We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #115 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend in December. Fantastic location. Very easy to find and central for attractions. Would like to be able to give 41/2 stars rather than 4 but marked it down due to the quality of the evening meal and the cost. My wife returned her meal as it was bland and when the waiter asked why he took no further action. On to the positives, location, helpfulness of staff and cleanliness all excellent. They pay attention to the smallest details for example providing a travel adaptor and umbrellas. Would I recommend - yes but eat out.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HenrikFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear HenrikFifeScotland,

We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.

We were glad to read that you appreciated the location, the staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. For your comfort, we put at your disposal umbrellas at the reception and, upon request, irons and travel adaptors.

We were sorry to learn that your dinner at the Luco didn’t reach your expectations. The Luco is particularly meticulous when selecting its products: all their products are fresh and of high quality which explain the price of the meals. As for the cooking, we would be happy to have a little bit more information to forward your comment to the restaurant. You can reach us at info@observatoirehotel.com.

We would be pleased to welcome you for your next stay in our capital. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to benefit from our best offers!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 940 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an old Paris hotel that has been totally upgraded. You can tell because the lift and the halls are narrow. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and updated. Our first night there was the best nights sleep that I had in a long time.

One of the best qualities of this hotel is the location. The RER stop is literally right across the side street from the hotel. The RER will connect you to any where you want to go. We rode it from the Eurostar station when we arrived from London and also took it to the airport to come home. It also connects with the Paris subway system. The Latin Quarters loaded with cafés is only a few blocks walk from the hotel.

The staff was very nice and emailed me multiple times before our trip to answer any questions as well as just checking in to see if we needed any information before we arrived.

I cannot comment on the restaurant since we only popped in for coffee one morning while waiting for our sons to finish preparing for the day.

All in all we had a nice stay there and would definitely stay there again. Did I mention that it is located right across the street from the Luxembourg Gardens? Unfortunately they were closed for repairs during our visit.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Rick R,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Observatoire.

We were delighted to read that you had a great night sleep! We have changed our mattresses recently for the comfort of our guests.
The RER close by is one of the asset of our hotel: for business travelers, the Villepinte Parc des Expositions is located 30min away, as well as the Bourget Airport for the Air Show. For our leisure clientele, the greatest metro stop “Chatelet” is 2 stops away from Luxembourg: there, you will find a lot of metro lines to visit Paris.
Our Brasserie is open from Monday to Saturday (7am-10pm) for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or for just a drink. On Sunday, the Luco is open from 9am to 5pm and our Brunch is served from noon to 4pm at the rate of 19€.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next Parisian stay!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed there for a weekend. Room was rather small but comes with very nice furniture. Perfectly clean.

Staff was really nice and reception was available 24/7. Location-wise is very good too, just 1min walk to Luxembourg RER station and about 15mins walk to Notre Dame.

Would definitely repeat here for next trips to Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Jorge S,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our rooms and their furniture.
As you mentioned, our reception is open 24/7 to welcome you or simply to answer your questions.

We would be delighted to welcome you for your next stay in Paris. Please do not hesitate to contact us to benefit from our best offers!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to Paris for a weekend break and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel is very stylish,clean and a lovely atmosphere.
The staff are fantastic and very friendly and helpful.
They recommended some great local restaurants and were always offering advise on what to see in Paris and how to travel around.

It was my girlfriends birthday and they gave us a free bottle of champagne and some macaroons which made her day. Such a nice gesture.

Mufusa the hotels receptionist is a credit to the hotel-He went above and beyond and made are stay perfect.

Would 100% stay here again.

Very close to the metro and all local sites and bus routes.

Room Tip: Very comfortable and large bed, Mini bar available and great power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Mike L,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Observatoire.

We were pleased to read that your stay for your girlfriend’s birthday went beyond your expectations. At the Observatoire, we always do our best for our guests to have the best celebration possible in case of special occasions.

We are always happy to recommend you restaurants according to what you are looking for (French food, special atmosphere, sports bar…). Our reception is open 24/7 to help you with the organization of your stay.

We hope to welcome you for your next Parisian stay!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is well located to all sights, food and activities of the Latin Quarter and the rest of Paris. The hotel is modern chic, and well appointed. While we walked almost everywhere, this hotel is close to the Metro/RER for speedy return trips if it rains. We stayed 10 days and recommend to any traveller. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BajanMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear BajanMatt,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.

The Luxembourg Gardens welcome you for a walk or for a running session from 8AM to 4.30 PM in Winter (9.30PM in Summer). The best season to discover its flora is Spring.

We remind you that the Luxembourg RER station has several exits: the closest exit to the hotel being “Rue de l’Abbé de L’Epée” where you have a possibility to buy tickets directly from the machine using your credit card. If you want to pay in cash or with a non-chip card, you will have to walk until its main entrance, which are located at the main entrance of the gardens.

We hope the pleasure of welcoming you again next Spring!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel located in the Latin Quarter. It is a minute's walk from the Luxembourg RER station on Boulevard Saint Michel and can be easily reached from Charles DeGaulle. There is a decent brasserie, Le Luco, on the property with a tasty and reasonably-priced menu. The rooms are small by American standards, but comfortable. You will get used to it. Housekeeping was regular and professional.

But the best part of this hotel, and the reason I rate it "excellent," is the staff. Very, very friendly, helpful and considerate. It really felt like coming home every evening. Moustafa in particular is a warm, funny and very helpful gentleman who became a friend over the two weeks we were there. He is extraordinarily well-suited to his work, and he really goes about it with joy and passion. Just a wonderful man. (Another couple we met, who had stayed there before but who were not staying there when we were there, came by several times to visit him.) Elia, Jessica and Cyrille were also very welcoming, helpful and warm. Very professional and friendly. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Boulevard Saint Michel are louder than those on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanC818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Allan C,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay in our hotel.

We were delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and all your nice comments were forwarded to our staff. We have high expectations on our staff and are pleased to read your feedback.

We would be happy to welcome you back for your next stay in Paris and to offer you our best prices. Do not hesitate to contact us directly!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again!

Warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights late December. Hotel is located right next to Luxembourg RER station - easily accessible by either Eurostar or CDG airport. Check in was v quick, with a room overlooking the Luxembourg gardens. Rooms are small but there is everything you need in there. Staff are extremely friendly especially Mustafa. Would definitely stay here again, easy accessible to all the sites, walking distance to Notre Dame.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Victoria T,

We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.
Luxembourg station is a very central station as you can go directly to the airports but also to the Gare du Nord, from which leave the trains going to England (Eurostar), Belgium & Netherlands (Thalys).
Don’t hesitate to book with us directly if you decide to come back: we would be glad to give you our best offer.

Best wishes for 2014 and warm regards,

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#80 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#410 of 1,802 in Paris
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
596 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,043 of 1,802 in Paris
175 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $131 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing