We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Frites in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais de l'Entrecote

Relais de l'Entrecote
Ranked #477 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak Frites in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I dream of the secret sauce. If I can only recommend one restaurant to a friend in Paris this is it. It is best to arrive for the first seating at 7PM or you can end up waiting an hour for a table. There is no menu and the only choices are how you want your meat done and what you would like to drink. The meal starts with a simple salad in a mustard dressing followed by two servings of steak and fries. There is a dessert menu but I always find it hard to save room. Prices are very reasonable for Paris. There is another location in the sixth on 20, rue Saint-Benoît.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    245
    93
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kitchy but tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great steak frites with a special sauce and salad. They open at 7PM for dinner. If you are not in line by 6:45, it is tough to get a seat in the first seating. I know it sounds crazy but if the weather is nice people, Parisians and Tourist alike will be in line. I have never had anything else except the steak frites, but I believe they have other menu options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not great value but still a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

if you dont have great French you may get a surprise here as you need to understand that this is just steak and chips with a side salad and then your choice of desserts. I dont think the staff have great English so I imagine you'd struggle if you didnt understand that! It was my second time here and it was just as delicious this time around - the famous sauce is SO GOOD! Its not cheap and there are better restaurants in Paris but the decor and atmosphere is wonderfully old school parissienne and relaxed so if you're strolling past i'd give it a go

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishcouple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for Steak and Fries... Fantastic Desserts Too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a family favorite -- they have a fixed menu... steak with a wonderful sauce and french fries. Their desserts are good as well. Locals queue up before they open... so show up early or go about an hour after they open to get a table at the next seating. It is about the only restaurant I know of in Paris that has multiple seatings and they do serve you quickly and expect to turn the tables. Don't go here if you want a 3 hour long meal! Good for families too as they have tables to accommodate large parties. Current Pricing is about 25 euro per person without drinks/dessert. They serve you a salad, then the main course, then they refill the main course with a 2nd helping of steak and fries, then the dessert (should you order that separately). There are several locations in Paris -- all of the same fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Fun! Good food! Friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We knew that if we didn't want to stand in line, we should arrive early. But instead we took a brief nap instead and arrived in the line at about 7:30. Even though it was raining. The line wasn't unbearable -- it was mostly Parisians, too -- and our 45 minute wait passed quickly. (Though there were people behind us who were intent on pushing ahead of us. They almost succeeded in pushing ahead of us and the people ahead of us, but I was able to return them to their rightful place kindly without a scene.) Our server was a lovely Irishwoman named Niahm, and we would have taken her home if we could have, she was such a charmer. The only decisions you have to make here are a) How do you like your steak cooked -- bloodly or medium rare? b) What would you like to drink? and c) Dessert? The salad was good, but I think they are a little heavy handed with the walnuts. It would be better if they used less and maybe chopped them a little. Our steak was delicious, the sauce is superb, the frite crisp and hot. We did not have dessert, as we had plans to pick something up in the St. Germain des Pres Christmas Market, and we also wanted to free up a table for the long line of people who were waiting ourside in the rain for a table. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Paris, I will certain return to Relais de l'Entrecote as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relais de l'Entrecote also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Relais de l'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing