We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Boulevards”
Review of Hotel De Nell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel De Nell
Ranked #78 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the Boulevards”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel du Nell is a highly design, new, modern, comfortable, well run hotel in a neighborhood where you wouldn't normally expect to find that. It's so modern, you may have trouble figuring out how to use the shower, although you'll have enough room to share that shower with 5 or 6 of your best friends. Be careful how many drinks you have in the bar though or you'll walk through one of the mirrors. Top notch staff and a trendy clientel, with one of the hottest new restaurants in Paris (Regalade Conservatoire) inside the hotel itself, and another a few blocks up the street (called Abri, with three Japanese men cooking French food that has 'em booked a month in advance.) The location is the interesting variable with Hotel du Nell and it could be either a plus or a minus for you. On one hand it's close to the Grand Boulevards and Bonnes Nouvelles metro stops, and not too far from Printemps, Galeries Lafayette and the Garnier Opera in the gentrifying 9th arrondissment. Good neighborhood restaurants are all around it (Richer, a block away, is delightful and open every day), and across the street is a medieval style church built in the 1800's by Napoleon III with a steel skeleton, so it can have more stained glass windows. You are really inserting yourself into Paris here. But on the other hand, it's on a one way street into a T and surrounded by one way streets, so that it can be hard for a cab to get to it or get out of it, and cabs must be called. Plus traffic in Paris, with a lot construction has been horrendous. So if cab is your main way of getting around, or you are uncomfortable being in restaurants where you are the only tourist, maybe it's not for you, because it's not cheap. But if it fits your style, the facility is sparkling and the staff is great.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor had a tiny balcony, with a view of the tower over the art deco Rex theatre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmihalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience on our Tripadvisor page, we are very glad to read that you apreciate the staff and the location of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Paris

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    108
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
74
347
33
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful hotel, well located for us and great service, lovely room - larger than the average Paris hotel-cubby hole. Also - very well sound-proofed, which is often a failing of city hotels.
We already took the chance to recommend it to some fellow travellers and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel de NELL.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hôtel de NELL for 3 nights last week. We recommend the property without hesitation. We booked the Prestige Room. Everything ran smoothly. From the arrival to check out. We had dinner at La Régalade Conservatoire. Great price for great food but reservation is a must. The staff is very kind. Breakfast is very good. Everything is fresh and well prepared. If you want to pamper yourself it is the right place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
1) Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Hotel de NELL and are glad to read that you are entire satisfy of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming again in one of the properties Charm&More.
Best regards from Paris,

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Paris is a beautiful and magical city, made even more special by a gracious and lovely staff at the Hotel de Nell. Despite the many visitors coming in and out of the hotel during our four day stay, I was always impressed with the personal greetings from the front desk team who seemed to always know and remember what our days' plans were. Not to mention, they were remarkably clear about pointing us in the right direction of good food and good wine.

The hotel's location is ideal - far enough away from tourists, but close enough to the city's most iconic sites. We walked everywhere despite the metro being around the corner and found it to be the best way to experience the city.

The food at Le Regalade (the hotel restaurant) was divine and well-priced. The wine was equally as good, but unmatched to the delicious chocolates on our pillow every night and the pan au chocolat that the staff pointed us towards at a local patisserie right down the street.

Thanks for making our trip to France a memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatExpectations77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

All our staff thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the Hotel, the restaurant and the area.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Best regards,

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

my girlfriend and i just stayed at this hotel for several nights on our first trip to paris. i have nothing but positive things to say about this hotel. our room was very clean, spacious, and luxurious. in addition, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. we highly recommend this hotel, especially at its affordable price relative to many other hotels in paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel de NELL & La Régalade.

We always try to improve services to provide the best for our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall, with the very few exceptions I will mention it was a good 5 Star Hotel stay in Paris. Especially as in our case where we were able to book the Hotel with one of it's promotional rates. What we received for our money was absolutely worth it. Especially considering that it is Paris and Paris is an expensive city. In all fairness, I will also mention the excellent things about this stay.

First off the location is absolutely fantastic. It is in the 9th arrondissement, close to Restaurants and Shopping facilities. A safe location, not far to walk to some of the fantastic sights of Paris. In the event you are not a walker, both Metro and cab ride are around the corner. We walked to the Louvre, the Basilica of the Sacré Cœur, the Montmarte Artist Area, the Opera, La Madeleine, Palace de la Concorde and great shopping facilities to include Galeries La Lafayette and Printemps, just to name a few.

The Hotel is very modern, newly remodeled/renovated and reopened. The regular rooms are not large compared to US Hotels but rooms in Paris are generally small. They are beautifully designed and extemely clean. However the bathroom is not large or spacious but modern and has most of the amenties (should have body lotion available) that a 5 star should have. The only area I feel needs improvement is the sink, which is designed nicely for the eye but it takes some personal adjustments to insure areas around the sink do not get too wet. But this is not a major problem. Robes with slippers are provided for the guests. The housekeeping staff did a great job with cleaning but sometimes may have forgotten something.(I believe a training and Quality Control issue that is still be ironed out after only having been open for 4 months) However, the front desk always responded immediately and took care of the small issues when being notified. There was also a nightly turndown service with excellent chocolate.

The Continental Breakfast Buffet was very good. If you wanted more(eggs, ham, pancakes) they had a menu for an extra charge. There had fresh baguettes, bread, crossiants, cakes, butter, jams, juices, jogurts as well as fresh fruits. Your hot drinks(Coffee and Tea) are specially prepared for you to your liking. It get's 5 stars because the Service of the staff was excellent. Overall, everyone that worked in the breakfast area was extremely nice and friendly.

The Hotel Restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner has an excellent prix meal prix fixe. The food is first class and deserves an award and so I would give the Restaurant 5 stars! Best of all, the price is excellent compared to other superb Restaurants. It is 35 euros per person. You will need to reserve a table because the Restaurant gets fully booked each night. It's that good! You can order off of a menu so you are not bound by the prix meal prix fixe.

The Concierge and Front Desk Team overall were very nice and helpful. Customer Service is a big reason why this Design Hotel will continue to be very successful!

We were totally happy with our Hotel stay and if the attention to detail and when the Housekeeping staff gets to the level of the Restaurant and Front Desk Staff it should always receive high marks from it's customers.

Hotel De Nell, Thank You for a wonderful week in Paris.

Room Tip: If you like a larger room, book a larger then standard room(best is Suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTOWNFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

All our staff thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to read that you enjoyed so much your stay.

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us.

Best regards,

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I’ve been going to the Hotel de Nell a couple of times now so my review is based on a few experiences.

The hotel was recently finished and is located in te 9th arrondissement of Paris. This isn’t the most touristic part of town and you’ll need to walk around 10-15 minutes to reach landmarks such as the Opera or Place Vendome.

The hotel itself is very much a boutique hotel – small and size but staff are welcoming and eager to help (although their youthfulness occasionally results in a rather casual approach and, at times, shows signs of incompetence).

The rooms differ in size and layout. I would avoid a room on the top floor as these are less pleasant. The deluxe rooms with the Japanese bath are nice but, a word of warning: it takes a very very long time to fill up that bath! Much better to use the walk-in shower.

All in all, if you get a good rate and don’t mind being in the heart of the touristic part of town, I recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDeNELL, Responsable réception at Hotel De Nell, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review about your stays, we can't find who you are maybe you could contact me directly per email I'd like to note on your cardex that you don't like so much rooms on the 6th floor.

About japanese bath, we've finally et definitely fixed the trouble with water pressure last week.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards from Paris

Xavier Hue
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Adele & Jules
Hotel Adele & Jules
#50 of 1,801 in Paris
166 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Saint-Marc
Hotel Saint-Marc
#16 of 1,801 in Paris
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Renaissance Paris Republique Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#37 of 1,801 in Paris
1,325 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#23 of 1,801 in Paris
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Nell

Property: Hotel De Nell
Address: 7 rue du Conservatoire, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Nell 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Charm & More decided to create a hotel of discreet luxury with top-end amenities and service, all in a chic, relaxed atmosphere, they brought together the talents that could turn that dream to reality: Jean-Michel Wilmotte for the design, Bruno Doucet for the restaurant and a team from the luxury hospitality industry for the services.Whether it’s in one of our 33 rooms or suite, settled in at the restaurant or lounging under the bar’s glass roof, the Hôtel de Nell welcomes you in style, with intimate spaces trimmed in exclusive décor with the sole objective of enhancing your well-being.The Hôtel de Nell is much more than comfort. It’s a state of being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing