We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba Opera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$345
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$404
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$232
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$282
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$1,780
$1,273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$283
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$280
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
96
119
49
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
119
49
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslouis armstrongquirky hotelsacre coeurexcellent locationelevatorparisiennemetrostreetarrondissementessentials
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 281 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Alba Opera is quirky, charming and very Parisienne. It has a terrific location in the 9th arrondissement close to Montmartre, great shopping, brasseries, pubs, restaurants and shopping. Four metro stops nearby. Within an easy 15 to 20 minute walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame and other landmarks.

The hotel's owners and (most of) their staff will make you feel more like a houseguest than a hotel guest. They are extremely helpful in showing guests how to get around Paris and have lots of advice on things to see.

The hotel decor is quirky and bohemian while at the same time very comfortable and very clean. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It makes the most of the historic building and neighbourhood. Continental breakfast is served in a nicely appointed breakfast room each morning from 7 to 11 (very generous hours, in my experience). Great coffee, fruit juice, croissants, pain du chocolat and rolls were the standard fare.

We had a lovely time, spending a full week in the latter part of September, 2012 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to return to stay there again.

Mostly, this hotel offers a bargain for its location and amenities so close to the major landmarks of Paris. Certainly, one can have a far posher stay in Paris if they want to pay the price but the Alba Opera offers excellent value for the rest of us.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow and not very commodious. If you don't like taking the stairs and have doubts about fitting into the elevator (:D), ask for a room in a lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SEAchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary in October 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located about a 10-15 minute walk from Gare Du Nord, so any Eurostar arrivals can be in their hotel pretty quickly. It's also on a lovely little off-street and close to some nice bars and restaurants in all directions. Location wise it can't really be better unless it was up the Eiffel.

It's also brilliantly decorated. Old 60s men's magazine adorn all the walls and the whole place has a feel of maybe some rock bands from back and beyond may have slept off hangovers in the rooms upstairs.

The room was clean and adequate - good TV, good minibar fully stocked, decent shower etc.

Unfortunately I think we may have got there on a bad night - we got woken up several times during the night by people seemingly just going into their rooms. Sometimes when they closed the door our wall would literally shake. Maybe it was the people who were also staying or whatever - it just spoiled what seemed like a potentially brilliant hotel, and for the price we paid for a single night (130 quid) I would have expected a better night's kip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cianjaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A truly great hotel, far away from the interchangeable chain experience. Very stylish, laid back, friendly. A beautiful place in a good neighborhood. Friendly staff, very charming athomsphere. The room was simple yet elegant. And there are ashtrays, so this is smoke friendly, which I count as an advantage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in Paris for one night for my husband@s birthday and after searching for days for something reasonable and quality we found this hotel. It was worth it. I had read all the reviews on trip advisor prior to booking.

When we arrived there, we were upgraded to exec suite- room was enormous, clean,quirky and comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning in lovely surroundings, felt really cosy and a welcoming start to the day.

Highly recommend, you will not be disappointed!!! Staff were very helpful and polite. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiyane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Fantastic little hotel in a quiet yet very accesible location in the 9th.

We had a junior suite for 4 which consisted of 2 rooms + bathroom and kitchenette and was perfect for our family of 4. The hotel is family run, extremely friendly and with charming (yet, as another reviewer said, quirky) decor.

This has become our favourite hotel in Paris, and we'd certainly go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews