We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, good location, terrible room, delicious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chemin vert Paris
Ranked #1,037 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff were helpful and accomodating. Not all staff members spoke English. I loved it how they interacted with our 2 year old daughter.
The hotel location was appropriate for us. We just took the metro to explore the city.
The room wasn't nice, though it was relatively clean. Small room size in Europe is normal. But the dirty looking carpet, torn lampshades and dated decor didn't leave me with the desire to go back.
If you're traveling light without kids, might be a good place to stay.
They charge extra for breakfast, but it's well-worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankovations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have to say i was in a foul mood by the time we got to the hotel as our original hotel had problems with the bathroom facilities and had to close so we where made to go to another hotel (on turning up there, they had given our room away, so we ended up in Chemin Vert). The receptionist was plain rude - handed over room key and waved us in the direction of the lift without even making eye contact. The lift was SOOO small getting 2 in there with a small suitcase was a squeeze. The room was tiny (door to the bathroom hit the bed) and very basic - disposable plastic cups and the cup to drink tea was so flimsy my husband nearly burnt himself. The shower had a slope in it, i guess so you can sit down, however it is a deathtrap as it is a really small space and very slippery - I managed to fall over hitting my head and shoulder - luckily no blood, but still very sore even a few days on. Got woken up by people shouting in the courtyard below and had a rubbish nights sleep in general - all in all couldn't wait to get away.. however the hotel was only 80Euro, but still would rather pay more and get a better nights sleep

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you review a Parisian hotel, you should probably apply another measure to your evaluation. Taking into account the common price-value relation, one could easily come to the conclusion that this is the very city to avoid: either you pay through the nose, or you end up in a repulsive grey hole that must've been called "hotel" by someone with a sick sense of humour.
Now, having made this introductory remark, let's sum up what "Chemin Vert" has to offer. As for a Parisian(!) two stars hotel, this one is very decent. Yes, the room is small, the bathroom, as well, and its shower part simply ridiculous (unless you are anorectic, you cannot fit in there without leaning with your back against the wet shower curtain, even if you stand at attention!). The entrance doors keep slamming as anywhere else, the walls are relatively thin, too... - just "normal" hotel disincentives.
However, le Chemin Vert gives some added value, compared to another same category hotels: a small kettle with some instant coffee and tea awaits you there. The TV works and the bathroom isn't smelly - don't tell me that's nothing extraordinary; in cheap(er) Parisian hotels it is! The area the hotel is located in isn't dodgy, and it takes just 5 minutes walk to the nearest metro station. The proximity of a small supermarket, numerous restaurants and the famous Pere Lachaise cemetary (not as their alternative, just an attraction, itself!) might also be a sort of added value.
Therefore, I guess this hotel is worth staying in, even though it is not extraordinary in any way. Just very decent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I chose this hotel for our 2 nit stay in Paris for several reasons: location near Bastille area and Rue du Roquette which I read was a hotspot for nightlife, free wifi, and low price. Overall we were pleased with our stay. Location was not quite as good as I expected because I was deceived by the scale of Paris when I looked at the maps. I expected Bastille to be about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, it was actually a solid 20 minute walk. We ate breakfast both mornings, decent but nothing special. Breakfast was extra, but somehow they forgot to charge us! Elevator is very small even by Europe standards, 2 people max with luggage, maybe 3 without luggage. Room is average, a little old and dingy, bathroom is very small although shower was bigger than most other hotels we stayed in Europe. I was very pleased to have a top (5th) floor room with a small balcony, although I think most rooms do not have a balcony.

PROS:
Free wifi.
Location: away from touristy areas, relatively close to nightlife, 5 minute walk to Metro 2 line, 20 minute walk to Metro 8 line.
"Valeb" bike sharing rack at the corner of street. We found this to be a great, super easy, quick and cheap way to sightsee the whole city without going in and out of the subways all the time! Remember, Paris is HUGE! Check it out online.
Balcony if you are lucky enough to get one.
AC

CONS:
Small, old rooms with tiny bathroom
Location: not extremely close to anything significant, though there are some decent bars and cafes around
No free breakfast (unless you are lucky and they forget to charge!)

Room Tip: Ask for balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012. The room was so small but reasonably clean. The lift/elevator is very tiny. Only 1 medium-size person with a small luggage can fit in. There was a working air conditioner in the room. Although it says on the screen that it is centrally controlled, I was still able to adjust the temperature and settings. The hotel is situated in a generally quiet street so you can get a good night sleep even if you choose to open the window.

Only one female receptionist can speak good English. It was always a struggle to communicate with the male receptionist who doesn’t speak and understand a single English word. We didn’t get breakfast from the hotel (which costs about €8) as there are nearby bakeries which sells freshly-baked croissants for less than €1. Voltaire is the closest Metro station which is about 8-10 minutes walk. There’s also a nearby supermarket. The room has a small TV which only has 1 English channel, which is CNN. There’s free wi-fi. They also provide free luggage storage.

There’s nothing really fancy with this hotel. If you’re the type of traveller who’s out on the street the whole day, this hotel should be fine. And finally, the good thing was..... NO bed bugs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Time_Traveller_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

First of all it wasn't cheap! Cheap means you pay less you get more. Well here you pay more and get less. First of all they did have pillow cases to cover the pillows, they folded over the bottom sheet. The carpet was dirty and we got bitten so bad from bed bugs. They charged us for breakfast that we thought was included( our fault however they did not mention it until we left)
The room was tiny. They were so cheap they did'nt replace the biscuits on the tea and coffee tray. Oh I forget to mention they did'nt change the sheets once. THATS RIGHT NOT ONCE! That's right I forget to tell abou the milk that was off for breakfast.
There was no tissues, the only good thing that it was quiet. Well they can't help that can they. Stay somewhere else and pay a bit more.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We walked up to our room and found a strong smell of urine. It was gross. It went away after spending the night there, probably because we smelled like it. The shower we barely fit into. The toilet seat was broken. I guess we got out money's worth, barely. Not in a great location either, a good distance from any metro station. If you get for less than 70 euro a night this might be a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenJoan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#1,275 of 1,804 in Paris
41 reviews
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,561 of 1,804 in Paris
156 reviews
Ibis Paris Pere Lachaise
#893 of 1,804 in Paris
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel des Metallos
Hotel des Metallos
#1,068 of 1,804 in Paris
257 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
Grand Hotel Nouvel Opera
#1,614 of 1,804 in Paris
473 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Gardette Park Hotel
Gardette Park Hotel
#872 of 1,804 in Paris
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chemin vert Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chemin vert Paris

Address: 97 rue du chemin Vert, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,037 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $79 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Chemin vert Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chemin vert Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing