We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edgar
Ranked #721 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Paris. The rooms are really well designed, the hospitality is excellent and the price very reasonable. The restaurant is also very good, a nice bonus.
You may feel the hotel is not centrally located but metro stations for different lines are just 2 minutes away...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicciRoussos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    42
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
52
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in May. What a really nice hotel! The rooms are small, but that is pretty much standard for Paris (unless you plan to spend a small fortune for your hotel).

The pros:

The room was perfectly clean on arrival and this standard was maintained by housekeeping every day. The room also had a very ‘’new’’ feel to it.

The staff were really friendly and made us feel welcome. Additionally, they were always helpful. For example, we had an issue with our shower (one of the knobs wasn’t working) at about 10 pm one night. I went downstairs and informed the manager. About 10 minutes later he showed up and repaired it personally.

I found the location really nice and very practical. You’ve got 3 different subway stations within a 5-6 minute walk (Sentier being the most practical in my opinion). Also you are only a about a 5-minute walk away from the Rue Montorgueil and all of its nice restaurants, bars, and cafes.

Also, the restaurant/bar at Edgar is very nice and opened relatively late. It is a very nice place to sit down and have a few drinks to relax after a day of doing the sites in Paris. Again, the staff are very friendly.

The cons:

I didn’t really have any. If I were being hyper critical I would say that if you are very hungry that the restaurant may not get the job done as the vast majority of the menu is tapas and might leave you still hungry. However, as I said above, you are 5 minutes away from loads of restaurants and cafés along Rue Montorgueil.

As for the reviewer who called the area ‘’seedy’’, frankly the only part of the area that might fit this description would be the area around Rue St. Denis / Blvd. St. Denis intersection, which is not right next to the hotel and is an area that you probably will not even see unless you need to go to the Strasbourg St. Denis subway station. And frankly, it wasn’t that seedy.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel. You are not very likely to find a hotel with Edgar’s combination of cleanliness, friendliness, and proximity to metro stations for this price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Paris is expensive and you might have to pay +200 EUR/night, just to stay in a hotel room that is super small and has old furniture, BUT NOT HERE! Oh, what a treat this hotel was. The price is excellent for what you get, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the room had a more than decent size for Paris and everything was so clean (not a given unfortunately, so I have to spell it out here)! Regarding helpfulness of staff for instance: One of the shower knobs regulating the temperature was not working, we called down and within 10 minutes everything was fixed. Uncomplicated, speedy, friendly. Also, I would love to try all of their rooms since every room is different and was designed by a different designer (duo). This was the original reason why I wanted to stay at this hotel. We were in a room named "Fran by Dave"
Other reasons to stay here:
- Several metro stations very close by (2 minutes of walking)
- Notre Dame, Louvre in walking distance. Go to Rue Montorgueil, about 2 minutes from the hotel. There are cheese stores, butchers, fish market places, fruit stands, cafe's, restaurants, pharmacies, etc.
- Restaurant/Bar at Hotel Edgar: We had tapas once and the food quality was excellent, the ham was melting in your mouth, it was so tender....it also explains the price which was quite high, but this is Paris and quality was excellent! It was nice to have a bar there, we walked so much during the day, it was nice to unwind at the restaurant, have some drinks and go upstairs just fall asleep immediately.
- Also, this hotel is tucked away several tiny streets from the main roads, so it is calm and not as crowded.

I loved this place and will recommend it, or even better: Stay there again myself!

Room Tip: Check the rooms out beforehand on tripadvisor or on their website (every room has a name) and name 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VIEOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We go to Paris a couple of times a year so we have a good idea of what the standards are. We were not too enamoured with hotel Edgar. The website looked very promising. However on arrival the rooms looked a bit DIY for my taste, the area feels pretty seedy (dirty/prostitutes). We paid 215 Euro a night, and i'm not saying it's a horrible place but it is just not priced in accordance with what you get. In the last couple of years i have stayed in a B&B, a flat and a hotel in the area. They were all nicer and in a better location (i have learnt that sometimes just a few streets make a big difference), the prices ranged from 120 to 270 euros and they all represented better value for money, for this reason i'd have no incentive to stay in Edgar again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel Edgar is a great hotel just north of the sites of Paris. The hotel room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We had a few cocktails in restaurant- we didn't eat there but the entrees looked amazing and the restaurant was always busy. Its located really close to shops and restaurants. The sites (Palais Royal, Louvre, Georges Pompidou, Notre Dame) are within walking distance as well. We would stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennJ169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A charming quiet square in the center, the fabrics/clothes businesses neighbourhood of Paris. 5 minutes walking away from Montorgueil, the Palais Royal and the Louvre. On the first floor a cosy restaurant, 60' furniture, a calm terrace and good bistro type food. The hotel counts 12 rooms all decorated in different styles by different people with different backgrounds, so you really get to be in original and authentic rooms. We were staying in a room on the second floor, 1940' decorum, felt like being in a classic black and white movie.

We had a great time, the service is friendly and helpful and it's perfect spot to visit Paris close to all commodities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baptiste R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved the concept of all the different rooms, a very parisian trendy boutique hotel. Located walking distance from all the tourist attraction of Paris (Marais, Louvre, Opera). The decor of the restaurant is very well done. Excellent food. Highly recommanded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Citizen Hotel
Le Citizen Hotel
#178 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Les Theatres
Hotel Les Theatres
#415 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
Hotel Bonne Nouvelle
#1,188 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Bachaumont
Hotel Bachaumont
#163 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1,203 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#235 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edgar

Property: Hotel Edgar
Address: 31 rue d Alexandrie, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #721 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Edgar is a boutique hotel located in the center of Paris. Each room is decorated with a unique and specific design. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Edgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing