We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for Paris”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GandG16
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Paris”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned from our second stay and are already thinking about returning.After a warm welcome from Connie and a quick recap of the facilities ,we were at ease for the next eight days.The light,warm sitting room with its two sofas is very comfortable and the apartment is quiet.It is well positioned on the Ile St Louis ,about five minutes walk from Notre Dame,and is next to the cheese shop and bakery.There are two butchers,a greengrocer,another bakers and cheese shop and wine shop along the Rue St Louis,and a couple of supermarkets for emergency supplies.There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance.Philippe the owner is very helpful and pleasant and extremely efficient and reliable about arrangements.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFbySail
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cozy Comfort in the Heart of Paris”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This apartment made a great base for exploring Paris. Why stay in a hotel room, when you can have the space and comfort of an apartment? It was exactly as described and photographed. Everything was in excellent condition and working order. The rental and payment through TripAdvisor was easy and convenient. The owner, Philippe, responded promptly to all correspondence. His representative, Connie, gave us a full briefing on the apartment, it's appliances and the neighborhood amenities. We enjoyed shopping the Parisian markets, and sampling the local bakeries.
We stayed a week, and wished we could stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort in the heart of Paris
Liked least: Too many great places to eat & not enough days.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahattori
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Look no further: Parisian charm & modern comforts, all in one”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed for 6 nights with 2 sisters and a 5-yr old niece; this was my 4th trip, and previously I had stayed in hotels in Montmatre and on the Ile This place beat them both for 3 main reasons: (1) LOCATION: Ile Saint Louis is an especially magical part of Paris. The apartment is centrally located, within walking distance of many key attractions and 4-5 different metros, so you can select which line most expeditiously delivers you to your desired destination. It's got historical significance, architectural integrity, and a plethora of highly rated restaurants (Michelin stars and Bib Gourmands) within easy walking distance, as well as unique shops and boutiques. (2) THE APARTMENT ITSELF: Never again will I stay in a hotel in Paris, and many amenities make this apartment attractive. The Internet is terrific (my niece streamed Netflix while we adults took occasional midday breaks!) and we used it daily to google map our destinations and metro routes, find restaurant reviews and opening and closing times of places, etc. The kitchen is fully equipped, making it so much fun to go to the Marche and load up on cheeses, fruits, etc. The apartment is itself only one door away from a nice fromagerie, and two doors from a small but quality boulangerie that opens at 7:30 am. We easily popped down in the mornings and, within 1 or 2 minutes, had warm baguettes and pastries on our table. Such a wonderful treat. With 4 people, we were very comfortable; the sofa bed is spacious, equivalent to a US Queen, while the bedroom bed is a US Double. The loft bed is a bit bigger than a twin, and it was great for the child and her mother. (3) THE OWNER: Last, but not least, the owner, Philippe, is a highly efficient, attentive gentleman. He responded to all of my email questions thoroughly and promptly, and reimbursed the security deposit on the spot, as we were departing. Also, he offers an very inexpensive airport pick-up and I highly recommend it. It is considerably cheaper than hiring a taxi at the airport, and the driver knows exactly where the apartment is (not easy because the Ile is quite compact). I can hardly wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Classic windy, narrow Parisian staircase (only jesting, it's part of the charm)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRogi
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Island experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this rustic , charming but very comfortable apartment.
Our family of 4 which included two teenagers found this apartment meg all our needs . It was warm and cosy and in a fabulous position. Nearby were bakeries, cheese shops and a mini supermarket which were more than adequate. A bigger and cheaper supermarket was a 5 to 10 minutes walk away. Metro lines were nearby as were many of the sights of Paris. We rely like we were living in a true Parisian neighbourhood. A must is to try the delicious Berthillon ice cream. I would recommend the airport pickup ad after a long flight it made things much easier. Patrick was a most amiable and pleasant driver. We thank our host Phillippe for the lovely bottle of wine which we enjoyed. He was very helpful with advice and information in the lead up to our visit. I will never forget walking up our street to the end of the Island and being rewarded with fantastic views if Notre Dame Cathedral. We will be back

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz2anywhe...
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a spacious apartment, ideal for exploring Paris.”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Booking accommodation over the internet for a country 16,500 kilometres away is always a daunting exercise. However, from our first contact with the owner of 38 Rue Saint-Louis, we were confident and relaxed about booking this apartment.

On arrival we were met and warmly welcomed by the owner's assistant who provided all the information we needed for a very comfortable stay. The apartment on the I'le Saint-Louis, above a great cheese shop and a door away from an inviting patisserie, is perfectly located for exploring Paris.

This is a spacious apartment. There is a double bed in the bedroom and an extra bed in a loft in the main living area.

We stayed for 10 days and would highly recommend this apartment for a couple or small family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmshtogri...
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Very nice, roomy and clean apartment in the perfect location. We were able to smell fresh baked bread every morning from the bakery next door. we were within walking distance to many Paris attractions. The owner, Philippe and his assistant Connie were amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guillermo...
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing