We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and recommended”
Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Loft
Ranked #36 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The room - clean, spacious and new. Small locker provided in the room. Private toilet & shower in each dorms.

Great location - close to the metro, located around China town area. Close to McDonald's & Marche.

Basic breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taramissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi Taramissu!
Merci beaucoup for your feedback, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Don't hesitate to contact us at bonjour@theloft-paris.com!

Best regards,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 239 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at the Loft for 2 nights when I went go Paris with 4 other friends. We had a room of 5. Our room was clean, nicely decorated. The heating worked great and the bathroom was modern and clean. At first thought that the blankets were too thin, but they ended up being fine when I used them. There is a communal kitchen/tv area which is nice and has stove and sink that is free for use. There is also a fridge to store food. Breakfast is complimentary and quite good for a hostel. There were croissants and baguettes, jams and butters and a few different types of cereals. Juices and coffee/tea. They also have cheap drinks and happy hour. The lady at the desk was really lovely and she spoke about 7 languages! The location isn't in the centre of Paris but the metro is just a few streets away and that is very quick. There is also free wifi and you can have it on as many devices as you like. Overall a very nice, clean hostel with a great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Needed a place to crash while passing through Paris and found The Loft online. Booked and moved in within minutes. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable...new, modernised bathrooms a revelation! Trés cool!
Courtyard nice to meet other travellers and chat. Kitchen a bit small but cosy. Internet and wi-fi good. Reasonable prices according to the accomodation.
A bit outta the way in Belleville but it´s situated smack bang between 2 Metro stations (2 different lines M2+M11) ... each 2 mins walk away. 30min stroll to Notre Dame and the attractions. Relatively close to Gare du Nord and L´Est. Not your typical tourie neighbourhood...I like that kinda thing cause u get to see real life.
Glad I was there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabobie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

But you just realize this is how most ppl is Paris live. Quite a touristy area and lots of shops nearby.

The hostel was great! Playing beyonce throughout the day! And more. Happy hour was great! Breakfast was pretty crap! Got over cornflakes and croissants.

But it was the best thing I could have done to meet ppl from all around the world.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Matty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The neighborhood is not as dodgy as some have stated. I felt totally safe, and I enjoyed Belleville. It is a truly local experience that you won't get in the center of the city. It is ethnically diverse and busy with local markets and non-touristy stuff. Those who call themselves "travelers" and have issues with the neighborhood should have their "traveler" label examined. You are a tourist. The Hostel is super clean and wifi works well. My only complaints are that the beds could be more sturdy and have own outlet and the lockers are small. I expect to fit my 60Litre backpack in a locker because hostel theft is just a part of life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanillawafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had booked for 7 nights and had already paid a hefty deposit, yet upon arrival we learned that our room reservations had been changed without our knowledge -- we had reserved two 4-person rooms, but (I guess while we were on our way to Paris) the management decided it would be easier for them if our group was packed into an eight person room instead. When we expressed displeasure at this unwanted arrangement, the manager said: "What are you upset about? You all have beds don't you?" The next morning, the desk clerk said that there had been a mix-up and that they couldn't honor our original reservation. He explained that, although it was -- maybe -- a mistake he had made with the reservation book, there was just nothing to be done about it now. As a consolation, he had, however, been instructed to be "really nice" to us (this turned out be expressed in a series of fake smiles and a complimentary cheese plate). After persisting, we were told that it was "simply impossible" to honor our original reservation, and insinuations were made that the situation was somehow actually our fault. After 48 hours of persistence on our part, and two nights spent crammed into the eight-person dorm, our reservations were finally honored and we were given the two, 4-person rooms we had originally reserved. This development, however, apparently did away with the "really nice" clause, because over the last 5 days of our stay the desk clerk took the self-pitying position that, because of our unreasonable desire to sleep in the rooms we had reserved six weeks ago, he had somehow been persecuted. No more smiles or cheese plates, and general tense unpleasantness whenever any business with the front desk needed to be conducted. So BE SURE TO TRIPLE-CHECK YOURRESERVATIONS!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank AnthonyS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Anthony.
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your visit to Paris.

The good news is we have implemented new procedures and systems to avoid these type of issues and we have seen a tremendous improuvement. Give us another change - you won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room is clean, and I really had a nice stay. The breakfast is simple, but good enough for a hostel.
The location was ok, but I didn't expect that it is somewhere like a china town or market.
It's quiet, but you can always meet new people in the common area.
Only thing that might need improvement is that it is difficult to bring the luggage up to the floors as no elevator for that and the staff there seems won't help you on that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Nikki.
Thanks for your review.

We invite you to visit us again and see the changes we have implemented in terms of staff and other procedures :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Arty Paris
#15 of 185 in Paris
632 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#13 of 185 in Paris
1,031 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Beautiful Belleville Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#14 of 185 in Paris
676 reviews
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#28 of 185 in Paris
155 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#11 of 185 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Address: 70 rue Julien Lacroix, 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $24 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Loft 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new LOFT HOSTEL is Paris's best Design Boutique Hostel. Located in Belleville, a vibrant Parisian neighborhood full of funky bars, restaurants and clubs. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to welcome and help you have THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing