We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fabric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fabric to your Saves list
Hotel Fabric
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France (Bastille / Oberkampf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I've procrastinated in writing this review, as I wanted to be sure to find a time where I could adequately describe what an incredibly wonderful experience we had at the Hotel Fabric. And truth be told, I kinda want to keep the secret to myself, so that it won't be too difficult to book in the future!

From the moment we arrived, and even beforehand, through our email correspondence, the Hotel Fabric stood out as different from the usual chain hotels we've experienced. For loyalty reasons, we tend to stay in the same two hotel chains whenever possible, but since there weren't good choices for our stay this time around, we chose the Hotel Fabric.

The rooms are absolutely lovely. When I'm in a hotel, my two top priorities are a great comfy bed, and a clean, well functioning bathroom. Hotel Fabric exceeded my expectations in both areas.

We booked one of the triple rooms. The third person sleeps on a convertible armchair that opens into a bed, but if you couldn't see the armchair portion, you would absolutely believe you were on a conventional bed. Our daughter, who had complained multiple times about the sofabed she slept on while we were in London, loved the bed here & had not one single word of complaint about it. Even nicer was the curtain partition that separated her area from the main portion of the room, which provided privacy for all of us.

Now the bathroom. Ah, the bathroom. I seriously can't think of a single area of improvement. The L'Occitane toiletries, the generous shelving for personal items, the double-headed rainshower, the LED backlit tiles, just phenomenal. Very hot water when you need it, and the glass walls meant that the very spacious shower got very steamy, while the bathroom area itself was not.

The unique shelving area provided us with ample room for hanging clothes, storing suitcases, etc. Even with three people in the room, we never felt at all crowded or cramped.

We absolutely loved the fact that our room overlooked the very quiet & green courtyard area. We opened our windows & enjoyed the cool April breezes.

I could go on & on about the room, but I think you get the idea. Now for the rest of the hotel.... I seriously think that I could live here & be a happy girl! The staff was so lovely, greeting us, asking how our day was, etc. We had quite a few times when we needed assistance or had questions, and they were unfailingly helpful & friendly, with none of the reputed snootiness that Parisians supposedly have.

The breakfast was absolutely phenomenal, and we enjoyed it daily. The lady who sets up in the morning (I wish I could remember her name!) was so very sweet, greeting us daily, laughing along with us, etc.

Michael at the front desk deserves an extra shout-out. If you do not speak French & wish to discuss your reservation with someone with excellent English skills, he's your man.

I also wish that I'd gotten the name of the manager, the young lady with the charming accent (perhaps eastern European?). She also was so sweet & helpful.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our five days at the Hotel Fabric, and cannot wait until such time that we're able to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethosemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are a Family of six and rented two rooms. Very good bathroom fixtures. Showers were awesome. Hotel is very clean and quiet. Rooms were well appointed. Comfortable beds. Coffee and breakfast in the hotel. Staff was so helpful and friendly. We had a great time. Just a brisk walk from Gare de l'est train station.

Room Tip: They have a two story room with double bed up and two twin beds in the main room. Great for small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceA898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend over the Easter break. We were 1st time visitors to Paris, and found this little gem on trip advisor. The location was perfect for us- we were able to walk down towards the seine for the main attractions, but were also within walking distance of Montmartre. Oberkampf and Republique metro stations were also very convenient.

The rooms themselves were very nicely presented, and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom had a large rainfall shower and L'Occitaine toiletries were plentiful!

We had breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday. It was a continental buffet, with a nice selection of breads, cooked meats and cheeses. At €15 per person it was perhaps slightly over priced given the number of local cafes, however it seemed a pretty standard price for a hotel breakfast in fairness.

We were so glad that we took a risk booking here instead if one if the big chain hotels, which are reliable in their generic way. We wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else for our next visit

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairefeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in April this year with my daughter to celebrate her 16th birthday, and also to celebrate that I had just received my first clear CT scan following kidney cancer - so we wanted to stay somewhere really special - and this hotel didn't disappoint. We had an absolutely amazing time. The hotel staff are so friendly (their English was superb). They advised us on restaurants, directions, and even helped us order a pizza at 1am, after an evening visit to the Eiffel Tower! I really couldn't fault them - they helped make our stay so special, they were so lovely and friendly :)
Our room was great, really comfy beds, great contemporary decor, but most of all we loved the bathroom - the shower itself was fab and it even had tiny little fairy lights in!
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel, and I am looking forward to my next visit soon!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the street, really quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKelly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Kelly,
First off all we want to tell you that we are happy to know that you fill better and that your illness is behind you. All the staff of our hotel remember you and your daughter. We are delighted to know that had a pleasant holiday in our hotel.
We are deeply touched by your recommendations and we hope that for your next visit to Paris you will choose our hotel, as promised.
Waiting to welcome you and your daughter very soon,
Yours sincerely,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent three nights at the Hotel Fabric and although we had room #001 (directly off the lobby), it was incredibly quiet and restful. The bed was very comfortable and the room was impeccably clean. The hotel is simply beautiful and stylish with an amazing waterfall shower. The service was attentive and thoughtful. Linger in the lobby - you'll enjoy it. I can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,
It is a great pleasure for us to read a comment like yours. Your recommendations are very important for us.
Thank you very much!!
Yours,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The location was great in Paris but our room was a bit small and small window and it was clean and tidy. The staffs of hotel was friendly and attentive and they helped us for directions of all places and tourirst attractions around.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Melriber,
Thank you very much for leaving this review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay. It is a pleasure for us to know that you found our staff “friendly” and “attentive”.
We would like to inform you that we have different categories of rooms:
Club room - 18m²
Superior room - 20m²
Triple room with -22m²
Deluxe room- 24m²
Topfloor room -28m²
It’s a pity that you didn’t find our rooms enough big. Maybe for next time it will be better to book a superior or a deluxe room instead of club room.
We hope that anyway for your next stay in Paris you will choose our hotel once more.
Best regards,
Natalia Rusnac
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in this hotel, I am glad it was only one thought I wouldn't book again

Likes
- Great service on the front desk. Very helpful staff made the stay pleasant
- Cool lobby area with great decor and lighting
- Shower in the rooms had a great rain head
- location is v good
- price was cheap for what it was though and that is probably the saving grace, I know hotels in Paris are pretty expensive


Dislikes
- First room we had smelt like sewage but was changed painlessly, should have been something the cleaning staff spotted though before we go there. No offer to help us move our luggage or bring the key up was disappointing
- The area isn't great. Lots of graffiti and poor shabby shops. I would not feel safe at night around there
- Rooms are small just enough space to open your bags but not much more
- at breakfast they couldn't make poached eggs (!). Buffet was quite sparse, pretty limited choice

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnabelleVM, Gérant at Hotel Fabric, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay in our hotel. I am glad to read your comments about the quality of our front desk service. It is our priority to make the stay of our guests pleasant and amazing. The location of our hotel allows our guests to live a life of a true Parisian: restaurant, shops, trendy bars etc…I also want to reassure you that the area is very safety. We are sorry that you didn’t feel safe.
It’s a pity that you had to change your room on your check in day due to an internal problem. We want to reassure you that the problem has been solved.
We take note of your comment about our breakfast .We improve this service every day. We are happy that most of our customers are very satisfied, as you can see in other customer feedback.
We would like to ask you to give us another chance to change your mind.
Waiting to receive you again among us, even your first experience wasn’t as good as you expected,
Yours sincerely,
Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Le 123 Sebastopol - Astotel
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#16 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ares Paris
#20 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#7 of 1,810 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabric

Address: 31 rue de la Folie Mericourt, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fabric 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel FABRIC is located between Republique and Bastille in the heart of Paris. This former workshop was transformed into a chic and stylish hotel. The 33 guestrooms are as stylish as they are comfortable. Their decor plays on the dualities which have always enlivened the neighbourhood: graphic shapes and industrial furniture from the factories sit alongside highly colourful, quality fabrics evoking the workers' allotment gardens of the Menilmontant quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fabric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing