We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinnacle of hospitality”

La Petite Rose des Sables
Ranked #38 of 17,413 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Description: Welcome to "la petite rose des sables", the warmest and most welcoming restaurant in Paris :) This family restaurant is very small (you can fit 6-10 people) and does not take reservations (especially through Hotels). The best way to eat there is to drop by and see if it's open / if there is space. Indeed, lots of friends come often so it can happen that there's birthdays, special reservations, etc. Due to popularity and for all the reasons above, Zouzou and Christian would like to host everyone but it is sometime impossible, try to be comprehensive and act with gentle manners. Moreover, we're very sorry for the people that were disappointed recently, Zouzou got her collarbone broken so the restaurant might be close from time to time with notice on the front door. Enjoy your stay in Paris Kind Regards - The little pink sands fan club
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Pinnacle of hospitality”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Mdm Zouzou, the lady boss, is such a character and her hospitality knows no bounds. I am usually not used to such hospitality but here, she did her best to make you feel at home. Being tourists, there was a language barrier but hospitality and kindness knows no such barriers! The restaurant is small and very homely. Mdm Zouzou kindly offered to take many group photos for us.

The servings are HUGE and value for money. Mdm Zouzou also kindly served us various treats for free, like a welcome dish and drink, and some homemade plum liquor at the end of the meal.

The restaurant is usually open only to reservations. Location-wise, it definitely isn't in the heart of the city, more in the suburb areas, but with a map you should be able to find it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    81
    10
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
forked river
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Unbelievable (Really!) EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First of all, this is an Experience; the food is an important, but small part of the story.

Look. The ratings on Tripadvisor put this in the top 7 of 8000 restaurants... in Paris! That is rarefied and expensive territory, yet The Little Rose stands out.

Please be forewarned: the appearance of this storefront on a somewhat grungy side street of Blvd St Martin could dissuade. Even as you enter; Whoa, this 7 out of 8000 restaurant is not George V ! It's a mom and pop restaurant with red checkered table cloths and seating for 10...total! Not 10 per table.
Mom is Zouzou and Pop is Christian, the Belgian chef and proud to be from a long line of Pompiers. (Firefighters. they revere the heroes of our 911 events) They greet you as family they have eagerly awaited.

The menu is brief, but in addition to whatever we ordered, (it almost doesn't matter,) there was so much more. We were served a delicious small plate of smoked meats, accompanied by a glass of sangria, a selection of cacahuetes (peanuts) and pistachios. Dinner was with the best home made twice cooked potato wedges. Then snifters of another alcohol and a cheese board, then tiny marsupain Eifle towers and small flaked chocalate cookies, with a small after-dinner drink.

Gifts!

Zouzou gave us a watchcap and a Paris souvenir scarf as we exchanged stories of our kids and travels and the various people they have met in their restaurant, the poets and writers, and showed us the books they sent her. Of course, the couple at the next table were as much part of this as we were.
Another reviewer said it well: Joie de Vivre!!
We came out of La Petite Rose des Sables with hugs and kisses and wondering:

Did This Really Happen?!?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank d n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Fun and Go Hungry”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had lunch there today and we had a delightful time. We knew the restaurant was usually booked for an early lunch, so we went about 1PM and were able to be seated right away (the restaurant only has about 5 tables!). We were immediately served an aperitif and a small OJ for me (I don't drink alcohol). This was followed by a plate of meat cuts that were "a gift of the kitchen". We opted for the plate du jour which was beef bourguignon with potatoes and a salad. While we waited for the plat, my wife got another glass of Kir on the house. The beef was tender and delicious with a HUGE portion of potatoes. We were so full we passed on dessert, but still got La Petite Rose des Sables (three small delicious cookies) with our coffee. All this for less than 30euros for both of us. It wasn't the best meal we have ever had in Paris but it certainly one of the most delightful. Madam Zouzou really makes you feel welcome and we are definitely going back. They don't answer the telephone sometimes and since we were staying near the restaurant we walked to it and made a reservation (we also got a small plate of meat and a Kir for just making the reservation!!). I don't think you can find a better meal and a better price in all of Paris.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
17 Thank ParisDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home made food straight from the heart”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Our five weeks trip around eight European countries is getting to an end. In two days time we will be on the plane to Sydney and Canberra. We decided to have a real Parisian food experience away from the usual tourist corridors. Voila Le Petit Rose Des Sables! As its name suggests, the restaurant is tiny but we felt that we had been welcomed into friend's cozy home for a home made meal prepared with warmth and generosity and at a modest price. We immensely enjoyed the whole atmosphere, special touches such as the welcoming sangria, a meal of plat de jour , cheese, deserts, with a 'digestive' spirit to finish, and a lot of laughter and photos. Well done Madame Zouzou and Monsieur Christian ! We recommend you to all Trip Adviser followers who want to have an authentic and unforgettable Parisian experience. Hitches from AUS

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
19 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Paris”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went here for our last dinner on our three week European Tour and it was perfect. The owners were the nicest people you could hope to meet and the hospitality was amazing. The food was excellent too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank shanekluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Rose des Sables also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Petite Rose des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing