We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be better”
Review of Volney Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Volney Opera Hotel
Ranked #543 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The staff is usually very helpful and welcoming, but it also depends on who you get. This hotel has a lot of potential especially in updating basic things like the old key system that is a nuisance. The furniture can use a serious update. The tiny single elevator can often test your patience. Few single rooms are too tiny, but most rooms are spacious by Paris standards (I stayed in 3 different types)
Overall this is a fine 3-star hotel that during peak times may be a bargain. With reasonable expectations, it delivers. The location and access to so many attractions make it a good choice

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtreker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Volney Opera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 338 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had a cosy, clean room with two sweet windows, nicely decorated. Very small bathroom but it had everything it needed. I can't remember having heard any other noise from outside my room, at all.

Staff is truly friendly although they "couldn't" find me an extra blanket.
Location is ideal because of connection to three metro lines. Still, all in all, the price is expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walko_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Right next to the Opera and the concord.
In nice street. Very nice hotel with great clean room. The stuf is very friendly and helpfull.
Very good return of investment.
Im sure will be back again to stay here.

Thank Greshef
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Volney can offer you a nice place to stay and to travel around Paris in their beautiful places. It's located at 2 minutes walking distance of a subway station.

The hotel was in construction and should try to give something in exchange to customers due to the bad look and noise of the entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JavierKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We recommend this hotel as it is nicely situated from galleries Lafayette, and the iconic Chanel boutique at Rue camdon, strolling distance to louvre museum takes about 20mins. We were able to walk to almost of the places that we meant to visit. There is also a supermarket that is across the road that we can grab snacks, drinks. Room is clean, comfortable but small.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank joothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel Volney is located near Opera Garnier and all of the wonderful shopping in that area. If you are arriving at CDG, the Roissybus drops you off 2 short blocks away. The rooms are modest, and small by US standards. The bathroom was very nice. Our biggest problem/complaint is the lack of electrical outlets. There was only one we could find. The staff was helpful and friendly with the exception of the night man who, when we came in around 2 AM, thought he should chastise us for being out late. The lift is small, but functional. There is a room to store your luggage. There is a breakfast room, but we never tried it as we had work related duties.

I think it is a very good choice if you are being fiscally prudent, but still want to be where the action is. It had what a good hotel should have without the frills.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Were were working in the area over the valentines weekend so finding an affordable hotel wasn't easy in the location we wanted.....but we found this hotel & was very with the location & price.

Our room was very comfortable and heard no noise at all.

Many restaurants, bars and shops minutes away.

Would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DiverseTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#305 of 1,803 in Paris
437 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Daunou Opera
Hotel Daunou Opera
#451 of 1,803 in Paris
476 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Choiseul Opera
Hotel Choiseul Opera
#866 of 1,803 in Paris
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
Hotel Etats-Unis Opera
#601 of 1,803 in Paris
150 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#115 of 1,803 in Paris
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volney Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volney Opera Hotel

Address: 11 rue Volney, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#352 Business Hotel in Paris
#643 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $151 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Volney Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Volney Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Volney Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing