We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, in a quiet residential neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belambra City - Hotel Magendie
Ranked #795 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is not a fancy hotel but a comfortable place for rest and sleep in beautiful Paris. When in Paris, there is really no need to look for a fantastic hotel, just a clean and comfortable place to wind down at the end of the day and this hotel serves that. I spent most of the day + night out in the city only back late and am just happy to have a place to go to at the end of the day at an affordable price. I got a single room - it came with a super single size mattress - decent as I am petite Asian. The size of the room was decent too with a small bathroom again appropriate by my standards.It is a cosy little hotel and serves pretty good breakfast I thought - a plus is breakfast is included into the room prices. Breakfast includes: cold cuts, cereals, juice, great coffee, scramble eggs, yougurt, fruits, bread...not too bad for a budget hotel! Subway is about 7 mintues walk away...remember a map when you first try to find the hotel. Having said that - I didn't have a map when I reached there early in the morning but still manage to find the hotel :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemence_de_Belambra, Responsable relations clients at Belambra City - Hotel Magendie, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read you. We will be delighted to greet you anew at Belambra. See you soon !

Sincerely
Clémence de Belambra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Belambra City - Hotel Magendie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 467 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not far away from centre Paris. Walking distance from Montparnasse, Jardin du Luxembourg & Quartier Latin. Not in a main & noisy street. Can be hard to find without a map or GPS. Not new but modern & clean look. Not a large room but perfect for low-cost single traveller.
Reasonable breakfast that was included in the 80€ price for a single (Very good price in this expensive city)
Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo-M-F-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel for a five night business stay. The hotel is conveniently placed for public transport so is a good base. Reception staff are helpful but the hotel is basic and in need of a refurb. Carpets are worn and in places look a bit mangy. The rooms are ok, small and fairly basic with little storage but as I spent little time in the hotel it was ok. Continental breakfast was served each morning but there were no other meal options available. There were plenty of restaurants close by. There is no bar or tea and coffee facilities in the hotel which is a real pity and would make all the difference.
In conclusion the hotel was ok for what I paid and was a good base for my trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

stayed sept 2012 closest metro is corvisart 5 mins walk very easy to access to sights nice area restaurants.supermarkets excellent breakfast, rooms small but very clean, receptionists very friendly and speak good english excellent value for money would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was hovering between average and very good..I would classify this hotel as good. The rooms are small but as I booked as a single this wasn't really a problem. I originally booked 2 nights 6 months ahead at 80 euro a night then another night a week before arriving for 55 euro. I was surprised at the difference but on arriving and querying the receptionist was told this is due to fluctuating demand. This is fair enough especially when it was pointed out that the 'normal' rate was 118 euros a night for a single! I had a discussion whilst checking in and was told I could have one of the renovated rooms.This looked much nicer than some of the traveller photos on tripadvisor so it might be worth requesting one. I was annoyed with the automatic door closure which was very loud and sounds like someone slamming the door but is in fact the door closing too vigorously behind you.
The breakfast is now included and is good given that you can make up a ham and cheese roll for lunch. I found the cutlery consistently poorly washed.
Location is good but it can be tricky finding it as the street is very small and not listed on many of the maps.I found the best metro stop to be Les Gobelens.You can also reach the airport by walking the 10 minutes to Denfort Rocher (spelling?) and catching line B and changing at Gare du Nord.
I would stay there again by which time I assume they will have renovated all the rooms.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank omar504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel Magendie is run by Belambra Clubs (formerly known as VVF). The location is very good with the metro stops (Gobelins, Corvisart, Glaciere and Place d'Italie) not being too far away. It is located in the 13th district/arrondisement and is not too far away from the Quartier Latin. Nice spots in the vicinity are Rue Mouffetard and the Butte aux Cailles. There are also a couple of restaurants on Boulevard Arago and Gobelins.

The hotel is in a quiet location. The single room was rather small but okay. However, there was no table/chair and the flat screen TV had only French channels (no BBC, CNN, etc.), which is not very welcoming for foreign visitors.

The hotel staff was friendly and breakfast was rather good for French standards. It was also nice that the hotel had a terrace in the yard, which was a nice place to breakfast and to sit in the evening. WiFi use in the hotel was also for free.

Considering everything, including price, it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerNLTilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

You can find better 2 star hotels in Paris. A friend booked this hotel at the last minute for me b/c most hotels were full. Room/bathroom small (standard for Paris). Hotel staff not friendly or helpful (they do not smile or greet you, and barely speak). Several times I stood waiting for my key while the clerk was reading the newspaper.
Phone in room not working and little assistance offered. Linens/towels clean but room in need of remodel--worn carpet, scuff marks all over walls.
B'fast buffet mediocre. Hotel several blocks from Metro. For
85 €/day, there are nicer hotels.

1  Thank MHL130
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Gobelins
Kyriad Paris 13 - Italie Gobelins
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Ibis Paris Avenue d'Italie 13eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#809 of 1,804 in Paris
131 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Coypel
Hotel Coypel
#722 of 1,804 in Paris
502 reviews
Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
Grand Hotel des Gobelins
#666 of 1,804 in Paris
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belambra City - Hotel Magendie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belambra City - Hotel Magendie

Address: 2/4 rue Magendie, 75013 Paris, France (Formerly Touring Hotel Magendie)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $86 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belambra City - Hotel Magendie 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your accommodation in the Hôtel Magendie is ideally situated to discover Paris. In a quiet district close to the picturesque Butte aux Cailles, you are only a stone's throw from the Latin Quarter, the heart of student life, and from Montparnasse, the traditional painters' district. Leave your car in the car park and make the most of the bus, metro and RER, with stations close to the hotel, to explore the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belambra City - Hotel Magendie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belambra Clubs - Magendie Hotel Paris
Belambra Vvf Hotel Magendie
Belambra Vvf Paris
Touring Hotel Magendie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing