We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bastille Speria
Ranked #677 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We found this hotel after a very disappointing stay at a nearby apartment booked through Airbnb. We were under the impression that in this location (Le Marais), there were no decent hotels under $220/night so we had decided that for the same price we would book a great looking apartment through Airbnb...Big mistake! Airbnb had misleading pictures on their website and the place ended up being so disgusting that we couldn't stay there one more night (by the way, we never got a full refund from Airbnb for the nights we didn't stay at the disgusting apartment). So we walked around Le Marais in search of a hotel within our price range that we could wheel our luggage to from the disgusting Airbnb apartment. We looked at 4 different places and this one was the best. It was clean, great windows and views, friendly staff, good elevator (for this area!), comfortable bed and decent size room and bathroom. The staff booked a shuttle for us for our ride to the airport, made us coffee even when the kitchen was closed, and showed us a few rooms to pick from. The location is the best. I don't really have any complaints about this hotel; the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because although it's a good value for the location, it's basically a 3 star hotel that matches it's 3 star rating and anywhere else I wouldn't pay more than half the price that it cost for a room in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hydrokarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bastille Speria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 402 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel was in a great location and was easy to travel to all attractions, as the hotel was a block away from the Metro station. It was quiet and comfortable enough. There were so many cafes within walking distance, which was nice, since you don't need a huge buffet breakfast in Paris. The pastries and cappuccinos across the street were a delight. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They recommended a few restaurants within walking distance and answered other questions we had about getting around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent hotel and location. Stayed for 7 days. Had a good size queen bedded room on 3rd floor. Large bathroom and separate w.c. room. Quiet location just two short blocks from Place Bastille. Short walk into the Marais. Friendly, helpful English speaking front desk staff. Small elevator...but hey, its an elevator! Adequate breakfast with juice, fruit, cheese, hardboiled eggs, dry cereal, etc. Out the hotel door, turn left and walk straight east across the north side of Place Bastille, then one more block to Rue de la Roquette lined with a variety of restaurants including Moroccan, Lao, Korean, Vietnamese and even a Colombian one on Rue Thiere two blocks up and around the corner! Across from the hotel is Le Petit Bofinger, a family friendly white table cloth restaurant with a very good 29.90 Euro menu, 3 courses and includes wine!

Room Tip: Selected a queen bedded room based on website photos. Adequate size and comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPCV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times - all good. This time we booked a 'superior' room. It was good but not much bigger than the 'standard' rooms we have had in the past, so I am not sure worth the extra money. We were not troubled by noise from adjacent rooms but street cleaning and rubbish collection happens outside from very early in the morning, so expect to be woken by it. The rooms on the upper floor are less noisy, I recall. The wifi was excellent and contrary to another review it is not necessary to get a new password every day. Breakfast is OK, but not outstanding. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the room was always cleaned properly. There are two excellent restaurants within 5 mins walk - Gorilla Blanc and Gaspard De La Nuit.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floors
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclarke1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

For a short Paris break I wanted a central hotel next to great restaurants. Almost next door to Bofinger and Gaspard de la Nuit (old favourites), Bastille Speria was eminently suitable and with so many cafés around offering breakfast for around 7 euros the prospect of having to pay double that for the hotel breakfast was not an issue. Service was welcoming and helpful but, rather like those pictures of old Paris, or indeed any old city centre, there is very little space. The bed filled most of the room: the bathroom seemed spacious by comparison. Paper thin walls allowed neighbour conversations to be intelligible; the A/C had a fixed lower limit of 17C so our 2 October nights in such a confined space were short on sleep as the only way to cool the room was to open the large windows. Bastille, close by, is a major traffic intersection; there is also a fire station in the vicinity; rubbish collections from the dozens of nearby restaurants and cafés start early. Ear plugs were no barrier. If we were staying more than 2 nights I would have moved. However, the benefits of this tidy and reasonably priced, privately run hotel were sufficient to keep us smiling on our break in one of the best areas of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Insist on removing the limits to temperature control.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The good: Incredible neighborhood.
The bad: THIN THIN walls (we wore earplugs and took sleeping pills every night)
A front desk that cannot space guests out when they are not sold out (why put them next to us when we are there 5 days and you are not sold out?)
A front desk that does not follow directions and call a restaurant you want (thinking it was too hard to get into)
No complementary breakfast (contrary to multiple travel sites)
Did not empty trash bins for several days (we put one up on the desk to be clear they needed attention)
Hallways smell like smoke...even after I complained (and the desk clerk said she could do nothing as she was all alone... nothing was done all week)
Horrible internet connections... and who ever heard of going to the front desk every day for a new password..... OLD WORLD

Better places in the Marais

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for a few days of sightseeing in Paris. The location was perfect, within walking distance of many sights plus lots of options for shops & food. Metro station was right around the corner, between walking and the metro sightseeing was fun and easy.
The hotel was clean and friendly and met all our needs. We chose this hotel because I had stayed there once before a year ago for business, liked it then,liked it agan,

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, throw open the windows and experience Paris below,
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Castex Hotel
Castex Hotel
#642 of 1,804 in Paris
670 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#347 of 1,804 in Paris
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#386 of 1,804 in Paris
488 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,563 of 1,804 in Paris
170 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#962 of 1,804 in Paris
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastille Speria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastille Speria

Address: 1 rue de la Bastille | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#340 Business Hotel in Paris
#618 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $123 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bastille Speria 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bastille Speria is situated between the Place de la Bastille and the Place des Vosges, in the heart of Paris, the ideal location for a business or leisure trip. It is close to several public transport lines making it exceptionally easy to travel around Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastille Speria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille Speria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing