We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel on Boulevard St Michel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #116 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful hotel on Boulevard St Michel”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, very stylishly renovated last year. The staff are all exceptionally welcoming and helpful. Some of the rooms and bathrooms are rather small so it is worth asking for one of the larger ones. Very large comfortable beds and efficient modern bathrooms. It's quiet,despite being on the main boulevard. Conveniently situated near the Luxembourg RER Station which is only 3 stops from Gare du Nord. Good breakfast, though it costs extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargotS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    299
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
156
495
33
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rochester NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights - as noted by other reviewers, it is a clean, quiet, friendly and professionally run establishment. My room was small - standard Paris size really - but had a very large bathroom; I think some rooms have very small bathrooms. My bed was extremely comfortable and the 'duvet' was simply wonderful. Having Brasserie Luco attached is a plus for breakfast and evening meals if you are traveling alone. Overall highly recommended and the location simply cannot be beat with fantastic access to RER line B. If arriving at Charles De Gaulle airport; this means you can be at your hotel within 35-45 minutes of clearing customs or picking up luggage - a plus in a City where traffic can be quite congested. And using the RER to get around Paris is a great way to go with fewer stops between major metro stations..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleretour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very charming, modern hotel. Cosy decoration and extremely clean. My room smelled awesome every day.

Good location, in front of Luxembourg RER station and 5-minute walk from Sorbonne and Le Quartier Latin.

We really loved the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very happy with this hotel, it was beautifully clean and fresh and the service was outstanding. Very friendly reception staff. The location is also ideal if travelling from the airport as you can get the RER from the airport direct to Luxenbourg, where the hotel is less than a minutes walk from the station.
Luxenbourg is also a great area, close enough to the heart of the city but also gives you a different experience away from all the tourist traps. I highly recommend this hotel and will have no hesitations to stay there again if/when I visit again :-)

Room Tip: The superior room had a view of Bvd St Michel (street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee030884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for the second time on our wedding anniversary and (again) loved it. The staff and service is friendly, helpful and accommodating - no-one can do enough to help you. The room (we had the deluxe one in the TripAdvisor photo) was superb - comfortable, clean and quiet with a lovely view. The location is superb - over the road from the Jardins de Luxembourg, a five minute stroll to the Left Bank, Notre Dame and the Ile de Seine and just a few metres to the nearest RER station with easy access to the Metro system and everywhere else in Paris (less than 10 mins to the Gare du Nord which is fantastic for those like us using the Eurostar). The local restaurants and bars are excellent and only around the corner from the hotel so a lack of restaurant in the hotel is no problem at all (although there is Luco's which is attached to the hotel for breakfast). We really like this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently went to Paris as birthday treat and stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It proved to be a great choice after trawling Internet for many months.We were attracted by the fact the it was very near an RER for travel from CDG.Our surprise was we saw the hotel sign when coming up elevator from Luxembourg metro station (last exit at station).The room was exactly as advertised and we were glad to be assigned high floor.We were welcomed by macaroons tea and coffee in the room these were replenished daily.The hotel is in great area Latin quarter very good brasseries and quaint little bars.We went to see the sights during the day and found most could be reached by foot the Panthenon is closest just a couple minute walk away but every sight was accessible by metro with Chatalet les Halles which serves all arrondissements being only 2 stops away.The hotel was ver clean and both towels and linen were changed daily.The lift although tiny was functional and could easily accommodate 2 people with cases therefore no need to climb stairs.Room size was fair by Parisian standards.
We were on room only basis so could not comment on brasserie but each time we passed it was always busy. We opted for the cafe next door Friends which sold coffee and pain au chocalat for 5 euros each which was more than adequate there was also a great selection of homemade lunch items too. I could not recommend the hotel highly enough the staff were always pleasant and we will be back hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403 side view on quiet street overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the property last week with wife and two 10-year olds. The property is clean, comfortable and is in a great location with access to the RER just steps away. I also liked the fact that the property was not a typical tourist destination. The front desk personel (especially Mustafa) was especially helpful and suggested a nearby restaurant which resulted in one of the best meals I've ever had. We will return the next time we are in Paris!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#89 of 1,802 in Paris
1,141 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#138 of 1,802 in Paris
1,628 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#171 of 1,802 in Paris
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
985 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#139 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookAssist, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing