We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Gare de Lyon access, otherwise just OK”
Review of Palym Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palym Hotel
Ranked #507 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The main draw of this hotel is that it is super close to the Gare de Lyon train station (trains to Switzerland & Southern France.) But otherwise the logistics are so so. This metro stop is not actually all that optimal for basic Paris tourism. There are a few buses that go in useful directions, but you really need to know what you are doing and do your homework to use them. It's maybe a 20 minute walk to the very fun Marais/Bastille district, but the hotel's immediate neighborhood itself isn't much of a draw.

The staff was competent, if not overly warm. They just seemed tired. The rooms are typical 2-star Paris small. Basic, clean and adequate. It was noisy, however, even in our interior rooms. Walls are typical 2-star thin. Our rate was not as great as other reviews seemed to get.

This hotel is a good choice if you want an easy way in from the airport (the very convenient Air France bus from CDG stops literally 50 meters from the hotel) then in a few days an easy way out on a TGV train from Gare de Lyon. This is particularly true if you have a lot of luggage.

However, for my next tourist trip to Paris I am going to try to stay in a more central and/or more fun neighborhood, like the 2nd arrondissement, Rue Cher, the Marais, or Montparnasse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinFieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 642 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel has a nice location, just 50 meters from Gare de Lyon metro station, and there are several groceries, cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. Our room had adequate space for my family of 4, but with each of us having 2 bags each, every bit of space was occupied. The bathroom was surprisingly of adequate space considering how small European bathrooms go. There is a lift available which is excruciatingly slow. For the price paid, you would think breakfast should have been included but unfortunately it wasn't...but I guess Paris hotels in general don't come cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Apparently, we were given one of the handicap rooms on the ground floor, even though we are not handicapped. Therefore, the room and bathroom were probably more spacious than a "normal" room. However, since we were at sidewalk level, we could not use or see out of the window, see photo 1, (unless you wanted to be an exhibitionist) therefore, the curtains were always closed. It was like living in a cave! But, as others have mentioned, the worst thing was that the sewage drainage pipes were also routed through the room within three feet of the bed, see photo 2, which meant that whenever someone flushed the toilet or used the shower in the floors above us... we heard all that drainage noise!

There is a nice breakfast room… we did not eat there, but we did have to pass through it on the way to our room.

In order to use the wifi, it was necessary to fill out an on-line questionnaire with your personal information, and even after doing that… it did not work!

Maybe the other rooms pictured on the website with the nice marble fireplaces, balconies and street views would have been acceptable, but since we where not given the opportunity to see one of those rooms for ourselves… based on our experience, I really can not recommend staying here, again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I found this great little spot on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. It is small and not fancy but very very clean and comfortable. I would rate is very good for the price. We had a small balcony that we could step out onto. The breakfast that is included consisted of croissants, baguettes, fruit cocktail, yogurt, coffee and orange juice and it is served from 7am to 11 am so no worries in case you sleep in bit. A safe is available at the front desk and we left our passports just to be safe. The front desk was very helpful with any questions we had. They arranged a shuttle to take us back to the CDG airport for $36 Euros. The can here was $48. There are plenty of little street bistros very close by. The Gare de Lyon metro (subway) station is just across the street which was very handy for getting around Paris. $1.70 Euro each way. I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here in early October as we only had a few days in Paris and wanted a reasonable price with a good location. The room was clean and we had a nice view from the balcony of the clock tower at Gare de Lyon. We used the Metro frequently while we were there and found that this location is only a few stops from Louvre and most of the Paris sites. We arrived prior to check in and were able to store our bags there while we left to sight-see, but I thought it was a little odd that they charged to use the safe, which we wanted to use to store our passports while we were out. We did not try the breakfast, but there are several very nice bakeries and good cafes for dinner near the hotel. The hotel is not fancy, but really was just fine for our purposes and I think an excellent value based on some of the comparison shopping I did. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tourguideshanenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel Palym is a fine, inexpensive hotel almost across the street from Gare Lyons and the metro. The people behind the desk are friendly and helpful and you can't beat the location.

So the breakfast is barely OK and the internet is wobbly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and again, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at the Gare de Lyon. you can actually see the hotel from the station. Just need to cross the road and voilà. Very friendly reception. You can leave your bags there before checking in and also after checking out without having to pay extra. Our triple room was large. Very clean. Bathroom with bathtub. No showercurtain though, so it's hard to have a shower without splashing water on the floor. The ventilation in the bathroom didn't seem to work. The door of our room actually has a small gap between the door and floor. So you can hear everything that's going on in the corridor and lift area-that's my only minus. We had B'fast at the station , so I can't comment on the B'fast in the hotel. if you're not a big eater in the morning and just want your croissant and coffee I recommend the chain "brioche dorée" at the station. Will definitely stay again. Pricewise very very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfairy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#474 of 1,803 in Paris
1,013 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#598 of 1,803 in Paris
351 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#944 of 1,803 in Paris
227 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palym Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palym Hotel

Address: 4 rue Emile Gilbert | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#474 Family Hotel in Paris
#641 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $111 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palym Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Palym Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palym Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing