We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel du Levant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Levant
Ranked #193 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location. In walking distance from RER stop from airport and a few blocks from Notre Dame. Staff was very helpful and even opened the breakfast room early for us before an excursion. We stayed for 11 nights and it became more and more like home every day. Good restaurants nearby too. The sitting area and library in the hotel lobby is relaxing with interesting books about the hotel's history as well as Paris and France. We had a superior room which was enough space for 2 people and it faced the courtyard which was quiet at night. Wi-fi was excellent also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely praises about our hotel .

We are really dedicated to help our guest even though we have to go beyond their expectations.

No matter how many nights they stay.

We will be happy to see you again in Paris some other time as soon as you can .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Levant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

3 years ago we stayed as couple in hotel and had a good stay. This time we returned with our two daughters. The rooms have been improved the bathrooms are wonderful and considering your in paris the size of the room was great. Everything was clean and service from booking in too cleaning and breakfast could not be faulted. The breakfast is everything you need and pleanty of it, the staff will get you more if they run out and are very pleasant. Everybody was very helpful. Tom on reception is very helpful, The other reception staff were also very good.
I can not fault this hotel it's location is great to get to all tourist sites, shops and number of food places around it help. Having the RER on the doorstep helps to get to CDG airport.
Considering its in a busy part of paris we had a front room to street and the noise was no real problem and we are not use to noise as we live very quite place.
Overall I would not stay anywhere else it has to many good points. We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stirlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about the Hotel du Levant.

We are happy you were able to get a new experience of the Hotel du Levant with your family after your first stay as a couple three years ago.

As you underlined it, we regularly renovate our rooms as the Hotel du Levant is moving with its time. It keeps its authenticity but with the comfort of the modernity. Rooms facing the street can be sometimes noisy. A good tip I can give to you if you ask for a street view is to ask for a high floor.

The location of the Hotel du Levant is really appreciated as it is in the middle of Paris. All train stations and airports are in direct access from the Hotel du Levant.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the care of our staff.

We hope to welcome you another time at the Hotel du Levant.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is our first time to be in Paris although it is not the first time we travel. And in fairness to Hotel du Levant, it is a total pleasure to experience the warm hospitality it rendered to us. It is just like Paris, it got charm, warmth, beauty and history.
When travelling, we usually choose homely hotels that will suite our needs. And after doing some researches, reading and reviewing all details I would say Hotel du Levant exceeded our expectation. Even though it is in the lively district of the Latin Quarter it is a total haven after a long day stroll.
Best of all is the service; the staffs were very accommodating, friendly and courteous. The breakfast was absolute satisfaction; boiling your own egg is quite exciting. . Our room was kept absolutely clean and although I would admit it is a bit small but it is comfy and very functional to our needs. Wi-fi is just great and free. Maybe it is the reason why they have survived many generations - they were able to maintain the old Parisian style in our modern time. And what is more advantageous with this hotel is the location; food, transportation, shops and grocery all just steps away. Much more I love is simply strolling around the area for wherever you are heading; north, south, and east, west are the sites that might interest you. All of these you can get in a very reasonable price.
So, I am highly recommending Hotel du Levant for those who want to really feel Paris! To Hotel du Levant, thank you for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your comment that described very well the Hotel du Levant.

Indeed, we are proud to offer to our clients a place where they can feel like at home. The Hotel du Levant is mixing history, nostalgia and modernity. The location of the Hotel du Levant is unbeatable as it is close to everything, in the heart of the Latin Quarter.

The Hotel du Levant is managed by the fourth generation of the same family so you can feel there is a lot of character inside. The decoration is very elaborated.

We are very glad the Hotel du Levant overcame your expectations and we hope to welcome you another time.

Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I made a reservation at this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend of a friend. Admittedly, I did not see on their website that they do not have non smoking rooms. When I walked into the room, it was like falling head first into an ash tray. I requested another room but as they were full they did not have another room to give me. I requested a refund and they refused. I ended up walking out, losing the cost of the room and spent the night at a friend's house instead. I am grateful I had a friend in Paris who could accommodate me on short notice. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you enjoy the overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
6  Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Madam,

I am sorry about the bad experience you had at our hotel.

Regarding the problem of smell of cigarette smoke you encountered, what I can tell you is that there is no mention about non-smoking rooms at all on our website. The policy of the hotel allows people to smoke in the room if they would like. There is no smoking or non-smoking rooms at the Hotel du Levant. During your booking, we were clear about the fact that there are no smoking or non-smoking room at the Hotel so you were aware about it.

During the cleaning of the room, housekeeper uses spray to make the smell of cigarette smoke disappeared if needed and ventilate the room. We are sorry even though our precautions you smell it. The Hotel du Levant is usually rewarded for the cleanliness of its rooms. Maybe you are over-sensitive.

During your stay, the Hotel was fully booked, consequently it was impossible for us to offer you another room otherwise we would have done it for sure.

Indeed, it is true you asked a refund. We refused because you have used the room for an hour before coming to the reception to tell the problem. If the problem of odor was at that point difficult to handle it would have been better not using the room and tell directly the reception. You can understand that by using the room, we have offered you a service and that it is natural to pay for it. Despite our 48 hours cancellation policy, we would have given you a refund if you would not have used the room.

We hope you understand our point of view and really fell that your comment (which is your first comment on Tripadvisor) is a little abusive as you were aware about our smoking policy and by the fact you used the room. It is really a bad mark we do not deserve. All our previous good comments can be a testimony of the quality of the Hotel du Levant.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was a single woman spending 2 nights in Paris. This accommodation was perfect for me. The hotel is excellent in its location. On the edge of the Latin Quarter where there are plentiful restaurants and right next to St Germain where the shopping is incredible. The River Seine, Notre Dame cathedral, Isle de Cite and the metro are very close, as are many of the sights of Paris. The hotel has a wonderful and caring staff. Breakfast was lovely. My room, although a bit small (but this is Paris), was immaculate, charming and extremely comfortable. It also was very quiet. I also loved that the sitting room or lobby downstairs was very cozy. I will definitely return and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not over look the street. At night, especially during the summer, it may b...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay , and particularly our area.

Some of our rooms are small rooms but they are clean and functional.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as soon as possible .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is a great place for the price (for a single traveler desiring a single room). The room I had was small, but very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The en suite bath was more than sufficient and the wet-bar/fridge in the room also accommodated my purchases (not just the overpriced snacks and drinks the hotel supplied). The staff was quite good and I had ample free wifi. The breakfast included in the room price (80 Euros) was better than I've had in any other hotels in this price range. Altogether a very pleasant stay and very highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We appreciate you enjoyed your breakfast as some people think our breakfast buffet has a poor variety of items .

Anyway, we will be happy to see you agin some other time as soon as you can .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel du Levant is a gem. There are several reasons for this.
The hotel is a B and B, which serves a satisfying and delicious breakfast. The staff are gracious and helpful and the hotel is spotless.
It is reasonably priced and value for money. We were there for 6 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
We had a room on the 5 th floor overlooking the charming street. Fortunately the hotel has an elevator ! The street is lively in the evening which might not suit all. We found it delightfully viby and left our window open so that we could hear the laughter outside.
The situation of the hotel is ideal as it is in the heart of the Latin Quarter. It is a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame Cathedral and an even shorter walk to the metro St.Michel and bus stops.
It was my friend's second visit to Hotel du Levant and , given the opportunity, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If one is sensitive to noise ( it is happy, buzzing noise - no hooting or cars ) then ask for a room...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldulevant, Propriétaire at Hotel du Levant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for all your praises about our hotel and the staff.

We hardly ever hear nice comments about the bustling atmosphere of the city as well .

Most people tend to prefer peace and quiet even in the centre of Paris.

Your review headline says ' I hope to return' , and we do hope you will , we will be very happy about it .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#188 of 1,804 in Paris
1,232 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#238 of 1,804 in Paris
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#245 of 1,804 in Paris
909 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#751 of 1,804 in Paris
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Levant

Address: 18 rue de la Harpe, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Paris
#139 Family Hotel in Paris
#292 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $216 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Levant in Paris... The finer things in life! Step into the atmosphere of Hotel du Levant, Rue de la Harpe on the Left Bank, and open the colourful pages of the history of Paris! In the heart of Paris' lively, picturesque 5th arrondissement of Paris, the hotel is a blend of charm, authenticity, nostalgia and modernity. Elegance, thoughtfulness, comfort and style, the motto of our guest establishment ever at our service with its cosy rooms "a la Parisienne" is the best way for your walking discovery tours of the most beautiful jewels of the Capital: Notre-Dame and Ile de la Cite, the banks of the Seine and its bookstalls, Boulevards Saint Germain and Saint-Michel, the Conciergerie, Sainte-Chapelle and so much more. Ideally located on the Left Bank, our 3-star hotel is a haven of peace in the hubbub of Parisian life.We do have a 3 guests bedroom available especially designed with handicap amenities. Because the Hotel du Levant is an old haussmanian construction, regular wheelchairs do not fit in. This is why we provide to our handicap guests a specific wheelchair, which fits in our elevator, to circulate in our hotel. We also provide storage of your personal wheelchair during your stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Levant Hotel
Du Levant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing