We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely little hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #115 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a deluxe room @ this lovely hotel just near the beautiful Jardin de Luxembourg. All the staff of the hotel are very friendly, helpful & professional. They all speak fluent English. Our nicely decorated room was very clean with a good comforable bed and linen and furthermore we liked the kettle to have a cup of tea in the evening (a kettle is hard to find in other hotels in Paris). Because our room was facing the back of the hotel (with views over a beautiful garden) it was quiet during the nights. The breakfast in the cosy bistro was very good. Overall an excellent choice of hotel if you plan to visit Paris. We recommend an early booking because the Hotel seems to be very popular (even now in the low season).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RROesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Observatoire Luxembourg.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and all the services at the hotel. Our team was very glad to welcome you, we all speak English and are glad to practice the many languages we speak. We want our guests to feel at home.

We will be glad to welcome you again for your next stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    286
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
145
462
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fahan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Observatoire and have to say that the location is just super, from the airport (CDG) it only took 45 mins door to door for 9 euro single, once you get out of the train stop the hotel is just straight in front of you. We were able to walk to most tourist spots with 20/25 mins down a nice safe neighhood.
Yes the rooms are small but it is in the middle of Paris so something has to give. In fairness to the hotels we did not feel to jammed in because everything was in the right place, just not much floor space but enough room to move around ok and the bed was really comfy, 3 great nights sleep, a little noise from outside but not to bad to stop us sleeping well each night.
The bathrooms were great, lovely and clean, a real newness to them, we even had a bath which was lovely after a day's wakling around the sights.
The staff, only had dealings with them at reception, they were very freindly and helpful and their english was prefect, better than my french anyway.
We only ate in the cafe once, just because we were on the go alot, the food was good and service fice also.
No problem telling anyone to stay here, for the price i was happy and would go back again. And have a walk in the gardens across the road, at this time of year it was very full of colour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bond107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Deeney74,

Thank you for your time and for this very good review about the hotel Observatoire Luxembourg and the Brasserie Le Luco.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated our hotel. We are sorry about the eventual street noise since all our windows are double-glazing.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Observatoire Luxembourg.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We received a very warm welcome at the hotel, and Jessica and Moustafa could not have been more courteous and helpful whether it was helping with local dinner reservations, a 4:15 am airport shuttle, or any other question or request. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to the metro, and it's great to be so close to the beautiful Jardin du Luxembourg. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a bit odd, but we could overlook that given all the other positives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyESmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and for having noticed the helpfulness of Jessica and Moustafa.

It is a pleasure for us to help our guests with dinner or shuttle reservations or anything you may need.

We will be glad to welcome you again soon at the Observatoire Luxembourg. Please contact us directly for your next stay.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you’re looking for a spacious room in a hotel with character I think Paris is not the right city. However there is so much to see & experience in this lovely city you spend little time indoors.

Our room was compact with just enough room to walk around the bed. Nicely decorated, comfortable bed & a good bathroom. We didn’t dine in the hotel as there is so much choice elsewhere. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful.

Location is good, a quiet smart area just across from the Luxembourg gardens. I’d been unsure about the nearby station being an RER rather than a Metro but we found this easy with frequent trains and easy connections to the Metro network. If you don’t want to miss anything by going underground it’s walking distance to the river & lots of interesting areas on the left bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to do thank you for the time you took to write this review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, the Parisian rooms are usually small because of the architecture, we try to organize the room in order to let a maximum of space and comfort for our guests. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are glad to know that you appreciated our staff and services.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of our hotel within a short distance from the main monuments of Paris. The RER is as safe and simple as the metro in Paris but it also allows joining the Charles de Gaulle airport more easily than in metro.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for a future reservation.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location close to the metro good parks in his neighborhood and Notre Dame And the Latin quarter only a 25 minute walk away, The hotel is very close to Luxembourg Gardens,one beautiful park, The second largest in central Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Paul C,

We do than you for your review.

We delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the good location of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-October. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. My room had a queen-sized bed and there wasn't a lot of extra floor space for wandering around, but it was certainly adequate and comfortable. The staff at the front desk and the next door bar were very friendly and patient with our limited use of the French language. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsItScenicYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry if you found the room small (for your information we do have several room categories) and we do our best to maximize the space. Indeed, do not hesitate to book another room category next time.

We are very happy to know that you will come back for a new stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for this next booking.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Observatorie as group of 25 people and for such size group hotel is little bit too small but all other aspects are more than good. We were very happy with the staff, their efficiency, with meals we had there at the restaurant, they served us good wine, desserts, coffee and it is sometimes most helpful to have this option in the center of Paris, few hotels offer this. It is small hotel and rooms for some guests not knowing Paris could be surprise, but it worked just fine, location great, wi-fi worked OK, even not that noisy despite the fact that my window was looking at the main street, St. Michel boulevard. We will for sure map this hotel and will be happy if the are available for our us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilgrimWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel Observato... L, Directeur général at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your participation.

We have been glad to welcome your group at our hotel and to adapt our services for you.

All the team thank you for your kind words that are very encouraging for us in our main goal: satisfy our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.

Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#145 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#72 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#129 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#127 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#143 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#694 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#94 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing