nights at the Alba Opera. I could not find any fault. I love the location, (a peaceful, elegant haven between two bustling districts). The rooms were very comfortable and a decent size, the staff were warm, friendly and attentive. I highly recommend the Alba Opera.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starfish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in early July 09, we had two double rooms/apartments. The manager, Phillipe, was very welcoming & friendly. The rooms while not spacious (by Aussie standards) were very clean. They have a maid service every day. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The little kitchenette was very handy, with a fridge, stovetop & microwave. You have to ask for a 'kitchen pack' of dishes from reception. When our kettle wasn't working the first night (after 10pm) the front desk manager offered me the kitchens own kettle so I could make a coffee.

There are 2 pastry/bakeries nearby & a supermarket. The shopping strip is a few minutes walk & there is also a post office close. There are a couple of bars on the corner (which we didn't have any noise from at all.) The Metro stations are within an easy walk. All in all, the location was very good. Very quiet of a night, be careful though, if you have your window open to the courtyard, because even a normal conversation travels throughout the whole area. People sitting below will hear you.

The internet access can be slow sometimes, but it's free. The beds are comfy. The breakfast was lovely for 10 Euro. Smoking is allowed in the rooms. They gave us a discount voucher for a trip on the Seine River, which I'd really recommend. The elevator is tiny, but I found it quite quaint & romantic. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Adagio Access Paris Philippe Auguste
Montmartre
Adagio Paris Montmartre
Adagio Paris Montmartre
#1,036 of 1,809 in Paris
547 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Agate Hotel
Agate Hotel
#1,240 of 1,809 in Paris
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
Adagio Access Paris La Villette
#1,512 of 1,809 in Paris
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Opera Hotel

Address: 34 T rue de la Tour D Auvergne | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#499 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $118 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alba Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing