We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #115 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from an 8 day stay at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg. The front desk employees went out of their way to help us with our numerous questions about Paris-always with a smile! The room was spotless and the location of the hotel was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel and definitely stay there on my next trip to Paris. Thank you Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg! Jane & Siobhan

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 940 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has an RER B station within 100 meters of the hotel entrance. That means a tremendous amount when trying to travel in Paris. You must be able to get on the Metro or RER in able to get anywhere in Paris. But beyond that, this hotel is within walking distance of the Latin Quarter but far enough away to get you out of the maddening crowds. Once you check in, they treat you like royalty. These folks are just plain nice! The rooms are Paris size (that means small for most of us - but well within reason) and the restaurant on site means that you don't have to go out for dinner if you have had it for the day. That being said, a number of us really wanted to eat there because it was basically a locals joints (my apologies to the owners) and you got a real taste of French food. I go to Paris every 2-3 years and will go back again in a minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereisrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg! We enjoyed out stay so much we actually came back at the end of our trip for another 5 nights. We hadn't booked a hotel for the last leg of our trip yet and figured it was unlikely we would find a hotel we liked as much. It was quiet, the air conditioner worked and the room was a good size. We enjoyed all the staff including all the front desk agents and the people in the restaurant. The location was good as it was close to a train station and you could walk to the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame and the Louvre depending on how long of a walk you were looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean, cramped but cozy; for the money well worth it. When travelling it is all about the connection of 3 avenues for me, and this hotel met them all. Any hotel room in Paris, in France for the most part, will be small, really really small. Basically you can expect a room large enough to hold the bed, and a tiny bathroom. There is hardly room to walk around the fixtures; this is what 120€ a night gets you. The room is well fashioned, it felt luxurious despite the size. The details were there, small details that made it comfortable. Such as speculaas cookies with a coffee machine, room safe, iron, climate control most everything you need when you don’t plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel room. Friendly staff members were able to help us out, from having an Ethernet cable on hand to directions for attractions. Yes, there is wireless, the staff provide a password for 48 hrs on request; this is based on the MAC address of your device so you need a password per device. Alternately you can setup your laptop to share the signal to your own devices thus creating your own private network. The location was ok, close enough for a nice walk, but far enough that we took cabs at night, better safe then sorry. The breakfast buffet is not worth the price; eat outside the hotel if you don’t get the buffet included in your room cost.

Room Tip: Get a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel as a part of our honeymoon. The service at the hotel was friendly, swift and courteous and arriving in our room we found a bottle of champagne free of charge since we were honeymooners. Very nice, didn't expect that one from a three star establishment so that was a great start. Some people complain over the sizes of the rooms and yes ours was small too but ladies and gentlemen this is Paris. Most hotel rooms are tiny (esp. compared to American standards) unless you pay for a suite etc. so don't expect anything else.

Anyways, we found the location to be excellent. The most beautiful garden in Paris, the Luxembourg Gardens, is only a block away and makes for an excellent stroll in the morning. In case you don't feel like walking the subway station is only one block away. However, although it is by no means off the beaten path, it is worth mentioning that e.g. St Germain Blvd is approx 10 minutes walk away so if you don't enjoy walking you might wanna pay for another location or get ready to use the subway. We rented bikes which we can highly recommend, great way of seeing Paris. Beware of asking the hotel staff about tips on restaurants though. We were recommended a fantastic street across the Seine packed with places only to find they were all closed for the August holidays. So that was a three star experience.... but a minor one. Breakfast was a little bland but ok and served in the restaurant on the first floor every morning. I’d however recommend breakfast at a café or buying some croissants etc from a bakery to bring to the Luxembourg Gardens.

Since it was August we got a very good deal paying less than 150 Euros per night which was totally worth it. However we won’t be back paying the full rates of 250-300 Euros as there are so many other really nice and charming hotels in Paris that are boutique hotels in its true meaning. If we would have paid the full rate I would’ve complained about the fact that the hotel is surprisingly worn, especially considering how new it is. The impression you get is that the renovations don’t seem to have been done with very high quality and with a clear lack of attention to detail. Anyways, for the price we paid we are more than pleased with our stay. And we were allowed to bring our dog with pre-approval via email which was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georges_Bonneau, Responsable réception at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg. It is very precious to help us to improve our service.

We were pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and it was a pleasure to welcoming you in our establishment.

Regarding your comment on the price of the room, prices are different depending of the period. You have indeed received a very attractive price in August because it is a fairly quiet period. In the high season, the rates are higher wherever you go in the Latin Quarter. It starts from 209 Euros until 275 Euros.
Therefore, please be informed that you will always find the best available rate on our website as you did before.

However we are very happy that you did enjoy your stay at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg and look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards from Paris

Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one month ago with my mom. We stayed for 6 nights. It is a very classy, cozy, boutique hotel. The hotel is also in the perfect location. Close to the RER and many restaurants. The staff was very helpful; our room was cleaned daily. The size of our room was perfect for two. We thought it was worthwhile getting the breakfast service and it did not disappoint. After going through over 100 hotels on tripadvisor for our vacation, we were very happy with our choice and we would definitely stay here again. Would highly recommend to my family and friends traveling to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel has a great deal going for it. The location is excellent on the left bank just across the street from the lovely Luxembourg Gardens, walking distance to many restaurants and very close to the Pantheon. The RER and Metro are close by.There is also a nice grocery store very close to the hotel where you can pick up water, snacks, fruit, wine etc. The hotel manager, Moustafa, leads a staff that is friendly and very helpful and everyone speaks English. Chris, the woman supervising the breakfast room is a delightful, friendly young woman who does a really good job. We booked a superior room which faced a private garden and was a good size with comfortable beds and excellent air conditioning, which was appreciated when the temperature in Paris rose to over 90 degrees during our stay. The room had a safe and a refrigerator and a large TV. The bathroom was a decent size with a very good shower. Breakfast was very good with plenty of selection and eggs made to order if you wanted them--the criossants were the best. The only negative is that you can occasionally hear the rumble of the RER trains which are apparently passing through a tunnel very close to the hotel. This is a small issue however compared to all the positive points about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the private gardens at the back of the hotel which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#80 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#410 of 1,802 in Paris
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
596 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
Hotel les Jardins du Luxembourg
#1,043 of 1,802 in Paris
174 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $131 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing