We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Croissants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boulangerie Julien

La Boulangerie Julien
Ranked #138 of 289 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Croissants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Between The Louvre, Opéra Garnier, and a couple of other stops that afternoon, I didn't have the time to stop by another patisserie on Friday, so I picked things up again on Saturday morning prior to checking out Notre-Dame Cathedral and Sainte-Chapelle with a visit to Jean-Noël Julien. Walking in just as the doors opened, I walked out with a warm Pain au Chocolat, Croissant, and a chocolate chip-studded bread that I don't know the name of. All three were fresh and delicious, with the Croissant and Pain au Chocolat exhibiting perfectly crisp exteriors that shattered upon mastication, giving way to airy layers of innards that proved to be exceptionally buttery yet light. The chocolate bread was quite tasty as well, as the still-warm loaf was loaded with semi-melted chocolate chips.

The baked goods were very good, but the service was a bit rude. When the woman behind the counter figured out that I don't speak French, she became noticeably cold and terse, and she gave the impression that she wanted to get rid of me. Oh well, I was bound to run into some locals like that, and it didn't really detract from the deliciousness of the croissants and bread.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another good place to get pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Chocolate croissant - good of course. Also tried the macaroons in strawberry, vanilla, choco, passion. Only choco was memorable. Fyi no seating

Helpful?
1 Thank Alice8d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best bakeries, delicious treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved this boulangerie in Paris. It was close to our apartment we rented. However, we were able to only partake of the excellent croissants and pastries only one day, as the rest of the 4 days we were there, it was unfortunately closed, but there was no sign on the door, nor any indication when it would reopen. Some passer by - local- said Welcome to France, thiis is August!
Wish we had known it would be closed, we would have loved to try more things from here.
Yes, and don't be intimidated by the long lines. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This traveler begins every morning here ... Just like a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three years ago i rented an apartment on St. Martin very close to Boulangerie Julien. It was our local croissant shop. Only when i saw the long line of commuters queuing up one morning did I realize how special it's regarded. This year I'm staying closer to Rue Veille du Temple and walk over to Julien, though other boulangeries are closer, because indeed the croissants, pain et chocolats, expresso, and counter service are superior. Now, if only there were a place outside to sit down and enjoy eating the treats. Otherwise, wander over to Pompidou to sit on the plaza while eating and people watching.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UptownScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best boulangerie in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I already miss having my breakfast in one of Paris' countless boulangeries (bakeries). The fresh croissants, tarts, macarons, and quiches are unmatched anywhere else. If you can find one that also makes a good cup of espresso or a latte, you're ready for a day of sightseeing. Boulangerie Julien, however, is head and shoulders above the rest. The selection is enormous, and everything is displayed like a work of art. I ordered the Quiche Lorraine with a passion fruit eclair and a latte, my fiance had a cheese quiche with a mini-cannelle (a thimble-sized cinnamon flan). There are no spots to sit, so we excitedly took our purchases to a bench on Pont Neuf and oohed and aahed over the buttery, creamy luxuries we had indulged in (we went to the location on rue St-Honore, by the way, behind the Samaritaine dept store - get off at Pont Neuf metro). That's one of my favourite moments in Paris: sitting on the Pont Neuf, eating pastries in the early morning light before another day of sightseeing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulangerie Julien also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Boulangerie Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing