We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Le Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Marcel
Ranked #335 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

So Clean & Comfort ! Our stay in Paris couldn't be better !
In front of Gare de l'Est train Station and only 4 min by foot from Gare du Nord and also near from Place de la Republique.Free & Fast WiFi! We had free natural and sparkling water and a coca cola. Staff was extremely helpful and proffesional!
Our Best Regards for The Cleaning Lady ,she has a magic hand !

Thank you !
E.Prenjasi

Room Tip: with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Friend,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on this website.
Location is a strategic asset while visiting a city as well as good wifi connection quality, we are glad that it has been helpful during your stay in our Hotel especially for such a special occasion.

We will transmit your salutations to our cleaning team.

Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    212
    52
    10
    7
See reviews for
59
296
43
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked this room in Europe before we left for home. It is within walking distance of the Gar du Nord so you can take the train to the airport in the morning. This hotel just opened in January so it is very up to date. The internet works well for Europe and TV is in HD. We upgraded our room and got a suite (they called it a decompression room). The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about any questions we had. The neighborhood is not the best but the Metro station is within 15 feet of the hotel. The hotel is hard to find. Look directly across from the Gar de Sud looking right. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MfBuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear guest,

The staff and I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave us a comment. It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Le Marcel.

Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely little boutique hotel conveniently located with both the main line and Metro stations just steps away. Rooms are compact but immaculate, the bed was really comfortable with fluffy duvet and plenty of pillows. Very clean and pristine. Good sized TV. Walk in shower offering both rain-shower and hand-held shower heads. Enough wardrobe hanging space for a couple of nights away. Complimentary soft drinks in mini-bar on arrival and really friendly, helpful staff. There are some little cafes and bars across the road, but don't expect to be in the middle of the main tourist area. Hop on the Metro and in a couple of stops you are right in the heart of things. This is a real gem in the middle of Paris. Would return here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Hotel Marcel’s staff and I would like to thank you for your gentle review. I am glad you spent a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed most of our services.
If we have the pleasure to welcome you again I recommend you to discover the Canal Saint Martin area near the Hotel, this is the emerging trendy neighborhood of Paris with its designers boutiques and charming cafés and restaurants.

Thank you again for your kind comments.
.
Best regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

En Route to UK via Eurostar ? Spend the night in the luxury of this Boutique Hotel 10 minutes from Gare du Nord. My wife and I did following an exhausting journey by train from Madrid. Great accommodation. Will visit next time when in Paris.

The bedroom although small offered a pristine white decor with a contemporary design. The crisp white sheets on an exceptionally comfortable kingsize bed was most welcome and gave a superb nights sleep. The en-suite bathroom was very small but practical supported with both shower and bath.

Entrance to the hotel from the street does not give a first welcoming insight to what lies beyond, however one floor up by lift certainly opens the eyes and what a WOW when entering the bedroom.

Cupboard/draw/storage space is very limited when staying for more that one night. Operation of the shower is not explained, this is operated by a small press button on the underside of the bath tap, an instruction notice would be helpful.

Room Tip: Choose to upgrade your bedroom for the WOW factor, Take breakfast in one of the nearby cafe/restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TopsRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for your warm review, we are thrilled to read about your WOW reaction entering your room. It is what drives, the Marcel staff and I to do our best every day to maintain that kind of standard.
I will make sure that all our rooms will have the instructions normally provided for the shower.

Again thank you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a couple who visited Paris from the UK via Eurostar. We did quite a lot of Internet research before booking Hotel Marcel for our three night stay and we are so glad we did! As mentioned in previous reviews it is right opposite Gare de l'Est and within easy walking distance of Gare du Nord. Our trip was during a spell of very hot weather in Paris and it was lovely to return to each evening after the bustle of the city as everything was perfect. The room was cool and stylish with a lovely, big comfortable bed and some nice touches like complimentary drinks in the minibar fridge for the first night. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English which was great because our French is extremely limited. We had room-only so can't comment on the hotel breakfasts but there are plenty of affordable options in the area and a Co-op type store just a few doors away for any bits and bobs you might need. If we decide to visit Paris again any time soon we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goater64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a group of 4.

LOCATION: Conveniently located close to the metro and Eurostar stations. Neighbourhood isn’t great but not an issue with the metro line being so close. We were however, reluctant to walk around in the area in the evenings.

ROOMS: Compact but nice. Our room had 2 large windows with pleasant views. No English channels on the TV and WIFI is quite slow. Also, there is not much space in the cupboards, so we had to keep our clothes in our suitcase.

BATHROOM: We had a tub in the bathroom - our friends had a walk-in shower which we would have preferred as the tub was quite high making it difficult to get into. Also, tub too small (in length) to actually have a bath in, so abit pointless!

COMMUNAL AREAS: Very small, the reception area is quite small and the breakfast room even smaller. It’s literally the size of a dining room in an average-sized house. Overall , clean with modern deco.

BREAKFAST: Good selection of food including eggs, sausages, bacon, cereal, yogurts and scrumptious croissants!

STAFF: Attentive and spoke good English. Not always polite - one evening whilst getting in the lift to our rooms were told to be quiet. Given that we were speaking quietly, and that we were in the reception area, we found this abit strange and it made us feel quite uncomfortable. People should be allowed to talk in communal areas!

Overall, a nice, compact hotel, but we would not return as its suited more to people travelling alone/for business.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors with a walk-in shower as the bath tubs are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibettan, Directeur général at Hotel Le Marcel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

A big thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us.
While your stay seems to have been pleasant on the over whole, it is regrettable that some issues make you think of not coming back again.

Some of them which are unfortunate misunderstandings, for example I confirm you that our TV offer includes CNN International and BBC World in every room. If any punctual technical incident prevented you from accessing these programs, our technical team would have been glad to restore it on your demand.

Regarding the staff issue, be sure that we will insist on the training of our team to make sure our guests do not feel uncomfortable while staying with us in a nice and quiet but also relax atmosphere.

Sincerely,
M. GARABEDIAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Marcel is modern, clean and steps from Gare de l'est and walking distance from Gare du Nord We took the Metro from CDG and it was a treat having the hotel so close to the station. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more accommodating.. The neighborhood is not the best but there is a Metro station just outside the door so you have access to all the highlights that Paris has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#252 of 1,802 in Paris
1,176 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#181 of 1,802 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#419 of 1,802 in Paris
684 reviews
Entrepôt
Best Western Premier Faubourg 88
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Midnight Hotel Paris
Midnight Hotel Paris
#411 of 1,802 in Paris
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marcel

Property: Hotel Le Marcel
Address: 11 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Marcel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affirm your "Avant-gardisme" by staying at the Marcel. A typical Parisian Bourgeois-bohemian Hotel, located in a young and dynamic district of the capital. A nod to Proust's Madeleine and a haven of peace, between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est.At a first glace, a modern façade, out of sync with the rest of the neighbourhood : One only sees the hotel. As the doors open, you step into a bubble, cut off from the exterior world. A well-known land-mark to Parisians, the Marcel hotel welcomes you upon your escapade to the capital and offers a perfect place to sleep for business travellers. The avant-garde décor was the work of the designer Claudia Del Bubba, who also worked on the Jules Verne (Gourmet restaurant on the Eiffel Tower). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing