We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Paris
Jardin des Grands-Explorateurs Marco-Polo et Cavelier-de-la-Salle
Save
Review Highlights
Big explorers Jardin

Close to the Luxembourg Gardens you'll find this smaller gardens. They're dedicated to big... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
B1714D
,
Belgrade, Serbia
Two Gardens in One

Though I've been in the Luxembourg Gardens many times, I had never visited this narrow, rectangular... read more

Reviewed March 24, 2018
Rumples
,
Tucson, Arizona
Read all 52 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Paris
from $109.14
More Info
from $143.32
More Info
from $109.14
More Info
from $37.48
More Info
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
20
25
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
25
6
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Walking from the Paris Observatory to the Luxembourg Gardens you pass through. Sculpted boxed trees, table tennis but ultimately, not worth stopping at.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Lambretta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Though I've been in the Luxembourg Gardens many times, I had never visited this narrow, rectangular extension -- dedicated to two explorers. So on my most recent visit to Paris, I decided to go to the southern tip of the Jardin des Grands-Explorateurs Marco Polo et Robert Cavelier de la Salle by Port Royal. I then worked my way back to Luxembourg Palace, straight ahead in the distance.

The first garden, dedicated to Marco Polo, is the smaller of the two but has the big feature. That's a spectacular fountain with four standing female figures. They represent four parts of the world and are twisting an overhead globe. I sat on one of the many benches in the area for a while to take in all the fountain details. Shade trees, flowerbeds and a lawn contributed nicely to the scene.

The slightly larger Cavelier de la Salle garden to the north displays rows of chestnut trees, lampposts and statues on high pedestals. Benches appear frequently and all had occupants on this lovely sunny day.

Public transport here includes metro lines 4 and 6, Raspail stop, and the RER B, Port Royal stop.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017

Just south of the Luxembourg Gardens is this smaller garden called the Garden of the Big-Explorers Marco Polo and Cavelier-de-la-Salle.
You will certainly admire the Fountain of the Four Parts of the World (four figures carrying the globe).

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

The Jardin des Grand Explorateurs are the southern most gardens towards Luxembourg Palace and enjoyable to walk through on your way to the Palace. There’s a kids playground and a water feature (although the water fountain wasn’t working today or filled with water).

Nice to walk through.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

We walked through this garden full of students from nearby colleges an universities- still not crowded. Tree lined grassy area with ponds and statues of explorers. Very pleasant and welcome open park like space which combines well with the more diverse and opulent Luxembourg Gardens

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews