We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again”
Review of Hotel Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #920 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My favorite budget hotel in Paris. Cozy, quaint, quiet, and colorful. The rooms are tiny but very clean and nice looking. My room faced the back so the quiet was especially welcome since I'm a light sleeper. Nice continental breakfast served in their tiny dining area and very close to the metro! Be careful with parking as the side streets all tend to look the same and you have the typical confusing Parisian parking hours. I unsuccessfully tried to help a tourist staying at the hotel who had apparently lost his rental car!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovingFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    286
    103
    23
    18
See reviews for
69
283
114
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my second stay in five years at the Hotel Monte Carlo in Paris, this time for eight nights in a street-facing Double room with en suite bathroom. I found the hotel still very cozy, clean, quiet and reasonably-priced for Paris. The windows have excellent glazing/soundproofing – our room faced the busy, noisy street below but we heard almost nothing once the windows were closed. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are indeed quite small but they are well appointed thereby setting you up with everything you should need in a base for your Paris visit. The hotel is brilliantly positioned near the Metro, shops and many other conveniences. The Wi-Fi strength is fairly good, at least it was in our room. Also, as a North American used to a good, hearty breakfast every morning, I found the hotel had slightly better offerings in this regard than what could be found at a typical Paris sidewalk café.

The hotel staff are helpful and welcoming, especially Thomas. After a long and sleep-deprived transatlantic flight we arrived at the hotel about ten minutes too early to check in. Thomas was very gracious and welcoming, providing us with coffee and juice until the check-in time of 3:00 p.m. (they remain very firm here regarding a 3:00 p.m. check-in). Hotel service was quite good in general but on the second-last day of our visit our bed was not made up although the towels were refreshed - I found this a little unusual given the attentiveness of the staff up to that point. Additionally, the front reception failed to provide our requested early morning wake-up call on the day of check-out. The same thing happened on my initial stay here five years ago so, if staying at this hotel, I would advise bringing a dependable travel alarm clock if you have an early morning flight out of Paris. As a repeat guest, I still found the hotel décor charming but the eclectic look that seemed so fun and quirky five years ago when I first stayed here is now starting to look a little dated, tired and worn. The hotel needs freshening up in places: in our room, for example, there were several dings/scuffs on the walls, and the screws holding a heavy ceramic wall ornament had mostly pulled out of the wall, priming it to fall out at any moment.

Despite these last couple of shortcomings, though, I would still recommend the Hotel Monte Carlo if you’re looking for a clean, quiet, centrally located and affordable hotel for your Paris visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed in Paris many times and always try to stay somewhere new. I like supporting the independent hotels. The hotel is well located for both the Metro and for walking virtually anywhere in Paris. Restaurants and small shops are on the same road, so very convenient; a 15 minute walk to Sacre Coeur. The reception is friendly and helpfuly. The rooms are very clean, if not a bit dated and small, but that's part of the charm. Our room at the back of the hotel meant it was very quiet. The only complaint is that the room doors close quite heavily, so you can hear all your neighbours coming and going. Would definitely recommend for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Our first trip to Paris and this hotel was wonderful to stay at. The room was typical of the city, or so I am told & lacked air conditioning which was a real issue with the heat in September. The fan that was provided bearly kept the room cool enough to sleep. That being said the hotel staff were all very friendly & helpful, the location so close to the Metro was a bonus. Awesome hotel & we will most certainly look at staying here again, when we return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and we loved it again. It is very tastefully decorated, the staff are very friendly and it is in a great area of Paris with lots of good cafes, restaurants and full of character. Despite being quite compact, the room has everything you need and is perfectly clean. The mattress was very comfortable. It is worth paying the extra 10 Euros for a room facing the quiet green courtyard. Noticed very nice black-and-white pictures of cute cats on the corridors.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a room facing the courtyard as front rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a great find. This very unassuming hotel was a delight. Located on a street with costume shops, second hand stores and many cafes it was close to two metros and some main thoroughfares.

We arrived too early to check in, but they were gracious and held our luggage. Natzlee (sic) at the front desk pointed us in the direction to a nearby laundry so we could get our clothes laundered while we were waiting for our room to be ready. We found a drop off laundry service (very expensive, but served the purpose) and then found a great Italian cafe for lunch. I wish i had the name of it. The only negative was that the laundry ruined two light colored pairs of pants and we didn't feel like wasting valuable vacation time over it. Afterall we were in Paris and there were lots of shopping opportunities.

We were a party of three and got what turned out to be the ONLY triple in this hotel. Room 202 the Shanghai room. It was very large and we had two singles pushed together plus a single against the wall. There was plenty of hanging space for clothing, lots of hangers and some shelf/cubbies. The bathroom was huge by Paris standards with very colorful tiles in yellows, reds and purples. A bit loud, but it sure woke us up in the morning. There were lots of shelves in the bathroom, but they could have used some hooks near the shower. They did provide a towel drying rack. The shower had plenty of water pressure and hot water. Always a welcome amenity. They provided some shampoo, soap and shoe polishing clothes. I found this funny as almost all the hotels we stayed at in Europe had shoe polishing clothes when we really just wanted a face cloth.

There was no airconditioning, but two large windows that opened up to the beautiful courtyard. A standing fan was provided and was used at night. The room didn't get too hot and uncomfortable. There is also a lift which was nice after long days of touring.

Breakfast was self serve continental with yummy croissants, yogurt, coffee and I believe cheese. My daughter loved the supplied nutella and had it on her croissant each morning.

The hotel must not be able to hang a large sign outside so you have to look for the brass doors and door frame with hotel name above. We were tired and took a taxi there and the driver almost passed it up.

We would recommend this for anyone staying in Paris who is satisfied with a safe, clean and well located hotel. If you can live without ac, room service, bell service etc. then consider this hotel. Also if you have a party of three make your reservations early as it was very hard to find triple rooms in Paris for the right price. And as stated before this hotel only had one triple.

Room Tip: If you need a triple room book months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoesmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#518 of 1,801 in Paris
562 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#844 of 1,801 in Paris
122 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#1,039 of 1,801 in Paris
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,356 of 1,801 in Paris
200 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Mare
Hotel de la Mare
#386 of 1,801 in Paris
272 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Brittany Hotel
Brittany Hotel
#866 of 1,801 in Paris
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Carlo

Property: Hotel Monte Carlo
Address: 44 rue du Faubourg Montmartre | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#177 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monte Carlo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Carlo in Paris benefits a central location in the 9th area of Paris between The Opera Garnier, Montmartre and Grands Boulevards. The most famous monuments and museums like The Eiffel Tower, Museum of Louvre, Notre Dame de Paris or L'Arc de Triumph are accessible easily by subway. Three subway stops "Le Peletier", "Grands Boulevards" and "Notre Dame de Lorette" are near the hotel and permit to visit all Paris. The nearest museums and monuments are Museum Grévin, L'Opera Garnier, Basilique Sacré-Coeur as well as grands magasins Galeries La Fayette et Printemps for shopping. The area of the hotel is a lively place with lots of antique stores as well as the auction house "Drouot", parisian cafes, restaurants, bars and the famous restaurant "Bouillon Chartier", supermakets and a small traditional market Cadet. The hotel interior was created by the designer Sofi Bollack-Klarwein. The hotel is a cosy place, done with love and taste where the owners welcome the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Paris
Monte Carlo Hotel
Hotel Monte Carlo Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing