We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busy location”
Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Levant
Ranked #191 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great hotel to get the feel of paris.Touristy restaurants everywhere. To eat well pick one out before you get there to know if you eat well. Bedrooms big and light. Breakfast buffet good but service was a bit hectique.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel .

Regarding the restaurants and other places to eat in our area, please feel free to ask the Reception. We could have helped you in your choice .

We hope you enjoyed your breakfast in spite of the hectic service .

Hoping to see you again in Paris .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

With only 2 nights in Paris - and a first-ever trip- this hotel was perfect. Staff was helpful with advance info via email; easy to get to via airport train/metro; the metro stop is an easy 3 min walk. The street is filled with dining options. The room and bath were quite comfortable and clean; AC worked well - as it was 93 degrees! Lovely breakfast- I'm in croissant withdrawal!

One note- it was a bit confusing to find the street when coming back from anything north - perhaps my own directional challenges- but I walked in circles a few times. (Lovely circles - mind you!)

Other tips-
Bring your own water bottle- the water is $5 - 8 USD in most of the tourist areas.
- Go to St. Chapelle - just across the bridge - for an evening concert (1 hour) - I heard Vivaldi and it was amazing music in a breathtaking setting of stained glass masterpieces.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvBerkshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your very nice review . We are happy to hear you liked the quality of our hotel both for accommodatiopn and the staff .

Our location is definitely enjoyable as well, as you can get easy access to transportation or cultural events .

We do hope to see you again in our hotel and in our busy and lively area.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were hotel guests on July 25, 26th- two quick days in Paris prior to a flight to Venice for a cruise of the Greek Islands. I cannot say enough about the location- We walked everywhere, even though the hotel is very close to the Metro.
My husband and I had our two teenaged daughters with us and there was plenty of room in our quadruple room. Good air conditioning, good hair dryer (important with girls!) The A/C really mattered, as it was 33-35 degrees C both days.
Lovely continental breakfast with the best croissants I have ever had! Latin Quarter night life was neat to experience. As others have mentioned, you could hear people enjoying themselves in the streets until quite late, but we were so tired, we didn't care- didn't keep us awake.
Our room was ready by noon (this is a big plus- often happens in smaller hotels). We arrived from a night flight from Toronto at 9:30 am- our luggage was stored, and we were in our room 1 hour after checkout time!
I cannot say enough about the gentleman working the front desk the morning of our departure (July 27). It was 6 am, He had breakfast items ready for us, even though it was early. There was a torrential rainstorm as we were attempting to load our transportation to the airport. He held an umbrella for each of us as we left the hotel to go to the cab, and I could see that in the process he completely soaked his own clothing. Now that is going above and beyond! Wish I could have got his name- he deserves credit for customer service like I have never had before. We will DEFINITELY return to this hotel in the future!!
Also, we are avid NON SMOKERS, and I did not detect even a hint of smoke in the air during our two days in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, even our busy and lively area .

But above all, we appreciate you mention about the smell of smoke you did not find in the hotel .

As sometimes , some guests complain about it , even though we are making every effort to remove the smell of smoke in the rooms previously occupied by smokers .

At last, and not the least, we are dedicated to help and satisfy all our guests and ready to go beyond their expectations. Please note the receptionist's name on that day is Sylvain , we will let him know about it .

We will be happy to see you again in Paris as soon as you can .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel du Levant at the end of our trip to France. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an early flight to catch and they were good enough to put breakfast out early and order cabs for us.

Our room was quite comfortable except for the 2 twin beds that kept drifting apart at night.

The hotel is based on a busy street with a ton of restaurants nearby. These are not the high end type restaurants, but more those geared to tourists and a quick turnover.

Be aware that cabs don't know the hotel very well

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for this nice review.
We hope to meet you some other time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location. In walking distance from RER stop from airport and a few blocks from Notre Dame. Staff was very helpful and even opened the breakfast room early for us before an excursion. We stayed for 11 nights and it became more and more like home every day. Good restaurants nearby too. The sitting area and library in the hotel lobby is relaxing with interesting books about the hotel's history as well as Paris and France. We had a superior room which was enough space for 2 people and it faced the courtyard which was quiet at night. Wi-fi was excellent also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely praises about our hotel .

We are really dedicated to help our guest even though we have to go beyond their expectations.

No matter how many nights they stay.

We will be happy to see you again in Paris some other time as soon as you can .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

3 years ago we stayed as couple in hotel and had a good stay. This time we returned with our two daughters. The rooms have been improved the bathrooms are wonderful and considering your in paris the size of the room was great. Everything was clean and service from booking in too cleaning and breakfast could not be faulted. The breakfast is everything you need and pleanty of it, the staff will get you more if they run out and are very pleasant. Everybody was very helpful. Tom on reception is very helpful, The other reception staff were also very good.
I can not fault this hotel it's location is great to get to all tourist sites, shops and number of food places around it help. Having the RER on the doorstep helps to get to CDG airport.
Considering its in a busy part of paris we had a front room to street and the noise was no real problem and we are not use to noise as we live very quite place.
Overall I would not stay anywhere else it has to many good points. We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stirlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about the Hotel du Levant.

We are happy you were able to get a new experience of the Hotel du Levant with your family after your first stay as a couple three years ago.

As you underlined it, we regularly renovate our rooms as the Hotel du Levant is moving with its time. It keeps its authenticity but with the comfort of the modernity. Rooms facing the street can be sometimes noisy. A good tip I can give to you if you ask for a street view is to ask for a high floor.

The location of the Hotel du Levant is really appreciated as it is in the middle of Paris. All train stations and airports are in direct access from the Hotel du Levant.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the care of our staff.

We hope to welcome you another time at the Hotel du Levant.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is our first time to be in Paris although it is not the first time we travel. And in fairness to Hotel du Levant, it is a total pleasure to experience the warm hospitality it rendered to us. It is just like Paris, it got charm, warmth, beauty and history.
When travelling, we usually choose homely hotels that will suite our needs. And after doing some researches, reading and reviewing all details I would say Hotel du Levant exceeded our expectation. Even though it is in the lively district of the Latin Quarter it is a total haven after a long day stroll.
Best of all is the service; the staffs were very accommodating, friendly and courteous. The breakfast was absolute satisfaction; boiling your own egg is quite exciting. . Our room was kept absolutely clean and although I would admit it is a bit small but it is comfy and very functional to our needs. Wi-fi is just great and free. Maybe it is the reason why they have survived many generations - they were able to maintain the old Parisian style in our modern time. And what is more advantageous with this hotel is the location; food, transportation, shops and grocery all just steps away. Much more I love is simply strolling around the area for wherever you are heading; north, south, and east, west are the sites that might interest you. All of these you can get in a very reasonable price.
So, I am highly recommending Hotel du Levant for those who want to really feel Paris! To Hotel du Levant, thank you for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your comment that described very well the Hotel du Levant.

Indeed, we are proud to offer to our clients a place where they can feel like at home. The Hotel du Levant is mixing history, nostalgia and modernity. The location of the Hotel du Levant is unbeatable as it is close to everything, in the heart of the Latin Quarter.

The Hotel du Levant is managed by the fourth generation of the same family so you can feel there is a lot of character inside. The decoration is very elaborated.

We are very glad the Hotel du Levant overcame your expectations and we hope to welcome you another time.

Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#187 of 1,804 in Paris
1,272 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,804 in Paris
890 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#753 of 1,804 in Paris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#258 of 1,804 in Paris
937 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#322 of 1,804 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Paris
#291 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $220 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing