We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great hospitality”

La Petite Rose des Sables
Ranked #38 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Description: Welcome to "la petite rose des sables", the warmest and most welcoming restaurant in Paris :) This family restaurant is very small (you can fit 6-10 people) and does not take reservations (especially through Hotels). The best way to eat there is to drop by and see if it's open / if there is space. Indeed, lots of friends come often so it can happen that there's birthdays, special reservations, etc. Due to popularity and for all the reasons above, Zouzou and Christian would like to host everyone but it is sometime impossible, try to be comprehensive and act with gentle manners. Moreover, we're very sorry for the people that were disappointed recently, Zouzou got her collarbone broken so the restaurant might be close from time to time with notice on the front door. Enjoy your stay in Paris Kind Regards - The little pink sands fan club
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value, great hospitality”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is an experience not for the shy but if your hungry tired and want good food, to be treated by two fantastic hosts then this place is worth checking out.
Sangria with cold meats and bread
Pistachio nuts and savouries all before even ordering.
I have beef main and my wife had the chicken both served with saute potatoes and salad. The meat was deliciously tender. A hearty meal. All washed down with a 1/2 bottle of bordeaux.
Next a cheese board was left at our table for us to sample as much cheese as we liked.
Then a rose consisting of chocolate petals with marzipan leaf and stem landed to our table closely followed by shots of rum soaked in raisins.
With no room for desert I ordered an expresso which came with two pastry nibbles on the side and finally a shot of local cognac finished the meal.
All we ordered was two mains, a 1/2 bottle of wine and a coffee and the whole meal only came to 38 euro. Along with all the free stuff that they give you, it is worth every penny and more. We left a good tip which they didn't want to accept, but ended up with us being given even more free gifts and big hugs on our departure.
Forget about all the free trinkets, this place deserves a visit for the hospitality alone. I'd advise going for lunch during the day as it is a real tonic to the bustle of site seeing and sets you up lovely for more site seeing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    79
    9
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“TRUE Parisienne experience - Great Food & Service... You gain a friend!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Incredibly hospitable... A definite TREASURE & MUST for anyone wanting to experience true French flavors & warm home hospitality at half the cost of touristy St. Michel area. The free range chicken & beef bougignon are well marinated with rich flavors through every shred of meat. It is worth a short metro ride to Republique and 5-minute walk. Madame Zouzou welcomed us with complimentary meat appetizer plate, kir-Chardonnay sangria aperitif, hot tea with warmed milk...before our meal even came out! the meats were tender and flavorful. We enjoyed our conversation with her and met the Chef Christian. Madame even brought out some cheeses and home made liqeuer to share with us. We even received more welcome gifts of Paris, and left fully satisfied beyond expectations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank stuntgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OOLaLa!.....What an Experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Absolutely amazing experience from the moment we walked in the door. We called on the off chance at 7pm and happened to get a table and met Madame Zouzou and her partner Christian,(Terrific couple) and even met Cyril her nephew who was dining that evening with friends. The food is not amazing but it is good French home cooked rustic style that is really pleasing to the palate. Its like going to your Grans for your tea when she makes all your favourite dishes. But as previous visitors have stated its not just the food you go for. I'll not spoil the experience for you by giving away the entire nights events. But to wet your appetite.....
You are warmly greeted with drinks and a starter followed by your choice of main. The wines are wide and varied in choice and my St Emillion was excellent. The cheese boards amazing and the desert to follow superb. Armagnac was free flowing and the bill had zero's missing off it not added on. You're made to feel like family and you don't stop smiling from entry to exit. We had a great time and will definitely visit again. What an incredible find. Even met a local lady (from Australia who has settled here and its her favourite) who translated the low down on the place which was all amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank moonmonkeycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It pays to call ahead”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

After a day of museums we decided to try La petite Rose. We called ahead, but we reached someone who spoke no English. With our limited command puff French it sounded like they were going to pass us on to someone else but then the line went dead. Regardless we decided to try our luck. When we arrived at 1920, before the doors opened, our hearts sank. There was already a line to get in. Peaking in the windows there were only ten tables. But when Madame Zhou Zou answered the door she pointed to us and asked (in French) if we were the ones who called? We got in; the line did not! In fact, the door was locked behind us, only to be opened at the hour other reservations arrived. We felt so lucky!

Eating here is like being invited to your favorite grandmothers. There are hugs and kisses, urgings to try this and eat that. Soon you are making friends with the surrounding tables. And just when you think you can't eat another bite additional treats and home made after dinner drinks appear. It was an unforgettable welcome.

Helpful?
14 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On a business trip in Paris and this was the perfect way to end this week.

Zouzou and Christian are warm, kind hearted people who enjoy what they do. I honestly felt like I was at an aunts place, very intimate and cozy.

My meal was perfect: I had the " canard cocotte" with a nice French Bordeaux.
I can't wait to go back.

Littl tip: call ahead to make a reservation or go on a "slow" night ie Monday or Tuesday

:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Jane155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Rose des Sables also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Petite Rose des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing