We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel in Paris--why would you stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #123 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best small hotel in Paris--why would you stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are so many positive things to say about this hotel that I don't know where to start. The stylish rooms are beautifully decorated, with extremely comfortable beds, lovely linens, and extremely good lighting--obviously someone has paid attention to what makes a hotel stay comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, and the bathroom had excellent lighting, a powerful shower, and a fog proof mirror. Nice Fragonard bath products, cotton swabs and other toiletries --replaced every day. We also enjoyed the tea and coffee and the electric kettle and biscuits (even though we aren't British, it is lovely to have a cup of tea at the end of a long day of sightseeing). We were very lucky to be upgraded to a deluxe room, which came with lovely bathrobes and slippers, but all of the rooms are equally attractive--perhaps a bit smaller, but the size is irrelevant given the level of comfort and attention to detail. The halls and lobby are chicly decorated. We LOVED coming back to our lovely, cozy room every day.

But as everyone else has mentioned, what makes this hotel special is the warmth and attentiveness of the staff. Moustafa, Cyrille, Albert and Jessica---thank you for everything that you did to make our week wonderful. We had a bottle of champagne waiting for us (I had mentioned that we were coming to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary). We unfortunately lost our luggage and it took five days to arrive. Moustafa and Jessica made endless calls to Air France, and poor Moustafa cancelled and rescheduled our reservation at Taillevent three times ( we could not go because my husband required a jacket and tie, which was in the suitcase). They recommended restaurants, printed out maps, had our clothes washed at no charge, sent up a free breakfast, and showed their kindness and caring in every smile and exchange that we had. Honestly, I have stayed at many many fine hotels in my life, but I have never experienced such warmth and caring from the staff. We felt like family by the time we left. In the future I will only go back to the Observatoire in Paris, because it really was the perfect hotel .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westerngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear westerngirl,

We thank you very much for taking time to share and detail your experience in our hotel.

We were delighted to assist you in calling Air France for your lost luggage and to upgrade you in a Deluxe Rooms. We value the comfort of our guests, always try to make their stay as great as possible and to feel like home.
We forwarded your nice comments to our staff and congratulated them consequently. They are always here to answer any enquiry you might have (restaurants, directions, activities…).

We would love to have you back here next time you come to Paris! Please do not hesitate to contact us to benefit from our best offers.

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    293
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
150
476
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have never received a warmer welcome at a hotel than I did from Moustafa - he is a very kind person, he is helpful, polite, and professional. He truly made a great first impression, and set the tone for an enjoyable stay. The rooms are small, but comfortable, clean, stylish, and charming, the bed was very comfortable. It is in a great location next to les Jardins du Luxembourg. I would definitely recommend this hotel. All of the staff at this hotel make is special and comfortable. (An aside, we did not eat at the bistro, we opted to find other places to dine, so I cannot comment on this.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arsenalfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear arsenalfans,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Observatoire.

We were glad to read your good comments about Moustafa’s welcoming, which we have forwarded to him, and about our rooms. As for the comfort of our beds, we have changed them recently and are happy to have your feedback on this matter.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for your next stay in Paris! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers.

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is one of thoses small places where personnel makes the whole difference.

The hotel is small, and several rooms are also quite small. But to compensate, you have amazing personnel at reception who are always smiling, who call you by your name, welcoming you in the hotel every time, and always willing to help you. They really make you feel as you were at home. It looks like a hotel run by a familly who treats their guests like members of their familly too.

Rooms are nicely decorated, and the bed we had was very confortable. Our room was on the street side - we could hear the street noise a little, but only slightly. We tend to be quickly disturbed by noise, and that did not bother us at all.

Breakfast is a litle confusing at first - there is a little buffet (with delicious croissants and pains au chocolat), but not much service - actually personnel is busy preparing the restaurant, serving coffee to walk in customers, loading boxes of food through the basement door. Just enter and sit anywhere. Dont hesitate to go to the bar and ask for an espresso or Cappuccino - they will quickly prepare it and bring it to your table, it is included in your breakfast.

I used to stay in 4-star hotels during my business trips. That 3-star hotel is an exceptional one, and I will certainly return to that hotel during my future stays.

A few tips:
We arrived in the afternoon with a rental car, and the hotel has no place to stop a vehicle for unloading. That is no problem: take the bus lane before arriving at the hotel - which is close to an intersection. Stop the car in the street, by the intersection - this will leave enough room for busses to pass, turn on the hasard lights, and walk to the hotel reception - they will gladly come and help you to unload the car so that you can leave the place quickly.

We were travelling internationally, with many suitcases. Many rooms are very small, actually so small you can't even move your suitcases out of the way. Hotel personnel will kindly offer to store your suitcases for the duration of your stay (you dont even have to ask). Bathroom in that room was also extremely small - just enough space to turn around. We chose to upgrade to a higher category room, and this was well worth the price: much more room to walk around and put our suitcases.

There is a nice italian restaurant nearby called "Fuxia". Ask reception - they will show you on the map, it takes 5 minutes walk. Delicious and affordable.

Room Tip: If you travel with many suitcases, chose a higher category room (which are larger and with a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudbeckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Rudbeckie,

We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel and for your detailed review.

We were extremely glad to read all your good impressions about our welcoming and our rooms.
Indeed, we do have a luggage room where we can store your bags if you’re too early to check-in or if you don’t need all your luggage in your room. This room is accessible 24/7 upon request at the reception.

We were sorry to read that you found, at first, our buffet breakfast confusing: hot drinks such as coffee or tea are available at the buffet table. However, as you did mention, if you want to have another drink, you can always ask to the bar, they will pour it for you. Please do not hesitate to ask our staff to explain you if you have any question.

The closest car park is located Rue Soufflot, 5 min walking from the hotel. There is no car place in front of the hotel but we will be happy to quickly help you with unloading your car if you double-park.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed one of the restaurants that we recommended you. We always try to offer a large selection of restaurants depending on what you are looking for.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next stay in Paris! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers.

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend in December. Fantastic location. Very easy to find and central for attractions. Would like to be able to give 41/2 stars rather than 4 but marked it down due to the quality of the evening meal and the cost. My wife returned her meal as it was bland and when the waiter asked why he took no further action. On to the positives, location, helpfulness of staff and cleanliness all excellent. They pay attention to the smallest details for example providing a travel adaptor and umbrellas. Would I recommend - yes but eat out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrikFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear HenrikFifeScotland,

We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.

We were glad to read that you appreciated the location, the staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. For your comfort, we put at your disposal umbrellas at the reception and, upon request, irons and travel adaptors.

We were sorry to learn that your dinner at the Luco didn’t reach your expectations. The Luco is particularly meticulous when selecting its products: all their products are fresh and of high quality which explain the price of the meals. As for the cooking, we would be happy to have a little bit more information to forward your comment to the restaurant. You can reach us at info@observatoirehotel.com.

We would be pleased to welcome you for your next stay in our capital. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an old Paris hotel that has been totally upgraded. You can tell because the lift and the halls are narrow. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and updated. Our first night there was the best nights sleep that I had in a long time.

One of the best qualities of this hotel is the location. The RER stop is literally right across the side street from the hotel. The RER will connect you to any where you want to go. We rode it from the Eurostar station when we arrived from London and also took it to the airport to come home. It also connects with the Paris subway system. The Latin Quarters loaded with cafés is only a few blocks walk from the hotel.

The staff was very nice and emailed me multiple times before our trip to answer any questions as well as just checking in to see if we needed any information before we arrived.

I cannot comment on the restaurant since we only popped in for coffee one morning while waiting for our sons to finish preparing for the day.

All in all we had a nice stay there and would definitely stay there again. Did I mention that it is located right across the street from the Luxembourg Gardens? Unfortunately they were closed for repairs during our visit.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Rick R,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Observatoire.

We were delighted to read that you had a great night sleep! We have changed our mattresses recently for the comfort of our guests.
The RER close by is one of the asset of our hotel: for business travelers, the Villepinte Parc des Expositions is located 30min away, as well as the Bourget Airport for the Air Show. For our leisure clientele, the greatest metro stop “Chatelet” is 2 stops away from Luxembourg: there, you will find a lot of metro lines to visit Paris.
Our Brasserie is open from Monday to Saturday (7am-10pm) for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or for just a drink. On Sunday, the Luco is open from 9am to 5pm and our Brunch is served from noon to 4pm at the rate of 19€.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next Parisian stay!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed there for a weekend. Room was rather small but comes with very nice furniture. Perfectly clean.

Staff was really nice and reception was available 24/7. Location-wise is very good too, just 1min walk to Luxembourg RER station and about 15mins walk to Notre Dame.

Would definitely repeat here for next trips to Paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Jorge S,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our rooms and their furniture.
As you mentioned, our reception is open 24/7 to welcome you or simply to answer your questions.

We would be delighted to welcome you for your next stay in Paris. Please do not hesitate to contact us to benefit from our best offers!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to Paris for a weekend break and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel is very stylish,clean and a lovely atmosphere.
The staff are fantastic and very friendly and helpful.
They recommended some great local restaurants and were always offering advise on what to see in Paris and how to travel around.

It was my girlfriends birthday and they gave us a free bottle of champagne and some macaroons which made her day. Such a nice gesture.

Mufusa the hotels receptionist is a credit to the hotel-He went above and beyond and made are stay perfect.

Would 100% stay here again.

Very close to the metro and all local sites and bus routes.

Room Tip: Very comfortable and large bed, Mini bar available and great power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mike L,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Observatoire.

We were pleased to read that your stay for your girlfriend’s birthday went beyond your expectations. At the Observatoire, we always do our best for our guests to have the best celebration possible in case of special occasions.

We are always happy to recommend you restaurants according to what you are looking for (French food, special atmosphere, sports bar…). Our reception is open 24/7 to help you with the organization of your stay.

We hope to welcome you for your next Parisian stay!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#87 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#161 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing