We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting place, clean and reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #808 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place, clean and reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I was skeptical of this place when we showed up. It is a slow drive to here during rush hours. The front desk was quick and efficiently processed our registration.
We went up to our room quickly and I want to look at the insides.
It was clean, dark color carpet, no smells, no views and the colorful doors were closely packed near each other. The bed is comfortable and noise outside was reasonable.
Now about the shared separate bath room and separate showers, it is clean and secure. Slippers are recommended!
It is great value so closed to the actions around.
Good luck

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    258
    97
    23
    12
See reviews for
61
264
105
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My favorite budget hotel in Paris. Cozy, quaint, quiet, and colorful. The rooms are tiny but very clean and nice looking. My room faced the back so the quiet was especially welcome since I'm a light sleeper. Nice continental breakfast served in their tiny dining area and very close to the metro! Be careful with parking as the side streets all tend to look the same and you have the typical confusing Parisian parking hours. I unsuccessfully tried to help a tourist staying at the hotel who had apparently lost his rental car!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my second stay in five years at the Hotel Monte Carlo in Paris, this time for eight nights in a street-facing Double room with en suite bathroom. I found the hotel still very cozy, clean, quiet and reasonably-priced for Paris. The windows have excellent glazing/soundproofing – our room faced the busy, noisy street below but we heard almost nothing once the windows were closed. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are indeed quite small but they are well appointed thereby setting you up with everything you should need in a base for your Paris visit. The hotel is brilliantly positioned near the Metro, shops and many other conveniences. The Wi-Fi strength is fairly good, at least it was in our room. Also, as a North American used to a good, hearty breakfast every morning, I found the hotel had slightly better offerings in this regard than what could be found at a typical Paris sidewalk café.

The hotel staff are helpful and welcoming, especially Thomas. After a long and sleep-deprived transatlantic flight we arrived at the hotel about ten minutes too early to check in. Thomas was very gracious and welcoming, providing us with coffee and juice until the check-in time of 3:00 p.m. (they remain very firm here regarding a 3:00 p.m. check-in). Hotel service was quite good in general but on the second-last day of our visit our bed was not made up although the towels were refreshed - I found this a little unusual given the attentiveness of the staff up to that point. Additionally, the front reception failed to provide our requested early morning wake-up call on the day of check-out. The same thing happened on my initial stay here five years ago so, if staying at this hotel, I would advise bringing a dependable travel alarm clock if you have an early morning flight out of Paris. As a repeat guest, I still found the hotel décor charming but the eclectic look that seemed so fun and quirky five years ago when I first stayed here is now starting to look a little dated, tired and worn. The hotel needs freshening up in places: in our room, for example, there were several dings/scuffs on the walls, and the screws holding a heavy ceramic wall ornament had mostly pulled out of the wall, priming it to fall out at any moment.

Despite these last couple of shortcomings, though, I would still recommend the Hotel Monte Carlo if you’re looking for a clean, quiet, centrally located and affordable hotel for your Paris visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed in Paris many times and always try to stay somewhere new. I like supporting the independent hotels. The hotel is well located for both the Metro and for walking virtually anywhere in Paris. Restaurants and small shops are on the same road, so very convenient; a 15 minute walk to Sacre Coeur. The reception is friendly and helpfuly. The rooms are very clean, if not a bit dated and small, but that's part of the charm. Our room at the back of the hotel meant it was very quiet. The only complaint is that the room doors close quite heavily, so you can hear all your neighbours coming and going. Would definitely recommend for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Our first trip to Paris and this hotel was wonderful to stay at. The room was typical of the city, or so I am told & lacked air conditioning which was a real issue with the heat in September. The fan that was provided bearly kept the room cool enough to sleep. That being said the hotel staff were all very friendly & helpful, the location so close to the Metro was a bonus. Awesome hotel & we will most certainly look at staying here again, when we return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first time in Paris and we had done a bit of research into finding a good hotel at a reasonable price, it came down to the Hotel Monte Carlo and a chain hotel. We went for the Hotel Monte Carlo as looked to be a proper parisian hotel as opposed to a run of the mill chain hotel, we were please to find it was. We were also pleased to see when booked directly from the hotels website they offered discounts on early bird bookings which we were able to take advantage of.

This hotel offers good value for money and provides clean and adequate rooms, the rooms are compact but they do have enough space. The hotel is quirky and the rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, it is definitely original and has its own character. Our room looked out onto the street and it was great to open the window at night and look out onto the street. As stated the rooms were clean and the facilities/shower room etc that were provided were good. We found the staff to be friendly and willing to help should you require directions etc.

The hotel is well situated for nearby cafes, pubs and small supermarkets and is located a short walk from the nearest metro station, I don't even think it was more than a 5 minute walk. The hotel provided a good base to explore Paris.

Ultimately if you are a tourist you will visit the city to explored and only require a clean and adequate hotel as a base to sleep and clean etc. This hotel definitely provides this and more, the small touches make all the difference, such as the original decor, character and charm of the hotel.

Overall it is a good hotel at a reasonable price. Highly recommended and would use again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#581 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,295 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#960 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de L'Union
#617 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Peletier Haussmann Opera Hotel
Peletier Haussmann Opera Hotel
#1,310 of 1,812 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Audran
Hotel Audran
#474 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#116 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing