We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Hotel, Arrogant Management!”
Review of Hotel Agora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agora
Ranked #1,360 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Filthy Hotel, Arrogant Management!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Filthy Hotel, Arrogant Management
I don’t know where to start with this review, but I know it was one of the worst hotel stay ever.
I never saw any 2 stars, yet 1 star, hotel that had a so unpleasant stay.
So let me start with the rooms:
- The armoire: one giant armoire taking 20% of the room, with no rows at all, you’re clothes have no place to go but remain in your luggage. Inside, was one wool cover, I got that out, to be welcomed by 2 dark pubical hairs straight on it. Thanks room service.
- The bed: so stiff I had backaches every morning.
- The pillow: it was so old that the cotton inside was in balls. I asked the management to change it or give me another one, they said yes sir of course. The night when I came back nothing was changed. So goes professionalism.
- The room window: here the filth takes another level, you have no idea the quantity of mold that was on that window. It was so disgusting I almost threw up when I wanted to close the window!
- The television: it was so high on the wall that you can’t watch it for more than 5 minutes without having neck aches. That’s stupid.
- The walls: there was grease on some areas of the wall I don’t know where that came from but I know why that was still there.
- The toilet seat: was off the floor, it shook each time you sit on it.
- The bath: you can barely stand there, the water balance is another trick.
- The hanger for the toilet paper was broken, you can still see the holes in the wall where that used to be. Never replaced, which means the only place where the roll could be is on the toilet seat!
- The water heater made noises all through the night I never understood why.
- On day one, the receptionist went to the kitchen in front of his desk, I swear I could see cockroaches running on the table inside. He never even noticed them!
- The breakfast is: quarter of a baguette, 1 croissant, 200ml. of juice, 1 coffee, 1 small honey and 1 small butter. This at 10 euros. Not even a buffet.

Enough with the filth, now, here comes my issue with the arrogant management. I had reserved a room for 3 nights. On the night of my arrival my flight was cancelled and I spent the night in the airport on a chair waiting for the next flight. I had the cancellation letter from the air company. I contacted the hotel’s management telling them my force majeur circumstance, they told me that they’ll try to rent the room anyway.
On the day of my arrival, I called the hotel from the airport, they confirmed that my reservation is still holding. Perfect I said.
I went there, and to my surprise, the manager insisted on charging me the whole 3 nights! His argument was that he never could rent the room to anyone! What the *! I said to myself that was no problem, I will remain on my level of honesty and show him my good will, maybe he’ll offer me the breakfast at least.
No, the next day, he called me, “sir you need to pay for your breakfast!” Oh really! You arrogant * you know I could’ve simply moved to another hotel, and paid for 2 nights in an Ibis Hotel which could have been surely cheaper and absolutely cleaner than your hotel! No way! I am never coming back to this pit and I totally advice you don’t as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger_Abinader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor l, Gérant at Hotel Agora, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
of course this review is a vengeance because one night charge for late cancellation
you never see the manager but only receptionist and we have mails that prooves that you said us to keep the room because you pass one night at the airport and you want the room free when you arrived. Cockroaches ? in 30 years we never have problems of insects or others because we take care of the Hotel and if you see them you never spend two nights in the hotel and take three breakfast. When people do not like the said to us the night before and of course they can leave.
We appreciate to be criticized but not liars.You pay 99 euros the night and you want a 4 or 5 stars service , you will have in paris of course for 250 euros in the same type of room we give to you. we see 1000 people in one month and of course one customer like you. Arrogant customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    108
    86
    32
    31
See reviews for
34
122
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Union CIty, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just left the hotel this morning. The location is superb, right in Central Paris and on the Chatelet Les Halles station (RER B train from the airports and Paris Main train station). This station has escalators unlike some Metro stations so very helpful if you have luggage. Once you exit the station at Lescot exit, the hotel is about 50 steps. Back to the hotel, like what someone has mentioned, you will have to carry your luggage up a narrow spiral staircase since the reception is on the 1st floor (2nd floor for us in the states). There was a little mix up when we arrived since our room was not ready. A bit surprised to find the room large, but it turned out the 3rd bed was just not set up in the same room. The design of the room is pretty but the carpet needs to be replaced, the window treatment needs fixing, and the writing table legs were broken. A large dresser which could not be used since the bed was set up right next to the drawers took up a lot of space where we could perhaps place luggage (since there were 3 of us). The bed, at least, was very comfortable. The bathroom door could not be closed fully hence could not be locked but the it was fairly large - compared to the last time I was in Paris. There is construction at Forum Les Halles so there is daytime noise and the area is pretty lively at night because of the restaurants/cafes around the hotel with some open until 2 am so there was some noise from drunk people very early in the morning. There are shops (mostly clothing) nearby and the hotel is surrounded by pedestrian walkways. The breakfast offered is expensive and very basic so I suggest going to the Nylssa Cafe right across the hotel for freshly baked croissants and pastries and they also offer set (formule) breakfast. The door is locked at midnight but you can press a doorbell so the night person can let you in. We had been getting back after midnight. We never saw the same person at the reception the 4 days/3nights we were there so experienced all kinds of personality. We did not experience any rude behavior from the staff but some were not warm.

Room Tip: Room we stayed was #51 (5th floor) and the bathroom door could not be closed/locked. The single ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junjie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good location. Average room but clean and comfortable. Nice to have a nice double bed in a single. The staff are really rude. There will be noise for least 2 years from the works at Forum des Halles. Would go back if nothing better available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night earlier this month. The location of the hotel ( in Les Halles) is not great. The hotel is surrounded by suspicious looking leather stores. The hotel expects guests to carry their luggage up to the reception on a narrow staircase. It is not merely uncomfortable, it is outright dangerous. The staff at the reception are rude and show no concern for anything other than collecting payment. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinitarashinkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Oh! On the one hand its amazing how small hotels can be! and worse, how they call them hotels in the first place. On the other, hats off to their business minds to make use of such small cubicles as hotel rooms and still charge 180 Euros a night!
Beware of this disaster of a hotel. You will find the tripadvisor sticker there, but there's not lift to the reception! You will find reviews on tripadvisor, but the rooms are smaller than the home page size of the website!! Its incredibly small. The floor, table, brief case and suit case are all, the bed. If you like it... Otherwise, here comes the advise from the front desk: "If you dont find enough space in the room, you are welcome to place your suit case at the reception!" So everytime you want something (including change clothes), sneak out in darkness to the reception. How ridiculously offensive!!
My advise is: Do not go there, even at the expense of not being able to go to Paris! There are much better ways of doing that...

Room Tip: Just do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located on the doorstep of the Chatelet Les Halles Metro station that brings you from CDG (Roissy) airport, this hotel was well priced by Paris standards. The room was comfortable and clean but not fancy. Reception is one flight upstairs which is a bit of a challenge if you have large luggage but there is an elevator from that level upwards. The man at Reception helped me with my bigger bag when he saw me struggling. Staff spoke some English and were happy to store my luggage for half a day after I checked out. WiFi was free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

i stayed there last week for two night and left with a discomfort sensation. First the staff at the reception were very strange and at certain time even rude. The "comfort room" that we were supposed to have didn't look like the one we saw at the pictures shown on booking.com. The room was generally clean but the extremely old furniture (missing parts) made it look dirty. The blankets were old and with cigarette burning marks and didn't smell good. They didn't put any shampoo in the toilette( the smallest toilette i ever seen. you could get hurt by turning around). And the stairs were terrible: like dirty and not very stable. The lift was so small. And we payed 100 euros per night.

The only good thing was the location but you can find other better hotel around the zone with this price.

I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1,050 of 1,801 in Paris
189 reviews
Les Halles
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Tonic Hotel Louvre
#1,409 of 1,801 in Paris
400 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,115 of 1,801 in Paris
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#278 of 1,801 in Paris
174 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,135 of 1,801 in Paris
398 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,033 of 1,801 in Paris
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora

Property: Hotel Agora
Address: 7 Rue de la Cossonnerie, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,360 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agora 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Agora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing