We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hostel in a diverse and lovely neighborhood”
Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Loft
Ranked #33 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice clean hostel in a diverse and lovely neighborhood”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The neighborhood is not as dodgy as some have stated. I felt totally safe, and I enjoyed Belleville. It is a truly local experience that you won't get in the center of the city. It is ethnically diverse and busy with local markets and non-touristy stuff. Those who call themselves "travelers" and have issues with the neighborhood should have their "traveler" label examined. You are a tourist. The Hostel is super clean and wifi works well. My only complaints are that the beds could be more sturdy and have own outlet and the lockers are small. I expect to fit my 60Litre backpack in a locker because hostel theft is just a part of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanillawafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    96
    31
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
10
99
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had booked for 7 nights and had already paid a hefty deposit, yet upon arrival we learned that our room reservations had been changed without our knowledge -- we had reserved two 4-person rooms, but (I guess while we were on our way to Paris) the management decided it would be easier for them if our group was packed into an eight person room instead. When we expressed displeasure at this unwanted arrangement, the manager said: "What are you upset about? You all have beds don't you?" The next morning, the desk clerk said that there had been a mix-up and that they couldn't honor our original reservation. He explained that, although it was -- maybe -- a mistake he had made with the reservation book, there was just nothing to be done about it now. As a consolation, he had, however, been instructed to be "really nice" to us (this turned out be expressed in a series of fake smiles and a complimentary cheese plate). After persisting, we were told that it was "simply impossible" to honor our original reservation, and insinuations were made that the situation was somehow actually our fault. After 48 hours of persistence on our part, and two nights spent crammed into the eight-person dorm, our reservations were finally honored and we were given the two, 4-person rooms we had originally reserved. This development, however, apparently did away with the "really nice" clause, because over the last 5 days of our stay the desk clerk took the self-pitying position that, because of our unreasonable desire to sleep in the rooms we had reserved six weeks ago, he had somehow been persecuted. No more smiles or cheese plates, and general tense unpleasantness whenever any business with the front desk needed to be conducted. So BE SURE TO TRIPLE-CHECK YOURRESERVATIONS!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthonyS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Anthony.
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your visit to Paris.

The good news is we have implemented new procedures and systems to avoid these type of issues and we have seen a tremendous improuvement. Give us another change - you won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room is clean, and I really had a nice stay. The breakfast is simple, but good enough for a hostel.
The location was ok, but I didn't expect that it is somewhere like a china town or market.
It's quiet, but you can always meet new people in the common area.
Only thing that might need improvement is that it is difficult to bring the luggage up to the floors as no elevator for that and the staff there seems won't help you on that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Nikki.
Thanks for your review.

We invite you to visit us again and see the changes we have implemented in terms of staff and other procedures :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was due to stay in a private twin room with my brother at the end of June. This room had been booked months in advance, only for me to receive an email 36-48hrs before our arrival stating that they would no longer be able to accommodate us. Another room wasn't even made available to us and it was then left to me to scramble through the internet in another country to find accommodation. I had read previously that this had happened to a few other travellers, so just be warned when booking that it isn't guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nursetabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi nursetabs.
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your visit to Paris.

The good news is we have implemented new procedures and softwares to avoid these type of issues and we have seen a tremendous improuvement. Give us another change - ou won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in the loft for a day , yet i could see why it is highly rated.
The staff are very friendly and helpful . The hostel is nicely located near a lot of chinese restaurants. It is just 5 minutes walk from the two metro stations. The rooms are very nice, with two partitions . There is a courtyard to meet up with fellow travellers or spend quality time. And it does not burn your pocket as well . So , i will definitely recommend this hostel to any one any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

staffs were so helpful. They upgraded Our booking as we have requested without asking for any fees. The rooms are good, clean and safe. Safety vault is available. The hostel is 5 minutes away from metro, belleville station.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crixicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel is great! Very popular as well, so breakfast is unfortunately a bit of a scramble and squeeze at times. a little pricey but worth it in my opinion. The area is ok, but at night and if you are a woman it gets a little intimidating but I was part of a group so I was fine.

The hostel is located very close to Belleville metro stop, and pere lachaise, belleville park and montmartre.

The decor is great and the rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and chatty and never once did I see a customer with a problem.

Great to stay in alone or with a group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Arty Paris
#7 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#8 of 166 in Paris
991 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#30 of 166 in Paris
130 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#9 of 166 in Paris
656 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#11 of 166 in Paris
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Property: The Loft
Address: 70 rue Julien Lacroix, 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new LOFT HOSTEL is Paris's best Design Boutique Hostel. Located in Belleville, a vibrant Parisian neighborhood full of funky bars, restaurants and clubs. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to welcome and help you have THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing