We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chic hotel! Small but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le 1er Etage Marais
Ranked #2 of 136 Paris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great staff, I also really enjoyed our room. A/C works great!!! Large bed. They let us check into our room early! That was so nice. We were exhausted from the travel. Very informative, assisted with us with a car to the airport. Also helped in some of the planning and ideas around Paris. Fabulous location near subway.

Great value for Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bestbgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice review. Yes we know our friends from USA love their A/C ... :-) so we made sure there is one in each of the room and in the reception ... and we had them verified before the hot season.

We hope to see you again soon

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

A great experience for us to have found this B&B/hotel available for our 2 night stay in Paris. Having stayed in various hotels in Paris around Opera area before, we found this place a nice change away from crowded touristy area. Outside it is like normal apartment(you have to enter the security code, walk through a corridor and climbed the narrow stairs), but once stepped inside, it is totally new world. This is a new, quiet, clean B&B with chic design in every corner of the place, from the common living room all the way through the bed room. The breakfast is served at yourtable with full of high quality choices of croissant, baguette, cheese, parma ham, jams (including home-made secret recipes), and freshly grounded coffee. The special touch is to have a morning chat with Juliette, the charming host who is very knowledgeble and can give us many tips for nice french restaruant, vintage shops and places to visit around Marias. These are something we can't find in a regular hotel.

Room Tip: You can email to Juliette specifying your room preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for the nice review, and the nice pictures. 2 Nights is not enough :-) .. next time you come to Paris, maybe you can take more time ....there are many more places to discover and we will help you find them.

Best

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay very much. The hotel was stylish and ideally placed to explore the Marais with its great design shops, restaurants and bars. Despite being right in the middle of a lively night district, the apartment was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was excellent and we were made most welcome by Serge and Juliette.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkenbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We would be very happy to welcome you again next year for your next french tour !

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here for several nights and found the room comfortable and the neighborhood very good. The breakfast (chocolate croissant, baguette, butter, cheese, meat, yogurt and fruit) exceeded our expectations, and there were lots of special touches throughout the property. It really did feel like a chic Paris property. The hosts are very friendly and they are willing to help you with travel advice and making restaurant reservations. They speak English very well.

One thing to note is that if you have mobility issues, you will climb a a flight of wooden spiral steps to reach the apartment. Once inside, depending on your room, you may have an additional single step to take at various points. This wasn't a problem for us, but it should be a consideration if you're not good with stairs.

I was worried that the bed wouldn't be big enough for two, but it was fine. We have a queen bed in the U.S. and this bed felt about that same size. We were worried about noise since this property is on a very active street, but we didn't hear a thing! Also, this property is air-conditioned, which is very helpful. Even in May, it got warm one day. We also felt very secure.

We enjoyed the common dining area, and bought back some to-go from Miznon (highly recommended for a quick bite!) one night. They have snacks, a pod coffee machine for your use and bottled water in the refrigerator. This is possibly the most thoughtful property I've never stayed in, and was an excellent base for our Paris trip. It's close to the Hotel de Ville metro stop, and a short walk to the Seine. Plus, there's a Gerald Mulot and Pierre Herme close by!

I liked the concept. If you've ever stayed in a B&B in the U.S., this is very similar. I stayed in a property in London (Covent Garden House) just before coming here, and it was a similar concept but they didn't have the special touches, nice hosts, or the cleanliness of Hotel 1er Etage! This was by far the best hotel choice I made during my trip to Europe. It was a big relief to have such a good hotel in Paris after not liking my London hotel choices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed and nice review ! We are honoured to receive high marks from a very experienced Tripadvisor user.
There is nothing to be added as your description of our little hotel is very accurate. We are doing our best to put the little 'touches' that will make your stay a great 'Parisian experience' and something you would not find in any classical hotel or B&B.
We hope to see you again !

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights, with a room on a busy, funky street. However, it was quiet because of the sound-proofed windows (which could be opened to let the buzz of Paris into the room). A small, intimate property with great privacy. One walks up a flight of stairs (no elevators, so not good for handicapped or those with heavy luggage). A very Parisian breakfast is included and served!! One of the charming owners (Juliette and Serge, wife/husband) was always there in the morning, offering help to plan the day and happy to talk about Paris and France - their love of the city was patently obvious. Because they are new to the hotel business, they try hard to make sure the stay is the best it can be. It should be noted that there is no staff at night; was not an issue for us. We will be back to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Client

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in 1er Etage, and we thank you as well for bringing a little bit of the sun from San Diego !

We hope to see you again soon in Paris

Juliette & Serge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great concept. Just 5 rooms on the first floor of an apartment building. It has been designed to feel like a B&B but with the comforts and privacy of a hotel room. Coming from Australia we do like a hot breakfast or cereal, however the hotel only offers a typical French breakfast of fruit, yoghurt, meats cheese, bread and croissants - it is great quality and fantastic service. The owners are wonderful, the beds very comfortable and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Our room #2 had a shower that was exposed to the bedroom so if this is not an issue then it is a lovely room albeit I did not see the internal spaces of any of the other rooms. It was quiet even though you are in the heart of the marais district and close to everything. You do have to cart your bags up a flight of very narrow stairs so if this is an issue I would ask if you can get some assistance which I am sure the owners would help with if you arrived between breakfast and 11am - after this you let yourself into the foyer and your room. There is a small kitchen for guests use with tea, coffee and biscuits (no milk) and breakfast is served in the foyer. There are only 5 rooms so it is a very intimate space and the owners are happy to assist you with any questions and will suggest options dependent on your interests. I will certainly stay again on my next trip to Paris and would recommend it to my family and friends. Well worth considering if you want to stay in the heart of Paris and expect 5* service and comforts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Customer

We are so happy to see clients from all around the world, and more so from 'down under' !
Thank you for taking the time to write so nice things about 1er Etage, we are very hapy that you enjoyed your stay. And by the way we now have milk in the kitchen for your afternoon coffee and tea !
We hope to see you again soon for your next trip in Paris

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the whole experience. We were able to check in early and enjoy our room from around noon which was much appreciated. The decor of the whole place was really stunning and our room was no exception, very well done. It was comfortable, clean, stylish and had a great bathroom!

We really appreciated the little touches - coffee machine, the little booklet telling you about the area and what sights to see - made the place very special and a little different.

The location is great, it is in easy walking distance of everything you would want to see and also in a great area for bars and restaurants in the evening. Breakfast was also really delicious. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrabbleKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliette_1erEtage, Propriétaire at Le 1er Etage Marais, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review.... nearly 2 month after your visit ! Not much to add to your comments... this is exactly the way we have designed our concept : simple, nice, easy, very comfortable, everything we provide must be of high quality.

I hope you will stay more than one night in your next trip

Kind Regards

Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#64 of 1,803 in Paris
202 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#20 of 1,803 in Paris
406 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#17 of 1,803 in Paris
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#15 of 1,803 in Paris
550 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le 1er Etage Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 1er Etage Marais

Address: 38 rue Ste Croix de la Bretonnerie, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range: $229 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le 1er Etage Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1er Etage is a new concept in Paris that combines the comfort of a refined hotel and the charm of an authentic Parisian apartment. Each of the 5 rooms is unique and you will immediately feel like home in this exclusive place in the center of Paris. Breakfast is served in the living-room. We offer complementary soft drinks, coffee, tea and cookies to make your stay as relaxing and simple as possible ! 1er Etage offers Soundproof Rooms, Air Conditioning, Flat screen TV, en suite showers,and free of charge WIFI. Children under 12 cannot be accommodated at the hotel, and pets are not allowed. Our reception desk is open from 7:30 am to 1:30 pm, but access is possible 24/24 using a system of codes. An 'App' is made available to our guests before their arrival in order to prepare their trip. Ideally located in the heart of Le Marais in the Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, 1er Etage is the perfect base for visitors in Paris ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le 1er Etage Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing