We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and Accessible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #121 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central and Accessible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you have business in the Montparnasse area of Paris or would like to explore Montparnasse and the Latin Quarter on your trip, this hotel should definitely be at the top of your list. The hotel is easily accessible from the RER/B lines on the metro or by foot. The service is world-class and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. I will certainly be staying here again on either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Thomas M,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.

Besides being a Business district as you mentioned, Montparnasse is a very lively district where you will find a lot of shops and “Crêperies” (Montparnasse train station being the station where trains from Britanny arrive). The hotel is located 20-minutes walking from the district. The Latin District is also very lively with a particular architecture as the city of Paris was originally only the “Ile de la Cité”, where now you will find Notre-Dame, the Holy Chapel and the Conciergerie.

We are glad to read that you qualify our service as “world-class” and will forward your kind comments to our staff. We always try to provide the best and most adequate service possible to our guests.

We would be happy to welcome you again for your next business or leisure trip then!

All our best wishes for 2014 !

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    293
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
150
476
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Came here for a long weekend. Great location, as others have said, in a good area of Paris and handy for the RER. Rooms small but they often are in Paris. Rooms well appointed - although not top notch. Very comfy bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear skippy-rates,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay in our hotel!

We are glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and the location practical.

As you well mentioned, most Parisian hotel rooms are smaller than international norms. However, with our refurbishing dating from 2011, we have tried to optimize the most possible the space in the rooms to create cozy and comfortable rooms. We advise you to try our Deluxe Rooms which are most spacious for your next stay!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again!

With all our best wishes for 2014,

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Family room with double and two single son the ground floor. Steps to the brasserie/restaurant. Warm and clean, well stocked bathroom with designer shampoos/soaps etc.

Good value and very convenient 10 minute walk to Notre Dame and St Germain de Pres. Walk out the front door and you are on the metro at Luxembourg stop direct to CDG.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aitutaki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear aitutaki1,

We thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel.

We are delighted to notice that you appreciated your stay in our Family Room. Located on the ground floor, this room is the most spacious in our establishment and can accommodate up to 4 adults, thanks to two rollaway beds. As you mentioned, our shampoos, shower gels and body lotions are provided by a famous French perfumer, Fragonard.

Besides being located at the Luxembourg station which offers a direct transfer to both Paris airports (Orly and CDG), the hotel is also located close to the Montparnasse train station (20 minutes walking, direct bus or 10min-drive) from which leave the trains going to the West of France.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your family for your next Parisian stay!

Warm regards and best wishes for 2014!

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay for our Honeymoon, and I can now say that the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg was the right hotel choice. The location was the main draw, as its just a 15 minute stroll from Notre Dame and opposite the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens, but its the staff that make this hotel. They are cheerful, welcoming and helpful. On learning it was our Honeymoon they kindly upgraded our room and provided us with a bottle of champagne. I recommend booking a deluxe room for the bed alone, its huge. The decor throughout is contemporary and unique, setting it apart from other hotels. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back for our anniversary. I work for a Travel Agency and will be recommending this hotel to my customers

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STaylor789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Taylor,

Thank you for your kind review!

It was a pleasure to welcome you on this special occasion. We always tend to meet our guests’ expectations, especially for special occasions like your honeymoon.
We are glad to read that you loved our Deluxe Rooms. Spacious and modernly decorated, they can welcome up to 3 people and are suitable for a long stay.
We hope to see you for your anniversary next year or for your next stay in Paris!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Well located, we arrived to a great welcome. However, the room was dusty and the bathroom electric rails were not working. Mentioning this to recpetion, they immediately moved us to a new room and offered us a free breakfast. The way it was dealt with and their continuation of help booking evening restrurants, etc. made our stay in Paris a memorable one!! Thank you and highly recommended. Oh, when the 'do not disturb' sign is on the door...please don't disturb. Great staff, great location!

Room Tip: Some shower drains smell at night, so place towel over drain while you sleep. 305 is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Trevor G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay!

We always try to solve any issue you might encounter as soon as possible: we thank you for letting us know about the electric rail and we were glad to provide you with another room.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located as the RER B goes straight to Charles De Gaulle and Orly Airport (45 min drive); the bus 82 will lead you to the Eiffel Tower and the Latin District is 15 minutes walking from the hotel.
We apologize for the non-respect of the “Do not disturb” sign and rest assured that this remark has been forwarded to the concerned department.

We thank you again for your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you next time you come to Paris!

Warm regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in May and was able to visit again for my birthday this month. The hotel is a few feet from the Luxembourg Metro stop where the RER train from CDG airport stops. The hotel is right on Rue St Michel in the heart of the Latin Quarter. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a roomy shower with great water pressure and Fragonard amenities. The staff is exceptionally welcoming, speaks English and was a great help with directions, maps and general helpfulness. The neighborhood is close to Notre Dame, the Sorbonne, small shopping streets and the beautiful Jardins du Luxembourg. I was surprised with a bottle of champagne for my birthday also!
Paris at Christmastime is beautiful and many thanks to Jessica, Moustafa and the rest of the staff. Joyeux Noel et Bonne Annee!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank midwest_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Midwest_7,

We thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent stay in our hotel.
We were glad to see you coming back after your stay last May and highly appreciated that you chose our hotel!
Our staff remains at your disposal 24/7 to help you in English, Spanish and French. We can assist you in booking restaurants, excursions or even in providing you any information you might need.
We were delighted to offer you a bottle of champagne for this special occasion and to thank you for choosing us again for your Parisian stay!

We hope welcome you again next time you come to Paris and we wish you “Joyeux Noël” and “Bonne Année” too!

Warm Regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a whirlwind two week trip to France my friend and I needed a hotel with easy access to Charles de Gaulle Airport for our last night.
We couldn't have picked better! Clean, comfortable and just a few steps from the RER B it more than fitted the bill. The hotel is also located within easy walking distance to many great sites and restaurants and of course the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens are directly opposite. Definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Lauren M,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to read that you appreciate the hotel location as it is next to the RER line going to Charles de Gaulle airport and near the major monuments to see.

We hope to see you again for your next stay in Paris.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#86 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#136 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#157 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#163 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing