We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel-hostel with very nice courtyard and kitchen”
Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Loft
Ranked #35 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a good stay in this hostel and enjoyed discovering the only district I hadn't stayed in so far, the 20ème arrondissement! You should not be put off by some of the sceneries taking place outside, I actually felt very safe in this neighbourhood and I feel it is one of those new hip booming places. Lots of Asian restaurants! Pro's & cons of the hostel:

Pro: stylish and design interior; free & fast internet; nice courtyard to hang out in (no noise after 10 pm, understandably since it is surrounded by rooms); nice shower with towel dryer & hair dryer; simple free breakfast with croissants and baguette; helpful staff (some friendlier than others though).

Con: squeeky beds; although it might seem a good idea to have a bathroom in the room, i do prefer to have them in a communal area outside, this because i felt bad waking up in the middle of the night and flushing; definitely more of a hotel feel to it - if you're staying at this place just to sleep and get up early, it's perfect for you, if you're looking for your typical socializing hostel, this is not the ideal place; breakfast lounge is tiny and at peak hour, it's difficult to find a place to sit

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GladysVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 235 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The rooms are nice for the value. They are small but well organized, bathrooms are clean and of decent size. The showers however, turn off every 30 seconds to "preserve water". I'm not looking to preserve water when I go on vacation, I don't know about you.

The house keeping will barge right into your room without knocking, open your curtains, and begin cleaning as loudly as possible. This occurs around 10:30 so if your planning on sleeping in, think again.

The worst part about this place is that it's in the middle of Paris's "famous" china town. There should be no fame in this area, just a sign for tourists to run the other direction. It's dirty, the people are strange, and is a 25 minute subway ride into the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtravelerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi there.
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your visit to Paris.

We have implemented new procedures to avoid these type of issues and the are has been changing rapidly, becoming vibrant and trendy. Even famous personalities like Monika Belucci have na interest in the área now!

Having this in mind we ask you to give us another change - you won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first time traveling alone, and I was so excited to stay in this particular hostel because it had been recommended by some newspaper articles. I booked my private double room a month in advance, and was soon after emailed a confirmation number.

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Loft Hostel at around 10:30 PM and presented our confirmation number. Surprise - the room was booked, but apparently that was ok because they saved us two beds in a dorm... because couples love co-ed dorms! We were not alright with this, and so the guy at the reception (who was quite helpful) called a bunch of other hostels and found us a place to stay elsewhere, and told us to come back the next day because our room would be ready then. Still, being stranded at 11 PM is no fun, particularly not in Paris where nearly every single hotel is completely booked.

The next morning, we go back. We are greeted by the manager, Caroline, who explains to us that the room isn't going to be available at all. She says she sent an e-mail to the other hostel, and says it isn't her fault we weren't alerted. We ask her why the initial mix-up occurred, and she explains nonchalantly that our room was never reserved. We had been wait-listed for the room, and never reserved it. They had banked on people cancelling, or on us being ok with not having the room we were promised. We asked her when she knew that the room wouldn't be available to us, and she said she had known 4 days prior. We asked her (completely in French) why she hadn't called us to tell us. Her reply: "It's true, I could have called you, but I didn't." Indeed.

She calls a number of hostels and they're all booked. My boyfriend and I become so frustrated with her lack of focus (she tends to other guests while trying to "resolve" our issue) we go on Expedia and find a hotel ourselves. Was it our job to find a new hotel? Probably not.

Anyhow, once we're booked, we ask her for the money back for the cabs. She says she'll only pay for 2 of the trips, because after all, she sent an email to tell us that the room wouldn't be available (Merciful soul! Blessed be thy who sends an email! So much work! Ah!). We say that that isn't our fault. She says we can't prove we didn't take the metro. I show her the receipt for the cab. She tries to play the "Woe is me, I'm just the manager of a hostel card".

She ended up paying for 2 cabs, but gave us enough money for 3.

I can't attest to the quality of the actual facilities, but PLEASE do not count on their incompetent website to book your stay. Please call 49786 times and have a confirmation number signed in blood before you arrive. They do overbook so that they're never short of clientele.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tarajmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, Front Office Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi tarajmahal
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your visit to Paris.

The good news is we have implemented new procedures and systems to avoid these type of issues and we have seen a tremendous improuvement. Give us another change - you won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked through hostel world, paid a deposit and when arrived at 8pm they inform us that the hostel over booked and one of us would sleep in a bed the other on a mattress on the floor. Then next minute we were told we would both have to sleep on mattress on the floor but in separate dorms. The other option was for them to book us another hostel and they would pay the taxi. We decided to go with that but we asked what the other hostel was like, cleanliness ect. We were told it was a great, clean hostel with free wifi. We decided to take that option. After refusing to refund my deposit i thought this was a joke! After explaining this was not our fault they had double booked and spending 45 minutes to come up with some excuse they finally gave our deposit back. The next hostel that they booked for us was nothing but a dump! With no free wifi, further to the train then the other one, dirty! As in you wouldn't walk around your room with bare feet that's for sure!
The loft looked pretty cool, but couldn't believe they would suggest this for us!

Very disappointing start to our travels in Paris!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Prissycos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, Guest Relations Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hello there!
We are really sorry you had encountrered such problems on your first days visiting Paris.

We have implemented new procedures and we have seen a tremendous improvement - our latest reviews don't let us say otherwise :) The best way to book is on our website to avoid booking or any other fees and to get the best rates!

Give us another change and visit us again - you won't regret it :)

Wish you happy and safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cannot believe how few reviews there are of this place. It's out the way but it's such an incredible little hostel. We had a four bed room on the top floor and the room itself was well equipped, very clean and tidy. The bathroom was spacious and clean, and even had a towel dryer. There was a great bar, complete with happy hour ;) A courtyard for smokers and socializing which our room looked over. Computers for general use, a nice naturally lit kitchen. In the reception there was a fun little chalk board with information and weather forecasts. It really felt like a hotel it was that organised but it was fun, friendly, and social. Also loved that there was always music playing in the corridors and the courtyard. Such a fun stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamiM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Renovated and funky. This place is pretty cool! Comfortable, clean, and quiet. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but I never felt uncomfortable. Beer and wine is available from the front desk. And the courtyard is a great place to hang out and meet new people. I was a solo traveller when I stayed here, and it took me about 5 minutes to meet a bunch of great like-minded travellers. Good value. Easy access to the trams. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_H403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros - Clean, decent beds, free breakfeast (minimal but more than most places offer). Free wi-fi, nearby grocery, laundry

Cons - The hostel itself is a bit of a ways out of the city center. It's not terrible, but not a quick walk either. The kitchen is really too small to cook anything but a snack and there isn't space for food storage. The bottom floor sits on a small courtyard, they close it early but people still use it to smoke and make calls so you get a lot of noise at all hours. Finally, there isn't really a good common room. They have small 2 person tables in the kitchen and outside but nothing else. This makes it difficult if you are looking to meet people on your travels or just trying to find a place to sit and read/relax for a bit.

On the whole it is a decent place but feels more like staying in a shared room hotel. Depending on what you are looking for, this may or may not be for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarus223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager D, Public Relations Manager at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hi Icarus.
Thank you for your review!

We invite you to visit us again to see the changes we have implemented. We are still small comparing to other places, but we try to keep it cosy for a great experience in Paris!

Safe travels,
The Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Arty Paris
#10 of 181 in Paris
628 reviews
Le Regent Hostel
#12 of 181 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Beautiful Belleville Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vintage Hostel
#13 of 181 in Paris
777 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#11 of 181 in Paris
671 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Address: 70 rue Julien Lacroix, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $24 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Loft 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new LOFT HOSTEL is Paris's best Design Boutique Hostel. Located in Belleville, a vibrant Parisian neighborhood full of funky bars, restaurants and clubs. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to welcome and help you have THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing