We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this welcoming bistrot”
Review of Bistrot Du Temple - CLOSED

Bistrot Du Temple
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved this welcoming bistrot”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was my favourite by far on this trip to Paris. Imaginative beautifully cooked and well presented food for a good price. I had tuna carpaccio and the duck, my husband some fois gras and then wild boar. Good , good sauces, flavoursome but light and fresh. The owner and the head waiter run this place with passion, humour and with a great big welcome. Bravo!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“passion of the patron”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

from the moment you walk in you feel special here- the staff are totally committed to giving you the best possible meal in a relaxed ambience. VERY few patrons take the trouble to shake your hand in person at he beginning and at the end of the meal. The 38 euro menu was a delight. It showed true originality in presentation and content. The miniature ravioli served with a basil sauce followed by turbot with wassabi and a dessert of chestnut pistachio crumble with fresh strawberries was so good it made me want to go home and try to copy it ( always a good sign!!) What made the meal a real pleasure was the attentive and friendly service which was quite exceptional. Of all the years I have been coming to Paris this stands out as one of the best meals I have eaten. The meal was complimented by a superb bottle of Rully 2010 which although expensive was perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broombank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Refinement for the budget traveller”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked through "the fork" application which allowed for a significant discount on an early sitting. The owners were very attentive and made excellent suggestions from a menu which was based on seasonal produce with simple presentations. The quantities were more than sufficient and prepared so as to highlight the qualities of the ingredients. Admittedly my first authentic french dining experience and an excellent introduction this was.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem in the Marais”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This intimate and elegant spot in the 3rd arrondissement is a place that will make you feel welcome. The small menu changes based on what's fresh and available. A very nice wine list rounds out the evening. Highly recommend reservations (the Fork app will be most useful here). There's nothing wrong with the downstairs tables, but I prefer the upstairs level, by the window.
I ate here twice during my trip. One with my husband, and then solo. I felt as inconspicuous as possible as a single diner here.

The only drawback, as I see it, is that the menu is small, so you may not find tons to pick from upon arrival.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“inventive food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate here one evening, having booked our reservation through lafourchette which gave us a fifty percent discount on the food which turned an expensive restaurant into a reasonable one. The food was French with fusion aspects as well as some unexpected touches. I had a chilled pea soup for my entree and a lamb and potato dish as my plate. The soup was quite good but the best thing on the table was the yellow pepper sorbet that accompanied my companion's salmon marinee. The food is really fine and the service excellent. If I lived in the neighborhood I would dine there again, but to venture there from the Left Bank is quite a haul.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poet-taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Du Temple also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing