We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Never been so disappointed with accommodations!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Short Stay Apartment Museum View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Short Stay Apartment Museum View
Ranked #48 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never been so disappointed with accommodations!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We rented 2 apartments #505 and 506 for 4 nights. The website did not show the current condition of the building or the apartments or I never would have booked it. The carpets in the hall were filthy, the paint was peeling off the wall, the wood floor in 1 apt.was black from water damage, the furniture was not the same as the website, there was black mildew on the shower door and on the tile, there was a musty smell in the building and apartments, the faucet handle came off in both apartments, the shower hardware came off when we tried to use it, we were each give 2 small worn towels for a 5 day 4 night stay. The check in arrangement was changed the day of our travel. We were offered a check in at the apartment for and extra $35 Euros. We opted to pick up keys at Short Stay office and leave our luggage to retrieve it later in the day. While we were on route to Paris we were left a message advising we were being given a complimentary check in at the apartment at 3 pm. We didn't receive this and paid a cab to take us to the office where we were told that a person was on their way to the apartment with the keys. We had the cab take us there where we waited outside the building for 30 minutes with our luggage and an infant for the person with keys to arrive. We requested our money back based on the pictures on the website being such a contrast from the building. We explained that we had a person on our group with asthma and the mould was a health concern. We were told that the Short Stay Group had been trying for a year to get the apartment owner to upgrade the building and apartments and they would fix the shower however we could not get our money back. We paid approximately $200 Euros per night tax incl tax. We decided to find another hotel after 2 nights and absorb the loss.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Maude45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

A good choice to avoid some of the outrageous hotel prices in Paris and the expensive food. We were able to cook breakfast and make nice picnics with the apartment facilities: stove top, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker and adequate crockery and utensils. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was adequate. Apartment was clean on arrival. Building was secure, with an elevator and a minute's walk from the river. Nearby were a few supermarkets and some restaurants, as well as bus line and Gare de Austerlitz metro station. Slightly inconvenient to pick up the key from a separate office (which can be fixed with a fee. ...). Would certainly stay there again and thought it was a good deal, and a great deal better value than many hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed for one week, May 2014. Inconvenient having to pick up the key elsewhere. Grotty entrance and lift. Small studio room clean enough and good bed however only a high bench with high stools to sit on (not used) - no other seats/chairs so had to sit on the bed. Shower needs re-grouting as looks dirty. Water did not drain quickly so limited to a one minute shower or water would overflow. Toilet brush handle falls off off in your hand (unhygienic). Hot water system built in above kitchen bench - this leaked overnight leaving the kitchen bench wet in the morning. No air conditioning and very stuffy at night but could not open the windows as street very noisy. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sadierosevd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very happy with our stay here. The apartment is nicely decorated, has a good view over the natural history museum (and their exhibition of dinosaurs) and is located just next to the beautiful botanical garden.

It's ideal if you want some more space and possibility to do some light cooking, while still having most conveniences of a hotel. I can also say that the bed was extremely comfortable, much better than we had staying in a four star hotel in Paris.

We also appreciated the help we received when our train was delayed and they had the keys dropped of in a safe outside of the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

So pleased we found this apartment for our first trip abroad with our 5 month old baby! Situated in the centre of Paris, it was easy to get to by metro and 2 mins away from Gare d'Austerlitz. Room was clean and had modern decor, and at night room was quiet and area felt safe. Well equipped kitchen and good storage which gave us more living space. Great seating area for breakfast and to have somewhere to sit somewhere while our baby slept in the evening. Nice to be able to brew fresh coffee using the coffee machine. The 'museum view' is of the Natural History Museum across the street, we could see in to the dinosaur skeletons which was brilliant at night. Also near is the lovely Jardin des Plantes. Apartment is near to a mini supermarket Monop' for essentials so easy to cook if you want to save a little money by not having to eat out all the time. Free Wi-Fi provided and really useful to be able to plan our days out. Unlike many places in Paris there was a lift so easy getting out and about with the buggy - although a baby carrier/sling is also really useful to be able to see the city! We hadn't booked a cot but the person who met us at check in provided one the next day as promised. The only down side was having to go to the office near Republique to pick up the keys - it was inconvenient and a key safe would be better. Apart from this, had a really comfortable stay, and great value for the location. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Rue de Buffon have a view of the Natural History Museum - from floor 2 we could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here twice, in september and before during NYE 2012! The value for money is the best I've come across! Clean rooms, wonderful beds and so nice in comparison to hotels to make your one decision when to go home (or not to at all!). Beautifully located next to the botanic gardens and near the metro (Gare d'Austerlitz just across the street) and in walking distance of the idyllic Rue Mouffetard, one of the oldest neighbourhoods of Paris, leading you to the Notre Dame. Bikes, which I only would recommend in Paris if you know how to drive one, can be rented on the corner. If you decide to come by car: there's a reasonably priced (€ 57.50 per weekend) car park nearby. Navigate to Rue Geoffrey-Saint-Hilaire to access this underground car park (look out for Renault sign outside). Enjoy Paris!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthias1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in studio 401 for 3 nights. Location is close to Gare d'Austerlitz, so although there is not much nearby, it is easy to get to and convenient for getting all around Paris on the metro. Notre Dame is 20 minutes walk away. Sent a code by email for the front door and for a safe that has the apartment key. Studio was fine. Only used the fridge and kettle but there is a microwave, coffee machine, toaster and two electric rings. Tea bags and coffee bags had been provided. Looked to be plenty of pans, crockery and cutlery. There is small Monoprix supermarket very close by (map in welcome folder) There is a small table and two chairs but no sofa or armchair. Bathroom is fine but there is no shaver socket or a socket near the mirror for using a hair dryer or hair tongs etc. Towels were fine and the hot water was very very hot. There is a shortage of electric sockets and none at the bedside for charging your phone etc. The only TV chanels in English were CNN and BBC World News and reception was flaky with pixelated picture at times especially in the evening. There is a hospital nearby so there is some siren noise (like most of Paris) but the double glazing blocks most of it and I slept very well. WiFi was faultless during our stay with reliable connection and good speed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E2Fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#769 of 1,810 in Paris
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Staycity Aparthotels Gare de l'Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Aparthotel Adagio Access Paris Reuilly
Montmartre
Residence Blanche
Residence Blanche
#34 of 142 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Residence
Montmartre Residence
#18 of 142 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Short Stay Apartment Museum View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Short Stay Apartment Museum View

Property: Short Stay Apartment Museum View
Address: 5 rue Buffon, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Short Stay Apartment Museum View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing