We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Paris Bastille
Ranked #653 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location with no frills”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel on our first ever trip to Paris. The hotel was two minutes from the nearest metro, (Bastille), which proved an excellent location from which to visit all the sights Paris has to offer. It was also within walking distance of Notre Dame (with a good pair of shoes). There were also plenty of places to eat nearby and a supermarket minutes away for supplies.

The hotel was clean and had all the basics. Our standard double room was very small, which made getting dressed a mission, as we danced around the bed which filled the room. One of the wardrobes had drawers which you couldn't open, as the bed-side table prevented it from opening fully, making them of no use at all. The air conditioning was of little benefit and the room was extremely hot at times. There was one small lift which served all the floors and took you down to breakfast. The continental breakfast was well stocked with something for everyone. However, the uncovered bread and pastries had small flies buzzing around, which was not great. The dining room was small and tables were tightly packed in. However, the man serving the breakfast could show the reception staff a thing or two. He was cheerful and interacted with guests, unlike the reception staff, who could barely crack a smile or pass the time of day. More of a robotic passing over of your room key. If you are not intending to spend a lot of time in your hotel and you are looking for a well positioned, basic and clean hotel, then this is it. We didn't get the option, but perhaps an upgrade to a suite or better room would be better. If you want a bit of luxury and be made to feel welcome and not just another body passing through, then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    211
    65
    13
    21
See reviews for
137
123
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here, the rooms are a little compact but provide all amenities ( tea and coffee, mini bar, Shampoo etc )
Breakfast is of continental variety and plenty available.
All the staff are very friendly and spoke english and did tolerate my attempts to speak french.
Overall a brilliant stay and would recommend the Hotel Paris Bastille to all my family and friends

Room Tip: If travelling with small children request a low floor as rooms have Juliet balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auldgit1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 teenage daughters and loved the two bathrooms in our Junior suite. What a difference it made! The set up of the room was excellent, with a double bed and a pull-out sofa. We had room to sit, then the setup to go to bed was very easy. I liked this much more than 2 double beds. The girls said the sofa-bed was very comfortable. The service was exceptional. A couple of times the wall sockets died, we did have quite a few electronics charging , and the front desk had it fixed in less than 5 minutes. FInally, my oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and in Paris it is hard to find vegetarian french food. The concierge, who spoke English, Italian, and Spanish, worked hard to find us a place calling several places before getting us a place at Chez Paul. It was a wonderful local restaurant, and a stay in Paris we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford- England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2013 & had a really pleasant stay. We stayed In a junior suite (room 501) which was really spacious and extremely clean. This hotel is very good value for money and is in a great location being so close to Bastille monument & within a stones throw from a really good connected metro line. What was also brilliant was that the parking at the rear of the hotel is free during the whole of August and all day Saturday and Sunday any time of year.

The beds and pillows were also really comfy and in our suite there were 2 bathrooms.

I would class this hotel as a 4 star rather than 3 star and found all of the staff extremely helpful and friendly and would happily recommend this hotel.

I have stayed in another hotel in Bastille before & it was no where near as good as this hotel, so stay here :)

Room Tip: Junior suite- room 501. really quiet, with 2 bathrooms and really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My two nieces and I recently stayed 7 nights at this hotel. You never know what you're going to get sight unseen....this hotel is great! We had a junior suite, which I recommend if you have more that two people; we had two full bathrooms (super for three women!). Our room was huge and very clean; bathrooms immaculate. Desk people very friendly and helpful. Djego, who serves the breakfast downstairs, is a hoot! Safe neighborhood with plenty of cafés, grocery and ATM just down the street. Desk clerk recommended a shuttle to CDG, which is less expensive than a taxi (and more convenient than the train). On the way to airport, we were stopped by the police and the driver had to show his paperwork, causing a 30 minute delay. Certainly not the fault of the hotel, but stressful on a traveler!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently spent my last night in Paris at this hotel. I thought the location was ideal as I came in at Gare d'Austerlitz and left from Gare de Lyon. My room was a good size and the bathroom very recently renovated, both spotlessly clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. I was allowed to leave my bags in a locked storage area which was useful. My room did face the main road but was very quiet and I am a very light sleeper!

The hotel is a 2 mins walk from the metro and a 10 mins walk from Gare de Lyon. I never stay in hotels for a long time and thought this hotel ideal for a short term stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank clareville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The location is excellent, close to Bastille, few steps from a metro station serving several lines, in a walking distance from most major sites in Paris, and the neighbourhood feels safe and quiet, although still offering a lot of cafes and restaurants.
The rooms are small, as expected in Paris, but the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is newly renovated, and it has a kettle with coffee and tea- very nice. Rue de Lyon is pretty busy, but the windows are well isolated, so no problem, and the A/C worked really great during the summer heat. We had nothing to complain about.
The breakfast is standard buffet, but it could be much worse, and the waiter is really great and funny! The rest of the staff is also great and polite.
When we checked out, we could leave our luggage in a locked room.
We would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
Hotel Pavillon Bastille
#378 of 1,801 in Paris
386 reviews
Hotel Vice Versa
#312 of 1,801 in Paris
672 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#516 of 1,801 in Paris
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#429 of 1,801 in Paris
2,752 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Hotel Soft
Hotel Soft
#577 of 1,801 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
Le Marceau Bastille Hotel
#343 of 1,801 in Paris
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paris Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paris Bastille

Property: Hotel Paris Bastille
Address: 67 rue de Lyon | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , Reuilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#452 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paris Bastille 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paris Bastille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastille Hotel Paris
Bastille Paris
Hotel Bastille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing