We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris in August- great location”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #906 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
ocean township, nj
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paris in August- great location”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I brought my niece to Paris this August 2013- The hotel Monte Carlo was great! The rooms and hotel are very clean, the beds were very comfortable, water pressure great in showers! My niece loved it! There is no air conditioner, but we had fan and the room was still comfortable. The location was ideal - every major site was within 15-20 minute walk. OK so Eiffel tower may have been a little longer to get to but still walkable!

A special thanks out to Thomas who was one of the front desk men- he was awesome!!!! he was super helpful and always had suggestions on the best routes to take to the different locations ( we walked everywhere!) He called and arranged our Cabaret show for the night and helped us with trains to take when we did day trips out of the city.

All and all the hotel Monte Carlo helped to make our trip awesome- for both a seasoned travel and someone who is experiencing her first trip abroad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaHI5O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    287
    104
    23
    18
See reviews for
69
286
114
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wuerzburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

a very good hotel, and a good location. Especially for continental travellers who arrive by tgv. Gare de l'est and Gare du Nord are just a couple of metro stations away. Also take a stroll through the passage jouffroy, very nice little stores.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Enwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was ideal for us. Room was small yes, but you are in Paris! Get over it! Close to several metro stops and easy to get around to see all the sights. Walk from there to Montremarte and Sacre Coeur. To go coffee and fresh orange juice right across the street, best bakery right down the street. I could even send my teenager out on his own to go get breakfast for us! Recommend taking a cab from the train station to this hotel as walking with luggage isn't too easy.

Room Tip: If you are there in the summer and need AC, then you should choose a courtyard room. The road is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we visited Paris my children and I always used Hotel Monte Carlo. They are adult now and whenever any of us visit Paris we always return to the Hotel Monte Carlo. It has a delightful air and though the rooms may be small they are always comfortable and clean. I was there a few weeks ago and enjoyed the familiarity of the neighbourhood, the ease of use of the local metro and the friendliness of the staff. When I return to Paris you will find me at the Hotel Monte Carlo!,

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy first thing in the morning but as an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel Monte Carlo is conveniently located, only 5 min walking from Le Peletier Metro station (line 7), also within walking distance from the Grand Boulevards (Haussmann) and Opera. The area (Rue Du Fauburg Montmartre) is not as noisy as the boulevards nearby or other large avenues. There are a number of fairly nice and reasonably priced restaurants/brasseries, cafes/bars around and a convenience store opposite the hotel.

The receptionists were accurate and welcoming. The rooms were small but clean. The major disadvantage is that the house (like probably many old houses in Paris) is absolutely incapable to protect the guests against the summer heat. Each room indeed has one or another type of fan which are largely helpful. But the small bathrooms are not conditioned at all. As a result, in my mom’s room, there was an acrid smell of dampness in the bathroom.

So this accommodation may be convenient and economical, but persistent heat and odours inside the building in summer is a point to seriously consider.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have in-room bath only (no toilet). Toilet is shared, one per floor (perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are interested in a clean room as a base of operations for your sojourn in Paris, this is it. Helpful and friendly staff, free internet and comfortable bed. The room is quite small but is a clean comfortable place to freshen up and sleep after full day of sightseeing. Quite near Le Peletier metro station where Metro 7 will take you direct to the Louvre and connecting trains to the rest of Paris' attractions. Breakfast in the hotel for about 8 Euros, but there are bistros along the street to get eats for less. Grands Boulevards metro is a short walk along Rue de Faubourg Montmartre, passing by some charming arcades that are over a century old. The neighborhood is typical Paris Zone 2 and one feels quite safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron-Julie-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Small charming hotel in a very convenient location. We got the room with the courtyard view and it was a very very silent. We did not get the breakfast from the hotel but you can have it just accross the street. The con is that rooms do not have air conditioned. As we had ~20 degrees, we did not miss it. Closer to 30s would probably be a problem. Long story short, very good value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umekita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#514 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#842 of 1,800 in Paris
128 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,055 of 1,800 in Paris
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#688 of 1,800 in Paris
504 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#381 of 1,800 in Paris
273 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Grands Boulevards Opera 9eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing