We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for single girl traveling”
Review of Hotel du Continent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Continent
Ranked #103 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel! I had room 48 which is a single for 5 nights and it was perfect. I was worried after everyone said the rooms are small, but it was perfect! Hotel is newly remodeled, free wifi, and close to all the sights! Concorde is your nearest metro stop and a 5 minute walk around the block, but I mainly walked and only used the metro for cooking classes. I have stayed at other hotels and would highly recommend this one. As a single female traveling I want to be safe and felt very safe at this hotel and in this neighborhood.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your lovely comment and we would like to thank you for taking time to share it on TripAdvisor.
Great that the new decoration and the room pleased you. You had the duplex single room n°48, on the Asia Continent, which is well liked by our guests and is not so small comparing with Parisian standard rooms.
Indeed the hotel location is perfect, next to the Concorde metro station, Louvre and the famous Champs Elysées Boulevard.
We surely would be happy to have you back for a second trip in Paris!

Warm regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 716 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the hotel and had no complaints. This hotel is located one block from the entrance to the Tuileries and the Louvre. It is located in a high-end fashion district but there were plenty of restaurants from which to choose. The hotel is only a few months old and everything is new and in great condition. The bed was comfortable and the room was small but adequate. The bathroom was beautifully done and hot water was plentiful. The wi-fi access was reliable while we were there. The front desk staff was helpful and spoke English which helped us immensely. I would highly recommend the hotel for travelers of any kind, although our room was much too small for more than 2 people. Overall, I loved the hotel and would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Janice,

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback on TripAdvisor. Exactly, our hotel was inaugurated in December 2013 and is completely remodeled by the fashion designer Christian Lacroix in a colorful and exotic harmony of tapestries, furniture and prints.
It was our pleasure meeting you and your daughter and we are so glad that all our services and all the team made a pleasant stay for you.
We hope to have you back in the future for sure.

Kind regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Despite its tiny size ,this boutique hotel is meant to impress with its strong yet elegant character. The room and fittings were functional, a proper desk lamp, night lamps, closet, countered sink with towel shelf, shower. The internet was consistently good except for the second night, which was repaired the morning after. Location is perfect for shopping at Rue Cambon, Rue Saint Honore. 2 blocks away from a taxi stand. A bit far from public transportations , but then Paris public transportation is a bit difficult to understand so we took the cab most of the time.
Downside, the airconditioner was a bit warm. At 5:00 am, I could hear the garbage truck passing by since we were at the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Lynette,

Many thanks for having shared your impression about the new decoration of our “Boutique Hotel”.
Indeed, the hotel location in the stylish 1st district of Paris is highly appreciated, especially for fashion addicted. Regarding the public transportation, we are just 2 min walk on metro line 1, 8 and 12 - Concorde.
Next time we will prepare for you a room on a higher floor and, why not, let you discover a new continent. Meanwhile we hope to have news from you.
Warm greetings from the whole team “Du Continent”.

Regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to spoil ourselves with a sojourn in Paris and we chose this wonderful hotel styled by Christian Lacroix. This wasn't the reason we chose it, but it nonetheless lived up to our expectations. :) Its location is perfect, very close to Louvre and Champs Elysees, it made it a lot easier for us to go about the city.
We were treated in a royal manner. I felt like a princess all along. The staff was extremely obliging and positive, and they were always at our service to make sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend not skipping breakfast, you get good quality and tasty food, definitely worth the 10 EUR. Our room was a double one situated on the Asian floor, this meaning that it was beautifully decorated with delicate Asian elements, and we even got a virtual tour of Asia on this account. We enjoyed a splendid view over the Parisian streets and what surprised me was that we had no problems with the noise (I'm a light sleeper).
The hotel also has a very stylish lobby and an HONESTY BAR with different French wines to try; Lanson Champaigne for connoisseurs ;)

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our choice and will definitely go back!
Excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonlightsleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your lovely review about our hotel. We are very glad that you and your boyfriend felt like a royal couple amongst us and our services were up to your expectations. Nice to see that you also appreciated our fine champagne and the “Honesty Bar” concept.
Awaiting to welcoming you here for another stay in Paris.

Warm regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from a two night break in Paris staying at the Hotel du Continent.
The location is great - 5 mins from Concorde Metro station and waling distance from many of the great sights. Great neighbourhood with plenty of restaurants and bars.
Sadly our stay was spoilt by poor sleep which is a real shame when you are spending a short, busy period visiting the city and you need your zzzzzz's!
We stayed in Room 36 at the front of the hotel. The room was a decent size but with a very small bathroom. There was a bath with a hand held shower - all it needed was a hook on the wall and you could have stood under the shower which would have made life easier.
The weather this week was warm for the time of year so we tried to turn the temperature control on to a low air con setting - the room never cooled down and in fact was unbearably warm so we had to open the windows. Bad news - there is a bar "Ferdi" almost next door - it's obviously very popular and people like to stand outside chatting (loudly) until 1am in the morning. And then at about 5-6am delivery lorries arrive and the refuse collectors who have to be the nosiest in the world! After the first bad night we asked for someone to look at the air con only to be told the engineer had to come out to change from the Winter to Summer settings. Seems odd that the hotel can't do this themselves. Second night as bad as the first so unfortunately two bad nights also not helped by "cheap" polyester filled pillows - sorry to be a bedding snob but decent pillows make such a difference!
Such a shame because the location is great and our stay would have been perfect if we had been able to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room 36 - a good size but make sure the air con is working when it's warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Kerry,

We would like to thank you for taking time in order to share your feedback about your stay amongst us.
Regarding the size of the rooms, they are in the normal Parisians standards. The room n° 36 is one of the largest double rooms of our hotel build in an old Parisian building (around 140 years). About the noise problem on the street, we are unfortunately not responsible for this exceptional problem. To make you forget this bad souvenir, next time you can try a Junior Suite (the largest room of the hotel), situated on an upper floor or a room facing on the courtyard.
During this period, the weather changes so often and we are sorry to learn that the clime problem bother you so much. Be sure that the problem is now fixed up.
We hope to have you back in order to reward for these problems occurred during your stay.

Sincerely,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Single room small, but pretty and functional. Bathroom very badly planned. Toilet barely fits between sink and wall, with toilet paper holder jammed into your ribs. Sink is ridiculously shallow, so water splashes all over when washing your face. No place to store anything at all! Not even a shelf and no room on the sink. Obvious problems that clearly were never considered, although lots of money has clearly been spent on renovations. There really is no lobby. You can hear every noise from the hall. Housekeeping not great-forgot to pick up trash, provided a clearly stained hand towel, forgot soap, etc. I had higher expectations given the rave reviews here and the high price.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank 95Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeaducontinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for staying with us on your trip in Paris. We are very sorry to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we are very surprised to read these complaints, even though you enjoyed our new decoration signed by Christian Lacroix.
Don’t hesitate to contact us directly for your new stay in Paris in order to help you on the room choice.
Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Nice hotel, with good location and nice rooms. Stayed at a Junior Suite. The wifi was fast and stable. I will recommend this hotel to my friends, and would like to stay at the hotel on another trip later.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank hclolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea_duContinent, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel du Continent, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Lolan,

Thank you so much for this lovely comment! We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay amongst us. Also thank you for having time to share it on TripAdvisor.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you here during your next trip in Paris.

Best regards,
Andreea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Cambon
Hotel Cambon
#257 of 1,809 in Paris
448 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Relais Saint-Honore
Le Relais Saint-Honore
#56 of 1,809 in Paris
393 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mayfair Paris
Hotel Mayfair Paris
#651 of 1,809 in Paris
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#54 of 1,809 in Paris
268 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Continent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Continent

Address: 30 rue du Mont Thabor | 1 Arr, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#62 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $157 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Continent 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Continent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Continent Hotel
Du Continent Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing