We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg
Ranked #110 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We always have a challenging time finding an attractive and conveniently located hotel in Paris that is at the same time affordable. In fact, it is the most difficult European city for finding that ideal combination in our experience. Paris is just so popular and the hotels usually cramped and expensive. However, this is a good one. The location is very good, if you want to be in this part of the city. In particular, it is just one block from an RER station to get to the airport CDG. Very handy in that respect, and we were given a room with a view of the Luxembourg Gardens, which was lovely. The room was small, but we were grateful for the view, it was clean and the location worked well for us.

Room Tip: overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enroute55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 946 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

If small rooms are not for you, then neither is this hotel. The room was tiny with virtually no space for luggage. However, if you are looking for a quiet area, a fantastic bed, a hot shower, cleanliness and a warm welcome, then this hotel is well worth considering. It's 50 meters from the train station, there's a bus stop outside the front door and a short walk away are the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens. We enjoyed our stay but would probably look for something a little more spacious next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrfam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

On my first trip to Paris, I decided to take the easy route and book a couple of additional nights at the same hotel that my retreat group would be staying in a few days after my arrival.

I have been pleased with the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg from the first impression on their website, which is an accurate reflection of the hotel itself. The staff is wonderfully friendly and efficient; the hotel itself is clean and well kept; the location in the 6th is very convenient to the 5th and 7th arrondissements. With a RER station directly across the street and a Metro a ten minute walk, all of Paris is easy to access. I cannot say enough good things about the staff here--they are all very friendly and helpful--they make a genuine effort to make you feel welcome.

Be aware that the immediate surroundings, especially on Saint Michel, are VERY touristy. Make the effort to go a few blocks away and you will find more of "real" Paris--especially in the Ste. Germain neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourDayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friends and I just returned from our vacation in Paris. We were extremely pleased with our stay at Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg.The hotel is newly refurbished and in an excellent location. What made our stay so enjoyable, however, was the friendly, competent assistance of the concierge services. Whether it was planning an excursion, finding good restaurants, or just making our stay more enjoyable, etc the personnel, especially Moustafa, was excellent! Moustafa creates such a warm atmosphere that you want to return again!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This Hotel is a perfect 'Boutique' Hotel with wonderfuly comfortable beds and spotlessly clean rooms and bathrooms. The towels were changed each day and the room was cleaned daily as if for a neww guest. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just right. The location for travell beutifuling around Paris was perfect with the RER station virtually on the doorstep. The only drawback,and it wouldn't stop us from staying again, was the traffic noise as we were at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Whenever we have been in Paris since 1986, we have stayed at the Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg. It has been renovated a number of times since then. The most recent renovation was in 2011 and with each renovation it gets even more comfortable and cozy! The location has never needed renovation. Across from the Luxembourg Gardens, less tha one block from the RER B door to door service from Aeroporte Paris-Charles de Gualle with easy walking distance to All of the Left Bank wonders and Notre Dame etc. This Hotel is on the corner with the front on the Boul Mich higher floors are quiet and the back faces a lovely Garden for the school for the blind ... All back rooms are quiet ... Rooms are small but extremely comfortable, beds are wonderful, bathrooms are very well designed and are larger than one wouod expect relative to the size of the room. There is a very pleasant cafe on the first floor and depending on ones rate breakfast can be included.

Room Tip: High floor in the back is best ... High floor any side is fine ... Lower floor in the back woukd be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubbieZay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My recent stay at the Hotel Observatoire was amazing! I would highly recommend this charming hotel to anyone looking for a convenient, friendly, clean room in Paris. I travel frequently for business and was concerned about the type of hotel I would find but this exceeded my expectations. The rooms are updated and clean, just the right size and with anything you might need including a mini bar. The staff at the welcome desk was THE most friendly and helpful of any hotel I have ever stayed in....and I have had some that weren't. The spoke English brilliantly and helped make arrangments for different events including suggestions for meals and sight seeing. I will make my next stay in Paris at the Hotel Observatoire! Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#76 of 1,804 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#133 of 1,804 in Paris
1,684 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#411 of 1,804 in Paris
597 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#669 of 1,804 in Paris
517 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#171 of 1,804 in Paris
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg

Address: 107 boulevard Saint Michel, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Paris
#93 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $147 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just next to Luxembourg Gardens and a few steps from La Sorbonne and the Latin Quarter, Hotel Obervatoire Luxembourg offers you a typical Parisian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookAssist, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Observatoire Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatoire Luxembourg Hotel
Observatoire Luxembourg Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing