We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbed and clean - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #128 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Newly refurbed and clean - good location”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently stayed here on a weekend break, couldn't have asked for more. Our room was a super delux (as seen in the main picture with the black headboard) which was recently refurbished and very clean. What it was not is big - the room was pretty small making it hard to get around the bed even.However for a weekend break in a city reknowned for small hotels this was no issue to be honest.

Bathroom was new and clean with all the usual expected amenities - only issue i found was with the shower head and bumping my head but did its' job in waking me up!

Location was good about a 20 minute walk to La Louvre an 10 mins to Notre Dame. Luckily the hotel is right on the RER which takes you straight to the Gare du Nord. The hotel is right on the edge of the Latin quarter which has many small restaurants / cafes.

Breakfast was offered in the cafe downstairs but we always opted to go out. Receptionist gave great recommendations for where to eat and thoroughly had a great time.

Wifi was complimentary which is a further positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    304
    34
    4
    0
See reviews for
159
504
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October, 2012, with our twin 10-year-olds and had a lovely time. At first, I admit, we were a little shocked by the small rooms (we bunked one parent/one child per room), but that seems to be the way things are in most hotels in Paris, for example at the Caron de Beaumarchais in the Marais, where I have also stayed.
The rooms were nicely decorated--deep pink and black--the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were spotless and modern. Amenities include coffee maker with tea and coffee fixings and nice soaps, shampoos and lotions.
What makes the hotel really good in my opinion is the service. We found everyone at the front desk to be remarkably friendly and helpful. No "ugly American" treatment here. Special thanks to Mustapha for a really good dinner recommendation in the neighborhood and his all-around good humor. We enjoyed meeting him. I wish I could remember the name of the other front-desk manager, he was wonderful as well.
Breakfasts at the adjoining restaurant were of the Continental variety, but just what we wanted. The kids loved the croissants and hot chocolate. Who wouldn't?
I would absolutely come back, with or without children. In fact, I dearly hope to. Another bonus for those traveling with kids is the Jardin du Luxembourg is across the street. My two loved running around there and climbing one of the larger statues (sorry, cultural affairs officers).
The hotel is also walking distance to the Latin Quarter and Notre Dame. We took buses and metros in addition to taxis, and found the area very accessible.
I gave the property five stars, not because it is a 5-star property in the classic sense, but that it is 5-star for what it purports to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

For a perfect Paris vacation -Observatoire Luxembourg is your hotel. it's not something that caught our eyes, it's the whole experience.from the information service before we even booked until the second we left the hotel, it was just as good as it gets.but let get straight to the point:

1. Location- the hotel located 20 steps from the RER B station. you take the train from the airport, and 30 min later, you find yourself at the hotel, 30 sec from the Luxembourg Gardends.
2. Service: it's all about the people - well, i was traveling around the world, but it was the best service i have ever got. and you can feel it by the second you check in - Mustafa, Nicolas and Maricris was just helpful with every question, every piece of information we needed, and with some great recommendation that we did not know about. these guys will help you with everything you need with a big smile. a small example which tell the whole story: after i booked, i sent the hotel an email - i was asking if they can find us a nice room as we are celebrating our anniversary. i got a quick respond from the hotel - don't worry, we will find you a great room for you, but in the room we had a little surprise coming up - a bottle of a cold champagne with a welcome letter was a nice way to start our vacation in Paris. these little things that make you feel so good.
3. Cleanliness- thanks to Dehbia,the room was always clean and organized, always with new towels.
4. Room - as i read many reviews on Paris hotels, i expected to find a really small room because "it's Paris". BUT we found a great deal through the hotel website (check it out, sometimes they have a great deals) on a superior room and it was really great. not to big though but with a lot more space as we were expected.

to sum up, this place made our experience so much bigger, the Observatoire Luxemburg is not just a hotel. it's so much more.

In the next time we'll be in Paris, we know where we gonna be...

Room Tip: if you looking for a quiet room, ask for a one in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, very stylishly renovated last year. The staff are all exceptionally welcoming and helpful. Some of the rooms and bathrooms are rather small so it is worth asking for one of the larger ones. Very large comfortable beds and efficient modern bathrooms. It's quiet,despite being on the main boulevard. Conveniently situated near the Luxembourg RER Station which is only 3 stops from Gare du Nord. Good breakfast, though it costs extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargotS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights - as noted by other reviewers, it is a clean, quiet, friendly and professionally run establishment. My room was small - standard Paris size really - but had a very large bathroom; I think some rooms have very small bathrooms. My bed was extremely comfortable and the 'duvet' was simply wonderful. Having Brasserie Luco attached is a plus for breakfast and evening meals if you are traveling alone. Overall highly recommended and the location simply cannot be beat with fantastic access to RER line B. If arriving at Charles De Gaulle airport; this means you can be at your hotel within 35-45 minutes of clearing customs or picking up luggage - a plus in a City where traffic can be quite congested. And using the RER to get around Paris is a great way to go with fewer stops between major metro stations..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleretour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very charming, modern hotel. Cosy decoration and extremely clean. My room smelled awesome every day.

Good location, in front of Luxembourg RER station and 5-minute walk from Sorbonne and Le Quartier Latin.

We really loved the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very happy with this hotel, it was beautifully clean and fresh and the service was outstanding. Very friendly reception staff. The location is also ideal if travelling from the airport as you can get the RER from the airport direct to Luxenbourg, where the hotel is less than a minutes walk from the station.
Luxenbourg is also a great area, close enough to the heart of the city but also gives you a different experience away from all the tourist traps. I highly recommend this hotel and will have no hesitations to stay there again if/when I visit again :-)

Room Tip: The superior room had a view of Bvd St Michel (street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee030884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#87 of 1,800 in Paris
1,156 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#141 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#113 of 1,800 in Paris
1,617 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#177 of 1,800 in Paris
996 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#132 of 1,800 in Paris
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 Boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookAssist, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing