We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”
Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Loft
Ranked #33 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hostel is quite large which is great for meeting other travellers. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Free breakfast is delicious but it would be nice if there was some fruit included.

I was disappointed that the rooms are closed between 11am and 3pm - if you're sick and want to spend the day in bed you have no option but to leave your room. The bathrooms were really clean and new but I was disappointed there was no soap to wash your hands. I don't know but this might be standard in western hostels(?).

The location is okay - close to inexpensive grocery stores in Chinatown and it's easy to get around by Metro as there are several stations within a few minutes' walk from the hostel. I walked to Père Lachaise Cemetery from the hostel.

It would be nice if the hostel had shelves for the top bunks and lockers in the room.

Finally I will just say that the courtyard is really lovely. I think it's nice that the hostel has somewhere for people to hang out and smoke, even though I am not a smoker.

Room Tip: The locking mechanism for doors off the courtyard are tricky! Get someone to show you how to do it.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for The Loft
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel was great for the most part, and brand new! What a luxury!

Mostly everything was wonderful, very friendly and super helpful staff that even helped me phone around to find the best priced airport transfer transportation.

Breakfast was pretty good considering this is a hostel! Croissants (too soft, but good), bread, cereal, milk, orange juice, jam, and tea (probably coffee too but I don't drink it so I can't remember). The bathrooms were very clean with a great shower and great water pressure and even a heated towel rack!

The only things that I didn't love was that it was a mixed sex hostel, so at first I was uncomfortable with sharing my room with strange men. But once I met my roommates I was so glad as they turned out to be great guys who were all traveling alone and we all went out a few times and had so much fun! Still the option of female only rooms would be nice. Also there is no storage closet or anything for you to lock up your suitcase. You can give the front desk valuables to hold for you, but basically your suitcase is just in your room, the doors are locked with keycards for the guests staying in that room.

The location of the hostel is in the Chinatown area of the city, so its somewhat sketchy at night. The first night I was going back to the hostel around 11pm by myself, and a strange man followed me from a train transfer and then from the metro station almost all the way back to the hostel...I was running towards the end, it was very very scary! But on the other hand as I love asian food SO MUCH I was really happy that I had a delicious Vietnamese restaurant and Thai restaurant a block away from the hostel. So basically the location is both very cool and eclectic, but just be careful at night.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. New and clean!

Room Tip: I was lucky I booked a room with only 4 people in it, I met some other people that had rooms with 12...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiabelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Brand new hostel, in excellent location (walking distance form 2 metro stations) in the vibrant Bellevile district. Lots of nice places to go to in the evening.
The rooms are clean and secured by a key card.
Good breakfast.
I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank AlizeeArgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: J'étais au rez-de-chaussée, c'est une bonne situation d'autant plus que le lieu (appelé...
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesachats01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: accessible
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charguev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Regent Hostel
#12 of 178 in Paris
1,016 reviews
Arty Paris
#7 of 178 in Paris
625 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#15 of 178 in Paris
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#14 of 178 in Paris
661 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Beautiful Belleville Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Address: 70 rue Julien Lacroix, 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $30 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Loft 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new LOFT HOSTEL is Paris's best Design Boutique Hostel. Located in Belleville, a vibrant Parisian neighborhood full of funky bars, restaurants and clubs. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to welcome and help you have THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing