We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average small hotel in Paris”
Review of Niel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niel Hotel
Ranked #719 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average small hotel in Paris”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I guess this is just another small , average hotel in Paris.
It is rather close to Arc de Triomphe Etoile (cca. 10 min. walk) where both metro station and AF airport bus station are located.
Our room was small, but pleasant. On the other hand, the bathroom was rather plain and cold, with just a small heater with some sort of timer switch.
Breakfast consists of juice, coffee or tea, croissants, butter , jam, honey and boiled egg with addition of fruit and joghurt.
Next time we go to Paris, we will look for another place to stay, as we believe there are better 3 star hotels than this one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anagard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    148
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
131
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We loved our time at the Hotel Niel. The room was small but so quaint and all we needed. Very quiet yet close to markets, metro, and shopping and retaurants. Nice bathroom and friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Columbianana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Quite expensive regarding to the service.
But clean and acceptable location (close to underground station)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed here with my husband as a surprise for his 30th birthday. Fantastic location, 5 mins walk from the Arc De Triomphe and Champs Elysses. Lovely, romantic hotel. Perfect for a visit to Paris. Would definitely recommend.
Ignore the bad reviews, I don't know where they stayed but it can't have been here!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelJayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This hotel is in a lovely spot in Paris, right near a street fruit and vegetable market that is one every day of the week (even Sundays!). There are also bakeries and restaurants nearby, as well as a metro station a five minute walk away.
The hotel itself is of a good standard, with relatively nice staff (for a Parisian hotel) and nice rooms that have been redone recently. Our room had a very small balcony from which you could get a nice view of the street outside. There was enough storage space for our things, however we travel light and if you had big suitcases you would struggle to fit them in the room. The bathroom is small but functional and clean with lots of nice towels.
My two big problems with this hotel were:
1. There is minimal sound insulation between the other rooms. We heard shower doors closing, toilets flushing, doors slamming etc from all the adjacent rooms. Not fun at 7 am when you are on holiday and want to sleep in. Bring ear plugs if you stay here. Plus side was that there was minimal noise from the street.
2. The double bed: one side was relatively comfortable, and the other clearly had broken springs and was exceptionally uncomfortable. My husband and I had to take turns of sleeping on that side. They clearly have not upgraded the beds in a while.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, choosing to get pastries from the nearby bakery, but the breakfast room is downstairs without any windowns and looked a bit dark and depressing.
I did like this hotel but don't think I would stay there again as so many other options in Paris and I do like my peace and quiet, which I didn't get here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megs667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Our stay at Hotel Niel was exactly what we expected for the money. Average rooms and average service. The rooms are clean, however, and nicely furnished (although the carpet had bleach stains everywhere). Some of the staff were nice, but others were very unhelpful (did not help with the bags) and the cleaners/maids were very rude, telling us to get out of our room (with an attitude) so they could clean.

It is in a very good location (20 mins walk from the Champs Elysee) with beautiful markets and bakeries around the corner and plenty of restaurants around.

If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay in Paris in a safe area in a reasonable distance to the sights, you can probably do better. We had an average stay in this average hotel, but would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Niel for three nights. The hotel is in a great location for access to the attractions and within walking distance of many of them and there are many great places to eat in the vicinity. The hotel itself is situated in a very quiet street which is a bonus as there is no noise to keep you awake at night. However, just a few minutes walk away is a bustling, busy district with lots of atmosphere. Perfect really! The hotel has to be commended on its cleanliness - definitely no complaints there and the fixtures and fittings are modern. The bathroom in particular was beautiful and kept spotlessly clean and we had fresh towels and toiletries every day. The only complaint we had is that we had booked a twin room but when we arrived we were shown to a room with a double bed. My sister went downstairs to Reception to ask if we could be moved to a twin but was told they had no twins left - they didn't seem too concerned and would not agree to a reduction in cost due to their error. It was late at night and there wasn't very much we could do so we just had to go with it. In our case it was not a disaster and we were happy to share but it could have been embarrassing in different circumstances. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at the Hotel Niel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Riviera Elysees
Hotel Riviera Elysees
#1,055 of 1,802 in Paris
294 reviews
Hotel des Deux Avenues
#1,566 of 1,802 in Paris
126 reviews
Hotel Elysees Flaubert
#733 of 1,802 in Paris
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Floridor Etoile
Hotel Floridor Etoile
#1,442 of 1,802 in Paris
81 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Arc de Triomphe Etoile
Hotel Arc de Triomphe Etoile
#609 of 1,802 in Paris
258 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Monceau Elysees
Hotel Monceau Elysees
#707 of 1,802 in Paris
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niel Hotel

Property: Niel Hotel
Address: 11 rue Saussier Leroy, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Business Hotel in Paris
#638 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Niel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Niel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niel Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing