We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, Cozy, Comfy and Good”
Review of Restaurant Edgar

Restaurant Edgar
Reserve a Table
2
Tomorrow
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,897 of 21,059 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bonne-Nouvelle
Reviewed March 1, 2018

Upon arrival for lunch I was surprised that the place was just about empty. After everything I had read, I was expecting standing room only. But we were early.... When we left there wasn't an open table.

We had octopus. It was yummy. The warm chocolate mousse was amazing. Why hasn't anyone else come up with this?

The place is a good neigborhood restaurant. Worth the stop.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MyNixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 280 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We happen to see this place because one of us had a hotel at this square. There was just one table outside free, small, close to each other, privacy thanks to the chatter. The service was friendly, helpful. Compact menu with something for everyone. Food was served lightening fast. Also good choice of wine.

The next day I returned with other friends. Now some ordered the steak - not the proposed one to share, over a kilo. We were warned that it could take 20 minutes (!). Again perfect. Good value for money.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Jan_Lelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

A 15 minute walk east from my hotel near the Opera, the journey was half the experience through wonderful neighbourhood even passing by the famous vertical garden by Blanc at rue d'Aboukir!
The restaurant is part of the charming boutique hotel, The Hotel Edgar tucked away in a cool corner overlooking a small square.
Service was friendly and a seat on the street side is a nice Sunday afternoon experience.
Brunch offering is simple menu with a killer dessert choices.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank A1460TValexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

Very nice place, located in city center, good prices, very nice service; we had good fish and chips, fast service.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 81antonelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Booked early for 4 pax to ensure inside table and sure did get one. The restaurant has beautiful welcome face and the lighting inside is quite appropriate. We found the restaurant a bit too noisy and almost crowded in terms of spacing between tables (bodies); waiter suggested a great white wine which was appreciated and the chef was great at the fish preps though qty to size ratio does not tie. 30 euros for the main + 20 for a starter was not justified.... The waiter could have done a bit of good by being a little bit less arrogant and discreet at service.
I would classify this as an expensive restaurant other than conclude that you don't get value for your money...

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Edgar also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Edgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing